We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, could be better-value, and Wi-Fi doesn't work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge de la Commanderie
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Emilion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We spent four nights here. It's one of the cheaper options if you want to stay within St Emilion itself but then, this is an expensive (albeit lovely) tourist town so it's hard to find value for money.

The parking lot is down the road but there is a spot right in front of the hotel to allow you to unload. Our party of four had two rooms in the annexe and these were basic but comfortable. We had a dog (cost Euro 10 per night). Breakfast is Euro 11 pp. If you just want coffee to wake up, go to the tabac across the road. It's harder to find "regular" shops like a boulangerie or greengrocer since all the shops are oriented towards tourists but there is a small supermarket opposite the gendamarie at one end of town.

Our main gripe was the poor Wi-Fi which we could not get to work consistently after the first day. It worked in the stairwell outside our room but not in the room itself. When we complained, we received the usual shrug and were told it was a new system.

I suspect there may be better-value accomodation options within St Emilion since we saw several signs for rooms and these may be more easily found on French sites or the St Emilion site itself rather than on TP or the usual English language booking sites.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank BooksHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 230 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed overnight here in July with some friends . We were in the main hotel our friends seemed to be better placed in the annexe across the road and had a bigger room with a stained glass window. The Hotel is OK , reception was friendly and the car park was a bit tricky to find but actually in the end quite close to the hotel. The room was clean and reasonbly comfortable but there was nothing special and no extra pillows , tea or coffee etc . I suppose for the price in July in this exceptionally lovely town it is about right . The breakfast was fine , decent bread and vennoisserie with the offer of eggs and plentiful coffee or tea. The most important thing about this hotel is the location in Saint Emilion , it could hardly be more central and that is a real plus .

Room Tip: Maybe check out the annexe - it seems that the rooms might be better ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darling10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Excellnt central position with free secure parking nearby. Ancient buillding with modernised quirky interior. Very comfortable bed in room6 with excellent, very clean and fresh bathroom en suite. Plentiful continental breakfast and boiled egg offered. Presentation was rather corporate style but all very fresh. Good coffee. Staff were helpful and quite friendly.. Once there you do not need the car again to explore this reaaly interesting hilltop medieval town dominated by the local wine industry.
This is an ideal spot to stay

Room Tip: Room 6 overlooked the street but the whole town goes very quiet at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeoDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We were across the tiny road in a separate building with balcony, two bedrooms rooms and shared bathroom. It was a fantastic location and very pretty. The beds were nice and comfortable. The breakfast was really good.
The downsides for me were there was only one remote control for two lots of aircon units and as the rooms were separated by a small flight of stairs it was impossible to alter one lot of aircon in the night unless you didn't mind walking up or down stairs and waking up the other room to get the remote. When we complained and asked for another they just said there wasn't one, that was that!
The shower was really rubbish and only let out a small trickle, impossible to shower properly or do your hair. This is not a cheap hotel and we had expected much better.

Room Tip: Ask to test the shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pollyputthekettleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

St.-Emilion is quite small and hotel choices are limited - the location is central although one is able to walk around the town in mere minutes anyways. The rooms are small but clean. I do have to echo previous comments about a very hard bed and flimsy pillows. OK for one night but not ideal after 3 nights....

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We recently spent a night at the commanderie on our way south. As a family of 5 finding accommodation can be difficult. However the commanderie was perfect. We were staying in the annex which was a 2 floor lodging. A double bed and bathroom upstairs and downstairs a double bed, single bed and toilet. The building is old, yet modern furnishings inside and the air-conditioning unit was brilliant.
With the patio windows open you could really feel the life of this chilled and trendy village. Its bijoux restaraunts and bars and relaxed atmospere was the perfect start to our holiday.
We will definately be returning to Saint Emilion and this accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loucozade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Fab rooms, fab location, fab value. Our second visit and will be back again. Breakfast excellent too and free parking just down the road. We love St Emilion and the whole area. Highly recommend this hotel and location.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Emilion hotels
2.1 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
911 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
#3 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostellerie de Plaisance
Hostellerie de Plaisance
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Saint Emilion
Ibis Bordeaux Saint Emilion
#5 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palais Cardinal
Hotel Palais Cardinal
#7 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison de la Commanderie
Maison de la Commanderie
#4 of 24 in Saint-Emilion
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de la Commanderie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de la Commanderie

Address: 2 rue de la Porte Brunet, 33330 Saint-Emilion, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Saint-Emilion
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Emilion
Price Range: $124 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Auberge de la Commanderie 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Auberge de la Commanderie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De La Commanderie Hotel Saint-Emilion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing