We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge de la Commanderie
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Emilion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The main positive point about this hotel is its location right in the center of St Emilion. That cannot be beat. Otherwise, the room we had was tiny and there was a lot of elevator machine noise. They do have private parking a few hundred feet behind the hotel which initially seems difficult to find (because of so many one-way streets) but it is actually pretty convenient. The hotel entrance is just off the main road so it is possible to stop there to unload bags without blocking traffic. The breakfast was mediocre. However, there are few rooms right in St Emilion so this may among the better options if your expectations are on the low side.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank garybirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 230 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hotel is clean and the bedroom is of reasonable size. The bed was hard and the pillows were flat. Breakfast was average except for they do offer soft-boiled eggs.

The service was friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusannaRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I'm sure this is a nice hotel.However they do bill you the full amount of your first nights stay to your credit card even if you are making reservations 5 months in advance during the "off season".
Nothing that I could find in the hotel site (which is offered mostly through Venere.com) states that you'r credit card will be billed in advance for the first nights lodging.

Very few hotels pre-bill the first night,of a reservation, unless it is a high end,high volume destination. Cancellation was very easy,which I did immediately upon being billed in early July for 3 nights late in November.

If pre-billing is standard practice at this hotel, it should be VERy CLEARLY STATED, to avoid misunderstanding.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Ridem1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed in one of the Family rooms #20, it's 1 room with a full bath upstairs and 1 room with a half bath downstairs. Large, comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was good and staff was very accommodating. We never did get the wifi to work and were offered to use the computer in the lobby for free. The location is excellent, you are in the center of this beautiful town! Make sure to visit the tourism office for info on the best vineyards. Don't forget to climb the tower for gorgeous view!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachMickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Great Location and good value for the area, bedroom whilst comfortable was unusuall decor and did lack some comforts such as perhaps a small fridge or kettle as there is no bar or service other than breakfast in the hotel, late night or early morning drinks are a problem. he area is lovely,quite expensive and the lack of a late cafe or bar in the vicinity was somewhat of a dissappointment after leaving a resteraunt at 10.20 we were unable to find anywhere else for either a coffee or drink to complete the evening. Hotel Wifi was difficultto get onto and was limited to 2 hours chunks which between 2 son was used andwhils availibity of more wifi codes was offered these are only available whilst reception is available a more conventional wifi service wouls have been better. Great Parking, but no access at night so if as we diid realised we had left something in the car at 11.20 we were unable to acces. All his being said we enjoyed our stay and found the gents that own it to be helpful, cheerful and pleasant. Would recommend for value and location.

Room Tip: We had Room 6 with good views to front over rooftops and reasonable size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TMLLeedsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night (2 rooms) and found this small Hotel to be really great. Handy location with secure parking a block or so away. The staff were excellent and assisted with all requests happily.

I did note a few things however, our room had no in-room safe and the bed was quite firm. The complementary WiFi couldn't be logged onto for some reason, but the staff assisted with their computer.

But all in all it was a very clean place with super friendly staff in a great location. BTW, don't miss out on the great breakfast for 11€.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flatchange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed in this hotel in late November for 2 nights. We were travelling with friends, so we had 2 rooms in the hotel. The room was very old, but refurbished with modern conveniences. It was very clean. It was very centrally located in the town of Saint-Emilion.

The hotel was priced very reasonably. I am not sure if it was due to the time of year or not.

The hotel did not have a restaurant and bar, but it was not a big deal as we were in such a good location, we were a minute's walk from those things. It was the best value we were able to find in the town of Saint-Emilion.

The hotel staff was very nice. It is not a luxurious place, but perfectly comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChicagoTraveller76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Emilion hotels
2.1 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
903 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
#3 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostellerie de Plaisance
Hostellerie de Plaisance
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Saint Emilion
Ibis Bordeaux Saint Emilion
#5 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palais Cardinal
Hotel Palais Cardinal
#7 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison de la Commanderie
Maison de la Commanderie
#4 of 24 in Saint-Emilion
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de la Commanderie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de la Commanderie

Address: 2 rue de la Porte Brunet, 33330 Saint-Emilion, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Saint-Emilion
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Emilion
Price Range: $124 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Auberge de la Commanderie 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Auberge de la Commanderie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De La Commanderie Hotel Saint-Emilion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing