We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a sparkling gem even in grey weather” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostellerie de Plaisance

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostellerie de Plaisance
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Emilion
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a sparkling gem even in grey weather”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This splendid hotel is situated in a picturesque spot in beautiful wine country, smacked right in St. Emilion. My wife and I got some pretty breadthtaking views over the village . It's an intimate hotel... whimsical and romantic. It made us think that it would have been fantastic if we had celebrated a special occasion here like our honeymoon two decades ago here. The place is truly scenic and the town is full of classical architecture. The restaurant was the icing on the cake. Simply impeccable. No less was our room which was elegant. My wife simply fell in love with the setting... her very words 'dreamy'! Pity it was a little cold and grey as I'm sure it's postcard pretty on a bright sun-lit day. I'd recommend strongly the pleasure of dining here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MageofMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    37
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
40
221
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
161 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

The service, hospitality, rooms, and attention to details are worth the price tag. The place is at the hilltop of St Emilion offering an unparalleled location and scenery. The front desk staff remembered every single detail and made sure we enjoyed the precious time spent in St Emilion.

Room Tip: Make sure you are in the main building were they have only a handful of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louayac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hotel is beautiful. We had a jr suite, as we were told a classic room was not available (although hotel was pretty empty) The room was very large and well appointed with a nice terrace and great views. The staff although very nice seemed young and inexperienced. As some others noted we waited for service in the bar on several occasions. We also requested a resveration at a winery in that produced good white wine (husband likes white!) and we were sent to a tiny garage winery - and they were not expecting us.. Can you imagine this in the land of beautiful chateaus and vineyards - quite frustrating. Having stayed at other relais and chateaux hotels in France in much ore expensive locations we found this hotel overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sherif_chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
111 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 days around Bordeaux on a tour gastronomique and this was the highlight of the trip. The service, setting and food was out of this world. The chef took the time out of the kitchen to pass by each table and check on the guests. A big thank yoy to the team.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lebmajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I spent two magical nights at Hostellerie de Plaisance in early October, arriving by bicycle from Pauillac. I loved the gorgeous room, view of the village, and fancy bathroom with Bulgari products. Moreover, this hotel is built on top of the oldest underground church in Europe. It is at the foot of the bell tower in the heart of the charming hilltop town. The setting was magical, especially when the hoards of tourists disappeared near sundown. One of our nights we had booked as the "oenological St Emilion 2013" package, which included a "gourmand" breakfast, private wine tasting class at a nearby wine store, and private visit to the premier grand cru classe winery Château Beausejour Duffau Lagarrosse (we were able to do the tour even on a Sunday). The hotel staff was friendly and took very good care of our bicycles. Excellent Michelin 2-star restaurant. An expensive but unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: splurge on a room with village view--sunrises and sunsets are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haveboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Hostellerie de Plaisance to celebrate my 50th birthday in some style. I feel sure that our room 'Pavie' has to be the loveliest in the hotel with windows on 3 sides and the most incredible views over the town and the valley. We were welcomed by the friendly staff with a delicious glass of St Emilion on the terrace away from the tourist crowds. We ate the sumptuous 'discovery' menu which included elements of theatre as well as some very fine cooking. To celebrate my birthday they brought our a beautiful cake for two complete with fireworks and decorations. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and charming - arranging a complimentary chateau visit and a tasting of some very fine vintages. It's a shame that French working hours mean that even in a 5 star hotel they can't offer food on a Sunday and the charming receptionist also had to find us an aperitif - which he did with some style. An expensive option but incredibly stylish in a brilliant location. I shall never forget waking up on my birthday to a view of the sun rising above the misted valley with the village in sunshine and moonlight above.

Room Tip: Pavie has the best views on three sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, CA
Level Contributor
151 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hostellerie de Plaisance from Aug. 28-29 as part of a bike trip with Backroads. Although the hotel does not have much “curb presence,” inside it is beautiful. It has commanding views of St. Emilion and its environs, and the views from the Terrace are spectacular.

We stayed in a suite and it was beautifully decorated and quite comfortable. It was also quiet and that was great because it was right on a busy street, although we were on the 2nd floor. However, the rooms across the street could look right into our suite, so we needed to keep the sheers drawn during the day and the curtains drawn at night.

The food was outstanding at breakfasts and dinner. Our waiter at dinner was perhaps the best we had in France. He had to handle our group of twelve by himself, and he did so admirably. The hotel staff as well was very friendly and accommodating as well. I would definitely highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoachDave37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Emilion
2.1 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
#3 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge de la Commanderie
Auberge de la Commanderie
#4 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Yndohotel
Yndohotel
#1 of 173 in Bordeaux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palais Cardinal
Hotel Palais Cardinal
#7 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
3.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Pavillon Villemaurine
Le Pavillon Villemaurine
#1 of 24 in Saint-Emilion
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie de Plaisance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie de Plaisance

Property: Hostellerie de Plaisance
Address: Place du Clocher, Saint-Emilion, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Saint-Emilion
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Emilion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hostellerie de Plaisance 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hostellerie de Plaisance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie De Plaisance Hotel Saint-Emilion
Hostellerie De Plaisance Saint Emilion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing