We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing 5 star experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostellerie de Plaisance
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Emilion
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing 5 star experience”
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Such a beautiful hotel & fantastic service. Dinner & breakfast were amazing. Breakfast was Michelin star quality, a truly unforgettable experience overall!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcus198255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    40
    16
    6
    0
See reviews for
43
247
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

This hotel has it all. We wanted to be in the town of St. Emilion in order to wander the cobblestoned streets and not worry about parking or driving anywhere after eating and drinking those famous wines! The prices are high but so is the value. We stayed two nights in a large, twin-bedded room which had its own terrace overlooking the beautiful town. We enjoyed the finest dinner imaginable our first evening, leaving it to the chef and sommelier to determine our menu and wine selections. This was definitely a splurge for us, but we felt if there was ever a place to do this, the Hostellerie de Plaisance was it. We have never had a finer meal, and each wine chosen to complement our food was perfection. At the end of the meal we asked for and received beautifully printed menus detailing what our meal consisted of and the accompanying wine selections.

Booking the hotel online was easy, and we asked via email for help scheduling some winery tours and tastings for the one full day we would be there. Adeline at reception scheduled for us 3 private chateau tours and tastings, two within easy walking distance of the hotel and one which we drove to a few minutes from the hotel. Two of the tours were no charge, and one cost 15Euro per person. It was well-worth the price, however, and we found it fascinating how each winery/vineyard we visited had its unique history and approach to harvesting, storing, bottling, and selling its wine. Tastings of the wines occurred in the wine stores near the hotel following each tour. The 15E tour also included tasting onsite. We learned so much from not only the tours but also from the wine experts during our tastings, and we bought a case to ship home as well as several individual bottles. I appreciated the hotel taking care of scheduling these tours for us.

Our second evening we had aperitifs on the sunny terrace overlooking the old town buildings, and requested something on the lighter side for dinner in our room - the front desk suggested Chicken Caesar Salad, which was the best either of us had ever had. Unbelievable.

Our service at the hotel was exceptional and impeccable, and we were always greeted with genuine warmth. Our car was parked for us nearby during the day when the plaza is closed to cars, and then brought in front of the hotel during the evening and overnight. We will definitely return to the Hostellerie de Plaisance!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vbmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
all over
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I stayed here for two nights, eating dinner in the restaurant for one of those two nights. I cannot say that I found one fault with the hotel. From the staff to the food to the rooms, it was worth the price and I would have gladly stayed many more days.

Pros:
Location. It is in the center of town
Rooms. Well appointed (clarins products) amazing beds and pillows
Food. Breakfast is a delight and the restaurant was all that its two stars promised it would be
Staff. So helpful and pleasant. They helped arrange activities for me, it was amazing
wifi: fast and readily available throughout the hotel

Cons:
Only con was there was no gym. But, there are two towers you can climb in town and plenty of places to take walks or runs, so it wasn't a huge issue.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eat_drink_and_sleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

A true 5* experience from the welcome to the enormous and sumptuous rooms, the fabulous breakfast and the delicious dinner. Perched on top of the hill the views are spectacular and you are right amongst the cobbled streets for a wander. No where better to stay, or eat, on the Right Bank.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpartout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel several times and enjoyed dinner here every time. Having had the good fortune to stay in many of the top hotels in France, I would have to say that while it is not cheap, it is most certainly value for money and on a par with the very best in France. You can perhaps find greater luxury or more attentive service in Paris, but you will struggle to find anything comparable when set in the context of Plaisance's position in this beautiful town. If you want to combine luxury and Saint Emilion, then look no further.

The restaurant is simply of the very highest standard and the cuisine directed by M. Etchebest, coupled with the family friendly service offered by him and all the staff, should make this a memorable experience for all. We have dined here with our young(ish) children and all were made both welcome and provided with personal service both at the table and in our room.

My one slight concern is the growing popularity of the hotel and its star chef, but so far neither has dimmed the quality on offer.

Room Tip: We have stayed both in town and in the Chateau, which is slightly out of town in the vineyards. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Chartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

My wife and I spent two nights here in October. It was my second visit, and I knew this is where we needed to be. Situated at the top of an ancient and picturesque hill town, the views are amazing. The hotel is magnificent, with service to match. The housekeeping was over the top. I had to take a photo of the way the housekeeper beautifully arranged our toiletries every day. Our room (Pavie - all rooms are named for nearby wine chateaux of the area) was wonderful. The views from all three sides were breathtaking. The decor was beautiful, with a bathroom to die for. There was nothing missing here.

Room Tip: We loved our room (Pavie). Try to get a good view. It may cost a little extra, but is worth every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sfinestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

The hotel is undeniabely stunning. The town is so charming, I compare it to a French version of Orvieto.
Our room (Cheval Blanc) was gorgeous, with a huge terrace with jaw dropping views.
The service was very good, particularly at the front desk. The gentleman who was working in the dining room wasn't particularly friendly, but it may have been more of a cultural difference.
The dining room and hotel bar were lovely, and one of the staff was nice enough to take us on a tour of the catacombs and church below the hotel.
I have to admit I nearly fainted when I saw that breakfast was 29 euros, but I went for it, and wasn't diappointed, it was fresh, original and fantastic.
I was too jet lagged, so I skipped dinner, but 5 out of the 7 friends who did go to dinner weren't that happy with it. We ate at very high end restaurants for the duration of our trip, and this was their least favorite meal.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teasyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Emilion
2.1 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
808 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
#3 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge de la Commanderie
Auberge de la Commanderie
#4 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Yndohotel
Yndohotel
#1 of 174 in Bordeaux
350 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Relais de Franc Mayne
Le Relais de Franc Mayne
#6 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison de la Commanderie
Maison de la Commanderie
#4 of 24 in Saint-Emilion
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie de Plaisance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie de Plaisance

Property: Hostellerie de Plaisance
Address: Place du Clocher, Saint-Emilion, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Saint-Emilion
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Emilion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hostellerie de Plaisance 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostellerie de Plaisance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie De Plaisance Hotel Saint-Emilion
Hostellerie De Plaisance Saint Emilion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing