We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Bordeaux”

Saint-Emilion Monolithic Church
Book In Advance
More Info
$136.40*
and up
Small-Group Saint-Emilion and Pomerol Day Trip from Bordeaux
More Info
$71.16*
and up
Small-Group St Emilion Half-Day Trip from Bordeaux
More Info
$171.98*
and up
Small-Group St-Emilion Bike Tour from Bordeaux Including Wine Tastings and Lunch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A HIDDEN HERITAGE, UNIQUE IN EUROPE In this 45 minutes long tour, your guide makes you discover Saint-Emilion’s underground heritage. From the monk Emilion’s story, between truth and legend, to the carving of the surprising monolithic church, walk through several centuries of history. Your guide, only holder of the keys, opens the monuments’ doors and shares their secrets ! Observe the details of the Trinity Chapel’s paintings and discover the mysterious catacombs and the Hermitage… A historical summary within four essential monuments.
Bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful Bordeaux”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

History and architecture is all over bordeaux.....the chimes from the church through the day makes it a pleasure to live in the old part of the town and takes one right back to medieval bordeaux....the old houses by the river front are still beautifully maintained and lived in just as they were a long time ago in history.....

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnnieBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    677
    355
    48
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Igualada, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Very interesting visit. The massive rock carved church is worth the visit, as well as the place where the hermit St Emilion lived.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank RomanetJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wijk bij Duurstede, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Saint Emilion and wine tasting”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Booked our trip at Ophorus in Bordeaux. Our gide Isabelle was more or less a walking enceclopedia: she told us everything (?) about Bordeaux wines, as well about the historic site of Saint Emilion!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ben v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
1,452 reviews
528 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 517 helpful votes
“You Won't Believe It”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

St. Emilion is a lovely old village about an hour from Bordeaux by train. We were staying in Bordeaux and wanted to visit the wine country of St Emilion so we booked the train from Gare St.Jean to the village. Of course when we arrived there was no taxi, so we hiked about 4 km up along the vineyards, to get to the village. I was a very pleasant walk and after the train ride the exercise was good for us. There were many boutiques, wine stores and cafes. Once in the village we continued up the narrow stone paths to the hill top where the tourist office was located. The ladies at the tourism office were very helpful and explained that only through a walking tour can you visit the underground historic monuments including the catacombs and the monolithic church. The monolithic church was an incredibly impressive structure considering it was dug out by hand out of solid rock leaving huge columns of rock to support the structure. The underground church pillars have had to be reinforced because they would eventually be unable to bear the weight of the structures above as being limestone they absorb water. We also wanted to climb the Bell Tower of the Monolithic Church (almost 200 steps). So from the tourist we rented a key for the tower and went up. The view of the Dordogne Valley from the top was 360-degrees and well worth the climb/effort. We were told that the Romans were the first to grow grapes there well before a village existed, which is now UNESCO recognized and preserved for the future. When in St Emilion you do not want to miss this tour.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank CDM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Passionate and knowledgeable tour guide brought the whole experience to life. Some comments I had read in guide books suggested that this tour might be a little pedestrian but it was a highlight of our visit to Saint Emilion.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LizzieAnnNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint-Emilion Monolithic Church also viewed

Saint-Emilion, Gironde
Saint-Emilion, Gironde
 

Been to Saint-Emilion Monolithic Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing