We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maison de la Commanderie
Nearby Hotels
$487
$473
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auberge de la Commanderie(Saint-Emilion)(Great Value!)
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chateau Grand Barrail(Saint-Emilion)
$301
$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Palais Cardinal(Saint-Emilion)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel De France(Libourne)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mercure Libourne Saint-Emilion(Libourne)(Great Value!)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveler rating
127
30
9
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
30
9
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floorhomemade jamssmall windowbreadtwo floorsown private balconyyogurtbig tablebooked last minutetraveling togetherliving areahistoric buildingfree parkingstayed for two nightstartsa great stayfood and wine
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 170 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Maybe we are a couple of curmudgeons and being over 60 perhaps a bit fussy, but we found this place a bit disappointing. In fact we found St. Emilion rather disappointing, being far too touristy with prices to reflect that. Of course it is a pretty place and the roof top view from our room was lovely, but the room was small and the decor was not to our taste - red glass droplet chandeliers and white plastic armchair with silver studs. A bit of a hike to the top floor. Having said that, they allowed dogs, but then France is very dog friendly. We opted out of breakfast thinking it was rather expensive, but I should go for it as there was nowhere else (slightly out of season and a Sunday) and we ended up with a disappointing cup of coffee and nothing to eat in some cafe down the road. Finding the place was a bit of a nightmare - satnav no help - and you had to pay for parking and then move the car outside the wall for free parking overnight. Be aware that on Sundays the vineyards are closed. So, for us it was all rather disappointing and it was raining!

Room Tip: Top rooms for views, but lots of stairs.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tillybox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

In terms of the proximity to the town, you can't do better than Maison de la Commanderie. It's not a hotel but a guest house with 4 rooms. Room is a tiny duplex. You don't want to spend more than your sleeping hours inside. But it's so conveniennt as a base to explore all the sights and history of St Emilion and vicinity. Rate was reasonable and Laurent makes a pretty good omelette. There is a parking lot next to the guest house to boot. The view of the town is sensational from where we stayed. Wouldn't spend more than one night here if you need a spacious room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the ground floor or it's a trek in itself to get to the loft
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roysush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

What a lovely old building with a HISTORY behind it.
It was a pleasure staying here and imagine the events that it must have winnessed over the centuries, from Knights Templers onwards.
This place is a must do visit. Hosts welcoming and rooms well up to a good standard. Breakfast in the kitchen with great preserves and a selection of teas to suit all comers.
Book the rooms overlooking St.Emilion and you will not be dissappointed

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigwelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

What a wonderful place!
We stayed here for one night as part of our 4-day journey back from Southern France to the UK and it really was the height of our trip. The whole town is gorgeous and this beautiful hotel is not only very central, but has fabulous views over spectacular roof-tops and towards the valley beyond. The home-made breakfast was great and the top floor suite just glorious!
Thanks again Laurent - our stay really couldn't have been any more amazing!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jane4654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Please do not go there as it might encourage Laurent to put the prices up

What a wonderful place - very central and there is even a chance of getting a parking spot nearby
If you can afford it the top floor suite is the room to go for - the view from the terrace is simply amazing.

Apart from that I can only repeat what previous reviewers have said - this is a very special place

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelfastTaxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews