We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great wine tasting tour!”

Chateau Villemaurine
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.48*
and up
Small-Group Saint-Émilion Food and Wine Tour with Tasting from Bordeaux
Attraction details
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A great wine tasting tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a really enjoyable and very informative wine tour with a charming lady called Stacie whose English was incredible. There is a great deal to learn not just about the chateau but the wine making and the lovely town of St Emilion and the tour is well worth it. The wine is very good too!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BerrieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    18
    6
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
264 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Great introduction to Bordeaux winemaking with thorough tour in English”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Admittedly, we didnt know much about Bordeaux wines or the winemaking process. Therefore, this English tour lasting about 75 minutes was a great start. Call and book the tour in advance (cost 12€ per person). They start in the vineyard, then show you the vats, barrel room and wine caves in the basement. You also get a nice history lesson of Saint Emilion and learn about the rock quarries built below the vineyard.

They have two very short, slightly hokey light shows about the history, but the information is worthwhile.

You also sample two of their wines with an option to buy bottles but no pressure to buy.

A nice plus is the easy to find parking lot just in front of the entrance with easy access to walk into town just two minutes away.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Great way to learn about the wines and the history of St. Emilion. Our guide Pierre was most knowledgeable. The wine is also worth tasting.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseR197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great for a first timer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Reading the reviews I can understand if you are a professional vineyard visitor that this might be a little dry for you, but being new to wine and the region we really enjoyed our tour and helpful guide.

We bought a bottle of the wine we tasted that we will open in a few years remembering our trip to Villemaurine

Definitely book ahead for an english speaking tour

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank daniconnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice from outside, and no soul from the inside”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Really uninteresting place. People are fake nice and the tour was a waste of time. The wine per se is average. Wannabe people.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank aWashingtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau Villemaurine also viewed

Saint-Emilion, Gironde
Saint-Emilion, Gironde
 

Been to Chateau Villemaurine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing