We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CLASSIC”

Restaurant Le Tertre
Reserve with
Restaurant Le Tertre is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $37 - $84
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“CLASSIC”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We tried this restaurant out after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor and we weren't disappointed. We made our reservation by email and received a very prompt confirmation. Its a beautiful place half way down a very steep street and once you step inside, its everything French. The service is impeccable and very relaxed. The menu was explained to us and drinks were quickly delivered while we pondered what to have. The Menu Terroir was reasonably priced and the meals were a good size. My wife is still raving about the Apple and Rhubarb Crumble, describing it the best dessert so far in France. The ratings on the little gem are all well deserved and it is a place that must be included if anywhere near this region.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Themacsofoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    173
    43
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Elegant and relaxed”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I am happy to say that I agree with the high ratings on Tripadvisor of this restaurant. Great food, friendly and prompt service and a very nice ambiance.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanErkR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Devon, England
Level Contributor
110 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in St. Emilion - smart but relaxed”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We went to Le Tertre on Monday following a full day at the 2012 Bordeaux tastings. One of us had the Menu Terroir and two the Gastronomic - both were excellent. The restaurant was pleasantly full for a Monday, with a good buzz. We were offered the option of the table in the wine cellar which seemed appropriate though it was tight, especially when waiters were coming in looking for wine. And, since the doors were wide open it did make one wonder a little about the temperaature control of the wines - but a great table nonetheless.

Food - was really very good. We both had the Riz de Veau and the Carre d'Agneu; our companion a salmon starter and the roast cod (I think she had overdone the red meat on Sunday!). All the dishes were excellent with the Sweetbreads being the highlight. Cheese was varied and at the right temperature and we had some very good, reasonably(?) priced wine. One bottle was corked and replaced without question.

Overall - pretty good value and much better than our previous dinner in St. Emilion.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Henry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent food and atmosphere”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The perfect place in one of our favourite French villages for my 60th birthday celebration. The meal was superb and service first class.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nickpam75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Elegant restaurant with a cosy Old World charm”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have the pleasure of eating regularly at Le Tertre and have not been disappointed yet. Le Tertre offers an intimate setting of a traditional Old World restaurant with an interesting choice of dishes. The very friendly and attentive staff takes care of you like royalty. It is rather a small restaurant with only a few tables, which ensures a cozy intimate atmosphere. There is even a table in the (excellent) wine cellar! The tables are beautifully set with white starched table linen and fresh flowers. The owner is really knows his wines and will advise you through the extensive wine list. This is probably my favorite restaurant in Saint Emilion.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Latresne-Bordeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Le Tertre also viewed

Saint-Emilion, Gironde
Saint-Emilion, Gironde
 

Been to Restaurant Le Tertre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing