We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Demeure des Girondins
Ranked #13 of 24 Saint-Emilion B&B and Inns
Ballarat, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I can only repeat what has already been said. Great location (although hard to find on Sat Nav - best to park the car where you can and walk - St Emilion is a small town), excellent value for money, great rooms and very helpful staff.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tristan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

My girlfriend and I spent 4 days experiencing the delights of Saint Emilion and had the most amazing experience.
The apartment has everything you could ask for, very smart, and an amazing location to enjoy the city. The staff in the ETS Martin shop below the apartment are so friendly and they organised a wine tasting and view of one of the local Chateaux's..

We would highly recommend staying here and it truly is amazing value for money..

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayno_and_Holly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

The Apartment
PERFECT!We stayed here at the beginning of September for 3 nights with our little dog. The apartment is exactly as you see in the photos and we were not disappointed at all. Ludo was extremely helpful prior to our arrival with any questions I emailed him. On arrival the staff and Ludo could not have been more welcoming. We always felt we could pop down to ask for advice or help and they always did their best to help. Prior to booking we deliberated on whether to stay in a guest house on a vine yard but we were so glad we chose the apartment for several reasons:
1)We had a home from home really so not restricted to a bedroom only for total privacy which is particularly helpful with a dog ( no creeping around worrying about noise to other rooms)
2) Saint Emilion is a wonderful town which is so laid back so it was convenient for us to be able to go back to the apartment and kick back on the sofa for a while before we continued with the next part of our day/evening.
3) It is bang in the centre of Saint Emilion so we could enjoy the wine with our evening meal and just stroll back to our "home" without having to worry about either driving or walking down dark roads with no pedestrian curbs.
Getting there
We entered the address on the Sat Nav but it struggled to get us there as a lot of Saint Emilion is pedestrianised or has one way streets. We had just updated our Sat nav prior to the trip but it still could not get us there. In the end a very helpful man in a shop got a map out and talked me through what we had to do. We had to basically do a big circle out of the town and go right around it. So my advice would be not to arrive late at night.
Breakfast
When you book you are told breakfast is included in the price. On arrival you will find water milk, butter, jam, crisp breads and a coffee machine with coffee. This is your breakfast so if you are not into that then it might be idea to pick something up from the supermarket.
.
Parking
We did not use the car throughout the duration of our stay. Parking is not a problem as the tourists clear out at about 6pm so you can get a space opposite the flat on a pay and display ....the boys in the shop will explain to you how it works!
( interesting!!!).
Not much else to say other than don't think about it - book it!!! We dont have a single negative point to say! It was EXCELLENT!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BabuLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

great apartment in a great location, with the ever helpful staff in the shop below making us coffee while we waiting for the taxi they had arranged for us

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steviem71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Le Demeure des Girondins is a gem.
Four a four-night stay in St. Emilion, my husband and I wanted to stay somewhere comfortable in the heart of the village where we could immerse ourselves in its history and wine. Finding this spacious, beautiful apartment located above and owned by a venerable wineshop at the center of everything was too good to be true. From the moment we arrived, when the wineshop manager rushed out to move his car so that we could take his space in front of the shop, until the moment we left, fresh laundry in our suitcases, the staff did everything they could to make our experience a memorable one.
The apartment is a treasure-- elegant, practical, with windows that look out into the streets of the old village-- it is a block away from the wonderful tourist office, which offers tours and wine classes that no one should skip. Go directly there as soon as you arrive so that you can book their nighttime "lantern" tour, among others.
It is also surrounded by spectacular restaurants and cafes, although the apartment kitchen is fully stocked with tools and ingredients for breakfast and for real cooking, as we did one evening. A small grocery store is nearby, as are bakeries and luxury foodshops filled with treats.
The apartment is exactly as described and pictured on the website, but an extra thrill was the pleasure we got out of coming and going into the cobblestone streets of old St. Emiion through our private door.
And then there is the wine. Benoit and Kate had arranged ahead of time for the tours we requested, planning for us one day of touring three totally different wineries in St. Emilion and then one day of touring three entirely different kinds of wineries in the Haut Medoc. Finally, they treated us to the most spectacular tasting of our lives in their own shop. All the members of the staff were friendly and helpful, but we can't say enough about the warmth and generosity of Benoit and Kate. It was a perfect four days.
Note: A working knowledge of French will make visiting St. Emilion more successful, but Benoit speaks excellent English, so it is not necessary.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 60811Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights, it was lovely, the apartment is very well done with lots of really great touches. There is loads of space, as you get a lounge as well as a bedroom, kitchen and bathroom. It is spotlessly clean and very modern. Breakfast is left for you in the kitchen with along with a good supply of basics in the fridge and a really good coffee machine. There are also liqueurs which my husband really enjoyed.
After we dropped off the luggage ( there are a lot of stairs) We parked the car at the free car park that is at the top of the village, there is also a small supermarket here, there is a bakery that is right at the bottom of the hill and made great fresh bread. We drove towards Libourne and visited one of the supermarkets there.

We visited Chateau Villemaurine, just on the edge of the town, it was a really interesting visit, not only about the wine, vineyard and process but also takes you to the underground quarries and gives you an insight into Saint-Emilion’s history by lantern light, along with some great effects and is finished off with a wine tasting.

One of our favourite places was the garden at the back of the Cloisters where sat in the sunshine drinking sparkling wine.

We ate at the square one night which was fine but had an excellent meal at Les Giron ‘dines just up from the apartment and would highly recommend a visit.
We really enjoyed and Saint-Emilion wished we had stayed an extra night instead of Bordeaux.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarinersTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrowtown
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Having just spent 3 months travelling Western Europe my husband and I were in dire need of a holiday within our holiday and we found it in St Emiion. The Demueure des Girondins was exactly what we were after - somewhere we could cook our own simple meals (having had our tastebuds and stomachs assaulted daily and nightly by the amazing restaurants in Europe) and somewhere spacious where we could spread out. I'm a clean freak and the apartment was in top order upon our arrival. The small touches such as an extremely well-stocked fridge and necessities in the cupboard was a pleasant surprise. The apartment is in the centre of town and how convenient that it should be situated above one of Ets Martin's wine shops. The staff including Ben, Sebastian, Matthew and especially Ludo Martin were amazing and treated us like family. We originally planned to stay 4 nights but quickly changed it to 10 nights so we could explore the Bordeaux region more fully. St Emilion is beautiful and one of the top three places we stayed in Europe. We'd recommend dinner at La Poudette in Pujols (about 20kms out of St Emilion) where we had an amazing meal. We'd also recommend a trip into Bordeaux and over to Arcachon. to the sand dunes. The only thing I might suggest for the kitchen is a small vegetable/fruit peeling knife and maybe a few more pots with lids - otherwise is was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Emilion hotels
0.0 mi away
Auberge de la Commanderie
Auberge de la Commanderie
#4 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostellerie de Plaisance
Hostellerie de Plaisance
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
#3 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
719 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palais Cardinal
Hotel Palais Cardinal
#7 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison de la Commanderie
Maison de la Commanderie
#4 of 24 in Saint-Emilion
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Demeure des Girondins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Demeure des Girondins

Property: Demeure des Girondins
Address: 9 rue des Girondins, 33330 Saint-Emilion, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Saint-Emilion
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Emilion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We organize a free visit of an Estate within the heart of the village of Saint Emilion, quite unique and confidential. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Demeure des Girondins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing