We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish and wine”
Review of L'Huitrier-Pie

L'Huitrier-Pie
Reserve with
L'Huitrier-Pie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $89
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great fish and wine”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Chose via tour book recommendation for fish. Fish was excellent, as was entree and desert. Wine was excellent, but how can you go wrong with red wine in St. Emilion? A little pricey, but nice ambience sitting outside on a beautiful evening!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    198
    37
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
122 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great food, service and wine...what more is there?”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is a small, quaint little restaurant a short walk through the village of Saint Emillion. We had the chèvre, which was cooked in a packet with honey, and nuts, heated and served with fresh bread, wonderful. Our entrees were the fresh fish and veal, both were excellent. The wine selection was also good and our waitress gave us great suggestions throughout the meal. Prices were reasonable. This was a special dinner that we enjoyed a lot.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveltoujours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rosemary creme brulee - outstanding”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Cold fois gras appetizer was delicious and a large sized portion. Scrumptious warm goat cheese was wrapped gift-like in filo pastry. The duck confit was off the bone and compressed with overly sage-y mashed potatoes.....a creative but not necessarily good variation. The restaurant was quite small and tables close together, but utterly charming and friendly. Great outdoor dining in good weather!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Flowers7890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baar, Switzerland
Level Contributor
250 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“St Emillion's best”
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

It was recommended by a local, located some 5 minutes walk from the town centre. We ordered oysters and soup as starters and for main, duck and fish risotto. They were very good as we had a local red to go with the experience. Overall , highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexjoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
572 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Satisfying dinner and ambience”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Sept 30, 2012

L'Huitrier-Pie is located away from the center of the village, but still only 10" away on foot. Everything is accessible by walking in Saint Emilion. We were warmly welcomed by Natalie, who with her husband David, own the resto.
Our group had just checked in our hotel and ready to try the upscale resto. Just by walking around the little town, you can tell that there is affluence here. After many days in the Midi-Pyrenees and Dordogne, we were accustomed to a casualness and informality. In Saint Emilion, not only the locals, but also the tourists, look more polished and posh.
The white-linen resto is surprisingly inexpensive considering the quality and creativity of the finished dishes. If I only had the menu du jour of salad, codfish, and creme bulee, I would have a 22€ bill, but I wanted to try the 26€ Gillaurade #3 oysters too. The selection of a first grand cru Sauterne was brilliant.
Natalie coaxed her husband from the kitchen to meet us. We toasted to his successful operation.
The evening ended at 10:30, and we agreed that this meal was one of the best on this trip.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank alohatripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Huitrier-Pie also viewed

Saint-Emilion, Gironde
Saint-Emilion, Gironde
 
Saint-Emilion, Gironde
Saint-Emilion, Gironde
 

Been to L'Huitrier-Pie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing