We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau Franc-Pourret
Ranked #2 of 24 Saint-Emilion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Lovely breakfasts with beautiful home made jams, very interesting wine tour (4 Euro each) on arrival with plenty to drink for tasting, massive bedrooms and bathrooms, very clean, and nice location, if you don't mind a 20 minute walk into town.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cantwaitforswitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 218 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

Our recent stay at Chateau Franc Pourret was wonderful. Catherine (the host) looked after us so well! The rooms are enormous and have everything you could wish for: lollies, coffee-maker, fridge with water, TV, comfortable lounge chairs and even a desk! Breakfast is fantastic: warm croissants, apple tarts, brioche, yoghurt, baguette and jams etc and a huge pot of coffee! We walked through the vineyards to Saint Emilion 3 times during our stay...good exercise for walking off the breakfast! Saint Emilon is a gorgeous town, definitely worth a 2-night stay!

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms, both very similar...no noise from traffic at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I am a regular custom of this high level and nice B&B, full of charme and very well run by "Catherine". The rooms are cosy with all facilities you need...now even with an Expresso machine ( But no Georges Clooney ...nothing is perfect) and a small fridge. During our stay the cold and rainy weather was compensated by the warm welcome of Catherine who treated us very well...breakfast is superbe!!!The nice 1km walk to St Emilion through the vineyards is great...must admit we got lost the first day but "Catherine" came to rescue us. Service is perfect at all levels.Now we have photos of the main crossing paths to avoid this....Recommendations for restaurants down town St emilion were excellent. We will definetely go back... and will not wait so long like the lat time.

Room Tip: If you are looking for good price with high quality do not hesitate to book this B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PouletteParis_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Mme. Ouzilias is a truly wonderful hostess and the rooms at her wine chateau are superb and incredibly well appointed. The location (just outside the village of St. Emillion) is perfect. The home-made breakfast is a real treat. We can't say enough good things about our stay except to say that if we return we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank italiano17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Chateau Franc-Pourret is on a French vineyard. It contains 2 large luxurious rooms. These rooms are immaculate in cleanliness. The location is very quiet. Your hostess Catherine is very helpful. You will have a fresh breakfast daily, with fresh baked goods by Catherine (the apple tart is like apple pie- delicious). Their fine red wine is available for purchase through your hostess. A walk into the village of St Emilion is 20 to 25 minutes. You will walk or drive to town for your main meals. I recommend a 2 night stay. This is a great bargain for luxury!

Room Tip: Both rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobcatMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We enjoyed Catherine's hospitality at Chateau Franc-Pourret in April 2013 What a wonderful place. Our room was large and very clean. Breakfasts were delicious. The chateau is only about 5 km from St. Emilion which made it very convenient for us. Catherine gave us a very informative tour of the vineyard and the winery located on the property. The tour included a tasting of the wonderful wine. What a treat!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustinRoadrunners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The other reviews pretty much say it all. Catherine is one of the nicest, hardest working people we have every met. She went out of her way to be accommodating to us.

As far as the Chateau itself, it was in amazing condition. If you are interested in sleeping in a comfortable bed, waking up to a warm breakfast served by a wood burning fireplace, whilst surrounded by unending vineyards and sampling the best wines in the world, then this is the place to be. During the day, you can take a leisurely stroll with your loved one into charming St. Emilion for shopping and some sight seeing. Don't give any other place a look -- this is the place you want.

Just a quick tip: Renting a car is very highly recommended as cabs in this area are nearly impossible to get. If you are coming or going from the Bordeaux airport, it is a 45 minute drive (about 120 Euro cab fare one way).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Byron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Emilion hotels
1.3 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
901 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hostellerie de Plaisance
Hostellerie de Plaisance
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
399 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
#3 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Auberge de la Commanderie
Auberge de la Commanderie
#4 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
230 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Pavillon Villemaurine
Le Pavillon Villemaurine
#1 of 24 in Saint-Emilion
138 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Petite Madeleine
La Petite Madeleine
#3 of 24 in Saint-Emilion
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Franc-Pourret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Franc-Pourret

Address: RD 243, Lieu-dit Pourret, 33330 Saint-Emilion, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Saint-Emilion
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Emilion
Price Range: $130 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Franc-Pourret, a mansion with plenty of character, built during the 18th century in the midst of a family vineyard, organic culture certified since 1989 - Located at about 1km away by road from the medieval city of Saint-Emilion or at less than half an hour distance by foot through the vineyard paths - there are two comfortable and spacious bedrooms, both equipped with a private recently refurbished shower room, available for max 5 people - "gourmet" breakfast is served in the garden or by the fireside depending on the weather conditions - availability of baby related equipment - the city of Arcachon is 1 hour away by car from Château Franc-Pourret - Bordeaux and its airport is 45 mn away - the Medoc vineyards are 1 hour away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau Franc-Pourret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Franc-Pourret Hotel Saint-Emilion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing