We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulously quiet and lovely hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Petite Madeleine
Ranked #3 of 24 Saint-Emilion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulously quiet and lovely hosts!”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights during a fairly busy week's holiday in France. It was really lovely to relax in this very quiet and comfortable b & b. The rooms are simply furnished but very cool and clean & have everything you need plus views over acres of vineyards. The hosts are very welcoming and the meal with them is an excellent option. St Emilion is well worth visiting and only a few km from here

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenB12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    46
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
98
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
159 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We had a wonderful stay--from the charming rooms to Veronique and ThorInge's outstanding recommendations for vineyard tours, restaurant, and local wine store. They even made a delicious dinner for us on our last night. It was nice to relax and enjoy dinner and another outstanding local wine without having to drive anywhere afterwards.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott, Louisiana
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We returned to beautiful St. Emilion for a 4 day retreat, visiting with a friend / wine broker (who arranged several chateau visits for us. I booked with La Petite Madeleine through Trip Advisor reviews and we were NOT disappointed. This is a lovely cottage home with ample parking and beautiful scenery. The home is surrounded by vineyards, which makes for nice walks. The location to St. Emilion is excellent!

Our room was nice; comfy bed and beautiful view of the vineyards. The downstairs was nice for relaxing and checking our email and such, or just reading. Breakfast was always delicious and we enjoyed visiting with the other guests, as well as Veronique and Thor Inge. We had very interesting visits with our hosts, being Thor Inge and my husband had Norwegian connections!

We had an absolutely delicious dinner one evening at Chateau Candale (which was set by Veronique). A must if you have time. Another must is having the dinner offered by the B&B....which we did and it was absolutely worth every penny. Thor Inge is a professional chef and the food was fabulous! The wine he offers with the dinner is exceptional.

So enjoyed our time here and knowing we will return to St. Emilion again, this is where we will be staying. Like going back home!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haaland0421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed for one night at La Petite Madeleine while on a short break in the area. It is in a lovely spot surrounded (as you might expect) by vineyards. The room was large and comfortable and the owners were perfect hosts. They booked us dinner at the local Chateau Candale and we were able to walk there (very wet so unfortunately had to walk by road and not through the vineyards). A very relaxing stay and we hope to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SussieQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at La Petite Madeleine for 4 nights during a short trip to the Saint Emilion region in September. Veronique and ThorInge were wonderfully welcoming, very friendly and offered lots of tips of things to do in the area, as well as booking our dinner at the nearby Chateau Candale(highly recommended, by the way!). Thor Inge's dinner is not to be missed - we had a lovely evening with the other guests and our host. Our suite was spacious, beautifully decorated and spotless. The surroundings are magnificent and the guest house is in walking distance from Saint Emilion. We felt really at home for our short stay and would definitely stay again - thank you!

Room Tip: Go for the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
144 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I had to stay the weened in France for work and needed someplace to stay. I chose St. Emilion because a friend of mine wants to visit so I thought I would make increase his ambitions by visiting myself. First off the region and town is amazing, in saying that I think it is due in part to staying at La Petite Madeleine. The hosts are very nice and well informed of the area, the house is old and quite nice (you probably won't spend much time there), and the people I met were amazing.

First, I highly recommend that people reading this try to think of the experience they want and then try to find it. The reason I stayed at a B&B was because I wanted to know the land and territory from a locals perspective and the price was quite cheap. The icing on the cake was the people I met during my stay. Everything is so much more personable at a B&B that one gains experience and friends a lot easier than one might at a hotel.

Review- The house has be remodeled mainly by Thor (owner) and he has done a very nice job. My room consist mainly of a bed and bathroom, which was perfectly suited to my needs. The shower was hot, water was consistent, the bed was so comfortable. Keep in mind that during the fall and winter in parts of Europe they use 1 comforter and no sheets. Basically in the hotels I sweet all night until I'm cold, then cover up and start the process all over. Veronique told me that my room was cold and I could turn on the wall heater which I did not and slept better than I have the entire trip.

The breakfast was very good and fun talking with the others, the scenery is breathtaking, at least for me who is a wine lover. There are some caves withing a few 100meters of the place for exploring, a vineyard with food about 3-5 minute walk, and St. Emilion about 3k away.

The B&B offers bikes to get to St. Emilion (I recommend since parking is limited and would cost about $15 for all day (just a guess). There are numerous Chateaus (always make a reservation, email works, Veronique will help if you ask) and Thor will cook if you schedule which unfortunately I didn't think about and therefore did not get to partake but the other guests said it was very good.

Recap- Great experience, if you rent a car have a navigator or GPS, schedule visits to the Chateaus, ask Thor to cook, enjoy not only the wine of St. Emilion but the history as well.

Room Tip: If you can't take stairs, ask for ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We made a decision to spend some time in the Bordeaux region, but wanted to stay out of and away from the city. St. Emilion sounded great, so we looked for a place in the area. We happened to luck into La Petite Madeleine.

I called to see if they might have a room left (the online booking via booking sites showed they were full), and to our delight, there was one room left. Veronique answered the phone, and she just happens to speak perfect English. SCORE! She was darling on the phone, and we immediately decided to head toward Bordeaux.

Thank goodness Veronique had given us directions. Without them, we'd never have found the place! La Petite Madeleine is out in the middle of the vineyard country...truly in the middle of a vineyard. The setting is just gorgeous!

We arrived, took our luggage to our room, and went to do some recon. St. Emilion is just over the hill, and we were stunned at the beauty of this village! JUST GORGEOUS!!

Before we left to explore the immediate area, Thoringe (he's Norwegian....I have zero idea how to spell his name) asked if we would be back for dinner. Dinner? Thor, who is Veronique's husband, turns out to be a chef, and we said, "Absolutely!" What a great evening. Over a big dining room table, we met other couples that were staying there, and had a really terrific evening. The food was very nice, the wine was awesome, and the company was magnifique! We feel like we made some new friends. What a great group of people!!

The room was adequate....nothing fancy, but plenty of room and a nice bathroom. The bed was very comfortable. And SO quiet! When Veronique and Thor bought and redid the place, the one thing they insisted on was soundproofing the rooms. They are so quiet that we didn't even hear people going up and down the wooden staircase...even though it was right across from our bedroom door!

We did a day trip up to the La Gironde and visited the great Bordeaux wineries. Definitely worth the trip! But one thing we quickly agreed on was that the area was not nearly as beautiful as the area around St. Emilion.

We will definitely be back. We adored our stay here. What a fabulous place!

Thank you, Veronique and Thor! You made our stay so very special!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have their own appeal. Ask Veronique for her favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank migolfergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Emilion hotels
3.7 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
780 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
#3 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
383 reviews
1.6 mi away
Auberge de la Commanderie
Auberge de la Commanderie
#4 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hostellerie de Plaisance
Hostellerie de Plaisance
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
362 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Pavillon Villemaurine
Le Pavillon Villemaurine
#1 of 24 in Saint-Emilion
134 reviews
1.6 mi away
Les Logis du Roy
Les Logis du Roy
#9 of 24 in Saint-Emilion
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Petite Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Petite Madeleine

Property: La Petite Madeleine
Address: 6, lieu dit Saint Jean de Beard | Saint Laurent des Combes, 33330 Saint-Emilion, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Saint-Emilion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Emilion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Petite Madeleine is an old wine farm which we have renovated.It is located in the heart of the Saint Emilion vineyards, 3.5km from the village of Saint Emilion.We have 5 comfortable bedrooms (good beds) with ensuite bathrooms (shower + sink + WC).We also propose the Table d'hote which is a home made cooked dinner on the spot. Good opportunity to taste good food and to share with other guests and the hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Petite Madeleine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing