We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Petite Madeleine
Ranked #3 of 24 Saint-Emilion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed 4 nights at La Petite Madeleine and couldn't have started our Summer holidays better. Veronique and Thor Inge were so helpful and hospitable - they offered us a lot of advice on which chateaus to visit, and helped us plan our stay really well. Definitely recommend having dinner at least once while you're there, Thor is an amazing cook - smoked duck breast and goats cheese was our starter - absolutely delicious! There is also a great restaurant about 5 min walk away in a relatively new chateau, which is convenient given the 3km into town. On other evenings we had a little picnic in their courtyard - and were very kindly supplied with crockery and glasses.

We didn't have a car, and took a taxi from nearby Libourne Station (about 20euro), but happily wandered around the neighbourhood, and made good use of the bicycles that they will loan for free to access the town of St Emilion.

Breakfast was delicious each day also!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank touringsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaMadeleine, Propriétaire at La Petite Madeleine, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

It was nice to welcome you at La Petite Madeleine. We can remember that you learnt in Australia how to make beautiful macarons and we hope that Saint Emilion inspired you with its special macaron recipie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 172 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed in this B&B for 6 nights. Beautiful B&B in a lovely location set amongst the vineyards of St. Emilion. Our hosts, Veronique and Thor Inge couldn't have been nicer. The property is approx 3 kms from the town, a couple of minutes if you are driving. It is easily accesible by bicycle (which were supplied by the B&B free of charge). Room was very clean and comfortable.
The St. Emilion train station is also close by and from here we took trips to Bordeaux and Bergerac.
Breakfast was very relaxed with no time pressure and the home made jams were excellent.
Dinner is also offered and is highly recommended ( we availed of this on two nights and were not disappointed ) or a picnic in the courtyard is another option.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eoin001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at La Petite Madeleine three nights. It was a quiet place, but with a lot of lives. Every day, we met new people. The area was surrounded by chateaus. Dinner at Madeleine was gorgeous. The rooms were clean and neat. It was felt very comfortable. The hosts were peaceful and hospitable. One finds a rare tranquility there. The short road to Saint Emilion is also an advantage. We would like to go back here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vibba69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaMadeleine, Owner at La Petite Madeleine, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Hello,
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at La Petite Madeleine.
It was nice having you too and hope to see you in a rather near future.
Véronique & Thor Inge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

SENSATIONAL! La Petite Madeline is a gorgeous Chateau with a rustic charm, run by a beautiful family. We travelled with a group of 5 and had nothing but good things to say about this place! The home cooked meals they offer are a must, the bikes they have available are great to ride around the rolling hills of vineyards. The accommodation was clean, great location, service was fantastic and the very helpful hosts went out of their way to give us a very memorable experience. Thankyou!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaMadeleine, Owner at La Petite Madeleine, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thank you.
I must say that we do not live in an actual château. It is more an old wine farm which we have renovated.
It was hard work and it is nice to see that our work is appreciated to the point that you would describe it as a château!
You had different plans for the end of the journey. We hope that everything is going well for each one of you.
Véronique & Thor Inge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We highly recommend this charming B & B. Veronique and Thor were great hosts and so fun to talk with. They were very helpful with all our questions, also. Great location and surroundings. We enjoyed a delicious dinner and great wines. Thor is a great chef. And the breakfasts were perfect. Veronique's mother's jams are the best! We hope to return someday and will plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: We loved our room with a view of the vineyards!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ESPutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaMadeleine, Owner at La Petite Madeleine, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Hello,
Thank you for such a good review.
It was very nice having you at our place.
We hope everything went well for the rest of your trip and are happy to know that you got safely back home.
Véronique and Thor Inge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

This little gem was better then any 5star hotel could offer. Veronique and Thor were an amazing couple and we had such a great time there. food was excellent and the wine was even better.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malx H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Veronique and Thor Inge are amazing couple, we felt like home. There are comfortable rooms w/ private bathrooms. The breakfast is amazing, full of french breads and 6 types of jam.
The plaçe is well located, 5 min driving from centre ville.
I highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RioBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Emilion hotels
3.7 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
901 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
#3 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
409 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Saint Emilion
Ibis Bordeaux Saint Emilion
#5 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Auberge de la Commanderie
Auberge de la Commanderie
#4 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
230 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hostellerie de Plaisance
Hostellerie de Plaisance
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
399 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Pavillon Villemaurine
Le Pavillon Villemaurine
#1 of 24 in Saint-Emilion
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Petite Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Petite Madeleine

Address: 6, lieu dit Saint Jean de Beard | Saint Laurent des Combes, 33330 Saint-Emilion, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Saint-Emilion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Emilion
Price Range: $106 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Petite Madeleine is an old wine farm which we have renovated.It is located in the heart of the Saint Emilion vineyards, 3.5km from the village of Saint Emilion.We have 5 comfortable bedrooms (good beds) with ensuite bathrooms (shower + sink + WC).We also propose the Table d'hote which is a home made cooked dinner on the spot. Good opportunity to taste good food and to share with other guests and the hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Petite Madeleine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing