We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent meal.... and great atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Logis de la Cadene
Ranked #7 of 24 Saint-Emilion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Willow Grove, PA
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An excellent meal.... and great atmosphere”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My husband and I had dinner here in May 2012. In my travel log I wrote "dinner was superb!"..... so I decided to write a review based on what I wrote in my log book. It was too cool to eat outside under the umbrellas on a cobblestone patio with tables set with red cloths and candles :(.. but, inside we found a wonderful, warm, authentic French-style room filled with an inviting atmosphere without being "overdone" in any manner... and, the meal was excellent! Steve had an entree of a Chicken and Duck Pate (in the form of a meatloaf) served at room temperature over greens with a tangy carmalized onion garnish - wow! His plat was a Magret du Canard (large) served with assorted vegies and pomme de terre - very good plus. My entree was a lightly fried rectangular piece of goat cheese over green and accompaniments - very good plus. My plat was lamb chops, rice and vegies that got a - wow! We splurged for a bottle of the "owners' vintage" vin rouge and it was well worth it. We decided to have our cafe outside (despite the cool temperature) and it was accompanied with a small "pastry goodie" that melted in our mouths. A wonderful, memorable dining experience in a fabulous setting!! We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZeeBotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    16
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
53
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, MD
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This could have been a really good meal. We ate there with another couple,and two of our party ordered the steak, both medium rare. One came out cooked to perfection, the other was well done. When we asked to have the well-done one replaced, they wisked it away and replaced it with one that was raw. The good news -- the duck confit and the eggplant starter were terrific.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Watsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Great menu. All based on fresh ingridiants Very special

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hassanback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

My girlfriend (now fiance) and I had only planned to visit St. Emilion for the afternoon, but the last train back to Bordeaux, where we were staying, never came. Back to St. Emilion we walked, famished and primarily looking for something to eat for dinner. We came upon La Cadene on our walk up the town and couldn't resist its charm. In the spring, its entire courtyard is covered with with Wisteria that wraps itself like vines above. The meal was French true-and-true. Every ingredient was very fresh and the sauces, of course, were delicious. While having dinner we discovered that lo and behold, the place is also a little hotel! It has four rooms, and we were fortunate to have one made available to us for 100 Euros. The bedroom window opened up to the courtyard where we ate dinner below, giving us a beautiful view of the Wisteria that I mentioned above (see picture), and the bathroom window gave us a breath-taking view of almost all of St. Emilion. The size of the room was actually large compared to most French hotels, and even though it may not have been the most luxurious place in comparison, it was really just perfect. The next morning we got up and for an extra 10 Euros each we enjoyed the idyllic French breakfast, again beneath the Wisteria. In speaking to the owner of the house I discovered that not only was she born in that property, but also her mother and grandmother. You have to love the incredible sense of history and lasting beauty of the place. Truly remarkable. Not even a year has passed and we are yearning to spend an entire week there. But for now, we have never been so thankful that a train left us stranded.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ururigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
1,537 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 793 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We picked this restaurant completely randomly - we were just wandering around Saint Emilion when at the end of very steep street we found a lovely terrace and decided to eat there. The food was really good, the wine to accompany it was also great and a great service only added to this experience - they spoke fluent English and were very nice. The total bill for four people (including one bottle of wine) was about 200 euros which was not the cheapest, but it was definitely worth it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinde_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

After a day wondering around St Emilion we just wanted something simple and quick. I had grilled salmon which was lovely & my husband had rib steak cooked over vine stems, he said it was the best steak he'd had so far in France, it was delicious. Both served with sides of nice fresh vegetables. We had a carafe of house wine with dinner & it was also good. The staff were very friendly and the service was quick. It was a great place for a quick simple meal.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

The rooms are fabulous, if a little unusual due to the property (bathroom windows overlooking the street, no bathroom doors etc). Location must be the best in St. Emillion. In what I thought was a very French way - because the restaurant was closed for the 2 days of our stay - we were handed the keys by the owners daughter and never saw a soul the whole time till we left! Wonderful people. If you want to stay in St. Emillion you can't beat this Logis.

Room Tip: Only a few and all very delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ACSHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Emilion hotels
0.0 mi away
Hostellerie de Plaisance
Hostellerie de Plaisance
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
374 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auberge de la Commanderie
Auberge de la Commanderie
#4 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
214 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
#3 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
391 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison de la Commanderie
Maison de la Commanderie
#4 of 24 in Saint-Emilion
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Logis du Roy
Les Logis du Roy
#10 of 24 in Saint-Emilion
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Logis de la Cadene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Logis de la Cadene

Property: Le Logis de la Cadene
Address: Place du marche au bois, 33330 Saint-Emilion, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Saint-Emilion
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Emilion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Le Logis de la Cadene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing