We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“affordable tariff but expensive food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel President

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel President
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Jalandhar
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“affordable tariff but expensive food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

heart of the city
ac was nt working during my stay of a week
quality of the food is awesome but expensive
room size are very big
very less variities in buffet breakfaastheart of the city
ac was nt working during my stay of a week
quality of the food is awesome but expensive
room size are very big
very less variities in buffet breakfaastheart of the city
ac was nt working during my stay of a week
quality of the food is awesome but expensive
room size are very big
very less variities in buffet breakfaast

Room Tip: mc donalds is just a minute walk for a quik bite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaileshDsouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    30
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
22
5
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

A budget hotel with a old world feel . In need for a renovation in the bathrooms . Can do away with bath tubs which is un practical without provision of shower cubical . Rooms are neat & clean with wood flooring . Spacious reception & large lobby outside rooms make it feel classy .
A good value for money . Good food & room service .

Room Tip: Check for rooms with separate shower cubical .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vj1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Nice hotel centrally located near to the market area. Staff was cordial Nice budget or u can say towards luxury side hotel Food served was nice but one must try the local dhaba food also. Overall i enjoyed my stay in this Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soniksharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

One of the much hyped hotel in jalandhar.I personally didnt stayed but made arrangement for my 10 guest in this hotel,they all gave ok feedback on this but when you compare it with Hotel M just next to it you will know the difference.Hotel M( Half of my guest were in Hotle M1) offer better & bigger rooms(go & check yourself) & service in good rates as compared to president hotel. Point is you can get better facility in the same price band in other hotle as compared to President. Food was good.

Room Tip: Please check availabilty of room in Hotel M1 if you get there book there than to stay in President...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aseems84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vrindavan, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Good business hotel with attentive personnel and tasty food in restaurant on the first floor. It is quite expensive one but people like it. Once while I was there a TV guys came to film the hotel. It speaks by itself. Minus: if we take any hotel of such class in the West, you will never find anything like shabby walls in public WC in the hotel premises - but this is India.

Room Tip: Just tell what do you prefer and they help you to choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snigdhadasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
169 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

This hotel reminds me of the Phil Collins lyric, "Look at me now. I'm just an empty space."

The Hotel President New Court has the outward appearance of at least a four-star hotel. Yet right until check-out, I had decided to rate it just two stars. I raised that to three stars when I realized how little my hosts were paying for the room. The experience is roughly equivalent to what I receive at a 3-star property elsewhere in India, as is the price.

There is no shortage of labor. A virtual army keeps the place nearly spotless. However, the performance of that labor was subpar during my stay. The bellman (concierge) who took me to my room, even upon request, failed to show me all the lighting controls, and later, I was not able to turn off one set of lights at bedtime. The night operator did not understand the English word "wake-up call." After I explained in Hindi what I wanted, the morning staff placed the call 20 minutes after the requested time. The housekeeping staff delivered a morning paper in a language I could not understand (I resisted the temptation to trade for the Times of India sitting outside a nearby room). As I was leaving, the man asked whether I was checking out. When I said yes, instead of offering to carry my bags, he asked for my key. At the lift, I had to maneuver around two large bags of dirty linens that the staff had placed in front of the lift.

The facilities appear excellent upon first glance, but problems show up gradually. There was no razor or toothbrush in my room. The elevator (lift) comes slowly. One of the light switches, as noted, is not in view. The arrangement of the room is at times inconvenient. For example, the dustbin is placed in a corner far away from the bed and desk.

When it comes to food, I was disappointed. The hotel served a buffet of snacks during the evening event I attended, and I ate breakfast there. The snacks were average. In the morning, my aloo parantha were exactly to my taste (almost no chili/mirchi), but the selection on offer was pitiful. There was a large stain on the tablecloth where I sat.

Bottom line, you can rest comfortably and enjoy reasonable value for money at this property. Just don't expect the experience to live up to the looks of the place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We reached the quite late in the evening and had a quick check-in. They rustled up a good meal as well for us and the Scotland Bar was a good place to have a drink.
The rooms are not very large but clean and reasonable comfortable. We just spent the night there enroute to Patnitop, so we did not check out any of the other facilities.
Breakfast was adequate and check-out fast.
The Hotel is also conveniently located just off the main road.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sundeep-travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jalandhar hotels
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jalandhar
0.8 mi away
Ramada Jalandhar City Centre
0.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Jalandhar
Radisson Hotel Jalandhar
#2 of 31 in Jalandhar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Summerlea
BEST WESTERN Summerlea
#6 of 31 in Jalandhar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Maya Hotel
The Maya Hotel
#3 of 31 in Jalandhar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sarovar Portico Jalandhar
Sarovar Portico Jalandhar
#4 of 31 in Jalandhar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Property: Hotel President
Address: 27 Police Line Road, Jalandhar 144001, India
Location: India > Punjab > Jalandhar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Jalandhar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing