We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip the Pizza”
Review of L'Italia

L'Italia
Ranked #4 of 24 Restaurants in Wellsville
Restaurant details
New York
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Skip the Pizza”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

After reading the reviews we decided to order a pizza from L'Italia. What a mistake. First of all the large size is a medium anywhere else. After trying the pizza we were thankful it was so small. We ordered the Margherita pizza. Honestly the box would have rivaled the pizza for flavor. The crust was dry and had a ready made (frozen) texture.
I dislike store bought frozen pizza but the Pizza we had from L'Italia made us wish we had just bought one from the grocery store.
I am not a Pizza snob but I do know bad pizza. Save yourself the $15 and change and go somewhere else. We did not try any other of the foods offered here just the Pizza.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wnyjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    26
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saylorsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Good restaurant in downtown Wellsville.”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I ate dinner at this restaurant. Both the food and service were very good. The waitress was friendly and attentive. The menu had many choices, and there is a full bar. I had a seafood pasta dish, which was quite good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Wtrav77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, New York
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I had a good lunch there. We started with the bruschetta which was one of the best I've ever had. I had a salad with steak on top and it was good. I think it was pretty quick too. The staff there weren't super warm or friendly but our waiter- who to me didn't seem like he was even supposed to be a waiter- was cordial enough. The decor is really nice and we were one of two or three parties in there for lunch. I remember the prices being reasonable. It was definitely the nicest eatery I'd been to in the town. I'd go back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scio, NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Always a special occasion”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Where do you want to go to lunch? My first choice is L'Italia. The pizza is just the way I like it, the salad is tangy, just the way I like it, the servers are well-trained, and the atmosphere is pleasant.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank CarolynScio_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wasn't Quite What I'd Been Led To Expect”
Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

I had a good impression of the decor and location, but the service and food wasn't quite up to the billing. As a guy from England who does get to eat out in Italy as well as good Italian food in England, I did set my standards lower to compensate for the way American food gets served up, but there were many items missing from the menu this eve, which meant two of the four desired meals couldn't be met, but also one of the meals was incorrect, the special (which wasn't that special) instead if the Clams Regittoro that was actually ordered, but I didn't want to raise an issue as we seemed to be being interrupted constantly throughout the meal and just wanted some space to talk amongst ourselves as it was a special meal out for two couples. One of the couples had been out for meals before and the previous standards of food weren't met so maybe we just got unlucky

Helpful?
Thank francisedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Italia also viewed

 

Been to L'Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing