We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice of Meals”

Old Erie Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Weedsport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Albany, New York, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice of Meals”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Have stopped at the Old Erie several times and have never received a bad meal. This time they had Pumpkin Ravioli on the menu and it was delicious. It was served with a potato soup and we topped the meal with Apple crisp with Vanilla ice cream. If your in the area, stop in, you will not forget it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexander L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    38
    12
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
University Place, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Save Your Money and go to Arby's”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We went to the Old Erie for dinner on our way to Toronto, BIG mistake. We were told to wait in the bar even though there were tables available because the kitchen needed time to "catch up", we should have bolted to the door when we had the chance. Once seated we waited with our menus for twenty minutes for someone to take our order. Once our order was placed it took another twenty minutes for our server to come tell me they were out of the pork I had ordered. I made a second selection and ten minutes later was told they were also out of that. The third time I saw the waiter approach I was about to say; just bring me what you have, but to my surprise he told my husband that they did not have the pasta for his dish and would have to send someone to the store. Between waiting in the bar and sitting at the table we had already been there 45 minutes. The entertainment for the evening was someone in the kitchen screaming at the employees every few minutes. Unless they had Gordon Ramsey in there and were filming an episode of Hell's Kitchen there was no excuse for it. We both ended up with fish with some kind of mushy bread crumbs and way to much butter. TWO hours later we left vowing never to return. No apology for the wait, no apology for whatever was happening in the kitchen that everyone in the restaurant was subjected to, no offer to adjust the bill. No need to return, ever.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lionheartevents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The Pride of Weedsport”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

If you're traveling along the NYS Thruway (I-90) in western New York you probably don't expect much in the way of food choices. In that context this place is a real find, and definitely worth the time to get off the Thruway. The food is good, service is fast and friendly, and the ambiance is very nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good fusion of European foods, including German, French, etc.”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We've got onion soup and pulled pork sandwich. The onion soup was simply amazing. Pulled pork was good, but, perhaps, could be more flavorful and juicier (just something they can work on).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmitry Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Look forward to dinner every time”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Every time we go in there w look forward to the specials! we are never disappointed, from the soup to the dessert (which is usually to go because I'm so full!!) Great portion size, service is always with a smile,oh and definitely appreciated the local wines on the menu! All in all i would definitely recommend stopping in for a homemade meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hollybear33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Erie Restaurant also viewed

 
Weedsport, Finger Lakes
Weedsport, Finger Lakes
 
Weedsport, Finger Lakes
Weedsport, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Old Erie Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing