We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OctoberFest”

Old Erie Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Weedsport
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Auburn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“OctoberFest”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We just great enjoyed the Oktoberfest dinner at the Old Erie we had all been hankering for. Wiener Schnitzel and Jagger Schnitzel were tender and hot while the red cabbage, German potato salad and spatzel were excellent. A sign "warns" you to save room for dessert - and it is true! Make sure you get there before the end of October.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan1013021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    41
    12
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good alternative to I-90 Fast Food”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Obviously, it is not an urban foodie dream. But if you want decent food, a nice place and friendly service, this is MUCH BETTER than the fast food crap on I-90. So do yourself and your family a favor, and eat here. The old pictures on the wall of the Erie Canal through Rochester are interesting, and the pierogis and salads are tasty.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HamTech87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Started off well...downhill”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed in Weedsport, NY for one night & researched the few restaurants in the area (3?). Looked forward to trying this restaurant with good reviews. Waitress service was cheerful & well except when bill arrived & extra $3 for the caesar salad in lieu of house salad or soup which came with ordered meal - she should have mentioned or I we should have asked.
Scallops & lobster macaroni & cheese started off delicious. Two scallops & lobster meat ....became saltier & saltier as eaten. Not to mention there was too much Fontina cheese which I tried to push off to the side. Half the dish was uneaten.
My husbands dish of ribs came out luke warm with soggy French Fries.
Sorely disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank echo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, RI
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Good German food.”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I heard the fish was to die for but I was craving the German dishes. Good service and good food. I'd go there again if I only lived closer.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mudduckRiverside_RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tonawanda, NY
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A German Surprise”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

A traditional restaurant with nice touches -- cloth napkins and tablecloths. Well-trained staff, and a menu with several cuisines represented: Italian, seafood, BBQ (specials on Wednesday nights). But unusual to find in Western New York -- several traditional German foods. We had the Bratwurst platter and the Sauerbraten, and we were both well-pleased. Spaetzle is made in-house and so was the peach cobbler (very, very good).

Servings are very large. Enough for two meals even for the guy with a big appetite.

We will definitely return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveler1037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Erie Restaurant also viewed

 
Weedsport, Finger Lakes
Weedsport, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Old Erie Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing