We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Down hill after the move from Bay Towne” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Dynasty Chinese

Royal Dynasty Chinese
Ranked #8 of 126 Restaurants in Webster
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rochester, New York
1 review
“Down hill after the move from Bay Towne”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

In the past, this was one of the best Chinese restaurants. Was a frequent customer in their old location.... really went down hill after the move. Perhaps new chefs.

Last night was my fourth visit and probably my last. Service was unbelievably slow even though there were very few customers. The food was sub-par. My husband did not even finish his meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    24
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penfield, New York
Level Contributor
343 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Good food, high prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Decided to check out the new location for Royal Dynasty. The building has a modern style, nice. The food was typical Chinese fare, decent sized portions. The prices are higher than other Chinese places. The food isn't of better quality to warrant the higher prices. My sesame chicken had only two bites of broccoli and mostly dark meat pieces of chicken. They have been voted as a favorite Chinese restaurant through the Democrat and Chronicle (local newspaper) annual poll and they are not shy about letting customers know that. It's printed on the napkins, signs at the entry. I'm not sure why they would get top votes. I've been to other area Chinese restaurants that are just as good, but cost less.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank B_in_Penfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

The new restaurant location is nice and modern, the food overall was good, my wife and I both had the Duck and the other couple we were with had the Lo Main and SS Chicken. The Food was prepared well and tasted good, but i am not sure I would ever buy the duck again, never had is served with the duck rib's (bones) cut up in the pieces, I would have rather had bones removed from the duck before it came to the table, for the price of the Duck I would have expected it.

Other then my preference on the Duck, I would recommend this restaurant to all to come and enjoy.

Helpful?
Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Average quality...Premium price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Royal Dynasty has always been a few bucks higher than the local average for Chinese food but since they built themselves a brand new restaurant in 2012 they have jacked up the prices even more. For example, I recently got take out dinner for two consisting of exactly the same 2 apps and 2 entrees I normally order at my neighborhood Chinese restaurant (which was closed that evening). The local price is around $23. Dynasty came to $42 and change. I'm done with them. Or as Porky Pig said "That's All Folks!"

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Captn_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Really good Chinese food and always consistent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

I usually don't ask much for Chinese food other than it has good taste, is plentiful, feeds me lunch the next day, and tastes just as good warmed up as it does when it has been bought.

I haven't even been in the building to eat, but takeout has always been consistently good. I have had better in my lifetime, but I will rate this very good because it meets all of my above criteria.

This time the lomein was especially good, and the sesame chicken was great for a first time trying it. I usually get moo goo gai pan, and have eaten a lot of their sauteed shredded beef in the past. That is one of my favorites.

Definitely worth a try if you are in the area. It won't be a cheap meal, but I doubt you will be disappointed either.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David_NY_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Dynasty Chinese also viewed

 
Webster, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Royal Dynasty Chinese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing