We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Review after about 10 different stays at Avalon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avalon Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avalon Suites
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Review after about 10 different stays at Avalon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

I travel very often on business to Rochester (I have a small business of my own) - my trips vary from 1 week to 6 weeks each time. I can sometimes plan in advance, but most times have just a week's notice.
I picked this place 'cos I could get the space/comforts of an apartment, for a reasonable price. Hotels for more than 2 weeks are hard on the pocket. I like the fact that there is ample parking, free wireless, location is great (Wegmans, running trails, eating joints, a couple of nice bars are all within a couple of miles.
The people are great - Debbie has helped solve any problem that I have (including leaving my car in their lot for a month when I was away at no charge).
I've now been there on and off for almost 2 years - I've seen that most residents are quiet and respectful of the other.
If at all there is scope for improvement, I guess it would be linked to the age of the property - it shows. So if you are particular about something new, then this is not the place for you. But if you are looking for a convenient, safe, reasonable and friendly atmosphere, I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floors closer to the rental office - the wireless connectivity is better and it is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anandgcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Director of Sales at Avalon Suites, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Your many repeat visits during the past two years are really appreciated. We value your comments about our great location, amenities, and what we need to work on. Thank-you again for being an Avalon guest, and referring others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
3
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Webster, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

I came to Avalon Suites in 2008 for an eight week assignment at a local power plant, eight weeks has turned into three years and running. People often ask why I don't stay in a condo or rented apartment well from my first week here I have felt at home.The buildings are kept up hallways and laundry rooms are cleaned daily, landscaped nicely and if you have ever been to the Rochester area you will know all about snow and Avalon keeps up with snow like you can't believe. I leave very early in the morning and in three years I have never had a propblem getting out. Now the apartments are clean, warm in winter and cool in summer and very safe. Most people that stay here are short stays professionals types and friendly. Shoping resturants and services are very close which is convenient. The staff and management are the best Debbie who manages Avalon Corporate Suites makes everone feel like family. I bring many long term and short term contractors in through out the year and reccomend them to Avalon Suits.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fg6718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

Avalon Corporate Suites is located close to shopping, restaurants, parks and main attractions...only minutes from Rochester! The apartments are completely furnished, clean, safe and well maintained. They also provide storage units! The staff is very accomodating with management on site. If you need anything...just ask and they do their best to meet all requirements! Whether you need accomodations for just a few nights, a week, a month or longer...this is a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

I came to Rochester in early June on a 3 month work contract. Corporate furnished lodging was hard to find because of the season. There were "corporate" rentals out there that were, in actuality, unfilled apartments in large impersonal complexes that were, should I say, a bit seedy. They had 5 page application forms and one property in Greece actuality wanted to see my tax returns for the last two years! Debbie, the manager, made renting here easy and runs the place well. Maintenance responds to problems immediately: a faulty air conditioner was replaced the next business day. A wasp's nest outside my window was promptly neutralized so I could continue writing a proposal for a government grant. Yes, they have functional desks here that enable one to work from "home"! This came in very useful when I had to write two back to back proposals and a progress report to the state in a 3 week time span. And although an office chair is not included in the furniture, management actually went out and bought me a cushion for one of their hardwood kitchen chairs! Management is also very knowlegable about where to procure local services.

Location: Right next to a park which has a hiking trail that goes down to Irondequoit Bay. Traffic noise from Empire Blvd. is minimal - at least in the back building. (The trees must absorb most of the noise.) Noise from other tenants is almost non-existent. Avalon is conveniently located close to Kodak (13 min.), grocery stores, Wal-Mart, dry-cleaning, etc. The grounds are well maintained and the fall colors were just awesome. Irondequoit Bay is about 1/4 mile away.

Building: This is an older building and the plumbing reflects it - shower water temperature fluctuates, thus one has to spend time adjusting the water temperature during the course of washing up. The same goes for the heating thermostat - it need daily tweaking to maintain a constant temperature. (Hopefully, there will be no surprises this winter.) The suites do not have dishwashers in the fully functional kitchens and I really miss this time saving appliance as I like to cook. Yet the 1 bedroom suites are spacious and have more than enough room for two people. Closet space is quite adequate and I like the old style clothes hanging rod and solid wood shelving as opposed to the cheap metal racks that come in more modern buildings. You won't find any free HBO on the TV but it was not an issue with me as this is a work residence.

Rates: On the high end considering one has to do their own housekeeping. But the location and the staff justify it. I just wish they had a monthly rate as I've been here almost 6 months and plan on staying at least another 4.

Room Tip: I always choose the top floor in a corporate rental to avoid noise from above. Luckily, they had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FredP71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

Rating the Avalon apartments is tricky because you have to keep in mind what they are. These are long-term stay 1 & 2 bedroom apartments, not a typical hotel room. Therefore there is no daily cleaning, no change of towels, etc. There are laundry facilities in the basement at $1.50/load for washing and there is cleaning service available for $15/hour (minimum 2 hours).

The other huge thing is that these are pretty old apartments and show their age. And they've been built using pretty inexpensive cabinets, furniture, etc. Also there is no dishwasher, so if you stay for awhile, be ready to do some dishes or use paper plates.

The furnishings you receive are really hit & miss. Some apartments have tube TVs, some have flat screen. Some of the beds are very comfortable, some are really bad. I highly recommend if you stay here, checkout many rooms first if they have more than 1 available and make your choice.

Like the entire building, the plumbing is very old. So for the showers in the morning, the water can arbitrarily go from blistering hot to ice cold for no reason. The trick I've found is rather than turn the faucet up full blast for hot and then level it out with cold, instead just turn the hot water faucet on a little bit and then level it out with cold to get your desired temp. The fluctuations will be much less if at all.

So with all that said, why do I give them 4 stars? Because you simply cannot beat the price! About $60/night for a 2 bedroom furnished apartment? Are you kidding me? This is an amazing price for what you get!

The staff is very nice and professional. They were very helpful throughout my entire stay.

The apartments are located near plenty of shopping (Wegmans, Walmart, etc.). I highly recommend the Phuket Thai restaurant about 2 miles away down Empire Blvd.

If you're used to staying in 4 star hotels, this is not the place for you. If you want a huge space that is clean but dated for very little money, then you'll love this place!

Room Tip: Read my review about the shower hot water tip. It'll save you in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frekwentflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Webster
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Webster
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Irondequoit
8.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester-Greece
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester Webster
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester-Irondequoit
3.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Rochester East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Suites

Property: Avalon Suites
Address: 1553 Empire Blvd, Building 3, Webster, NY 14580-2131
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Webster
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Webster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon's large fully furnished apartments provide a home-like atmosphere as compared to a cramped motel room. We have sparkling fresh one and two bedroom apartments that are ready to occupy, with all linens, kitchen utensils, and cable TV. For Rochester area visitors, Avalon Suites offers the superb service, spacious fully furnished apartments, and friendly staff you have known for years. But now, you can enjoy us for much shorter terms, as short as just two nights! Avalon is Western New York's premiere apartment-suites. Why stay in a one room motel when you can enjoy a fully furnished apartment at a comparable cost?Our Suites adjoin a county park, with walking trails. Yet 30 restaurants are within a five minute drive. Call and find out why our guests return visit after visit. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Avalon Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing