We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hostel or apartments”
Review of Hostel de la Viuda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostel de la Viuda
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
234 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Hostel or apartments”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

A normal hostel in all ways hostel, lots of beds, shared bathrooms, common cooking, eating, living space. Breakfast is provided or you can buy your own food and prepare it. Apart from the hostel, there is a small 4 apartment building a few blocks away. These are more of a self-catering unit. Small kitchen with all the basics. Deck for evenings out, a small pool, very quiet. But, does need a little repair work. Fairly new, so the kinks are getting worked out. During the off season, the beach and area is very quiet. But, fills to the rim in the high season. Both the hostel and the apartments are a few blocks from the ocean and beach. Manager was very helpful on all matters. The bottle of wine as a welcoming gift was a nice touch.

Room Tip: At the apartments, if you don't mind stairs - then either of the two upstairs units are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldtravelinggolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    73
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
123
111
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre, Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I have been there with 3 friends and it was fun. But, I can recomend it for families or couples without doubts. There were 3 couples older than us (they are 50 years old or more), and a lot of young couples too...and other group of friends...

The owners are really friendly, a very nice couple who try to do everything that is possible to us enjoy our trip.

One of the guests suggested a barbecue and Sebastian and Guadalupe decided to invite all the other guests...a really nice time.

It is clean and organized. The breakfast is great and, even it is not near to the beach and the center, it is not far too.

We are sure that will go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anneliese B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Had a great time here, clean rooms and bathroom, excellent atmosphere in the garden with pool (!) space for barbecue... The couple of owners are absolutely great and get out of their way to help you. They picked us up from the terminal and gave us a lift back when we were leaving. Sat down and chatted with us, gave us advise, helped us with reservations etc. All in all a great experience, thanks and see you soon :) sofia

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank ItalyTravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

A great hostel in a gorgeous setting. I stayed in a private room over the Christmas holidays. The hosts are sweet and make you feel at home. Breakfast is included with lots of coffee and dulce de leche! The pool is decently maintained, and there is an outdoor BBQ and a pool table as well. It's a bit far from the beach, but I didn't mind. They will pick you up and drop you off at the bus terminal if you let them know your arrival ahead of time (as long as its between 9 a.m. and 11 p.m.). There are several well behaved dogs and cats on the property. They also have beer, wine and grocery items for sale at prices very close to the supermarkets. One of our hosts, Guada, went above and beyond by helping us when Buqubus cancelled our flights at the last minute.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor away from the common area will be a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RachaelMay_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
113 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Since the hostel is run by a very passionate couple, it has everything you can ask for: a great common area, nice breakfast, amazing staff, lovely dogs, and a good kitchen for self-catering. The beach is about a 10-15 walk away, as are the 2 supermarkets.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citizen428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta del Diablo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I love this place. I came to Punta Del Diablo to kill time waiting for a package, for 2 days, and 2 weeks later I am still here and seem unable to leave. A fantastic kitchen, large and well equipped, a comfortable living room, swimming pool, a large, green garden, which is very open and full of hammocks. A tower with a sea view. Totally quiet here, except for all the birds, and there are loads of them, and it sounds wonderful in the morning. Always fresh home made empanadas. And fabulous hostel dogs, that do not get in your face and keep to themselves unless you want company and then they love to follow you on walks. There is nothing much to do here and that is what is great. The beaches are clean, huge, with pounding surf and right now, barely a soul around. This is the perfect place to relax and be happy and Sebastian and Guadalupe could not make me feel more welcome. I could ramble on for hours, l love it here. From Sarah Mclean

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

They have a great kitchen and breakfast as well. The rooms are decent but it's the living area which makes it special. The staff are friendly and everyone staying there seemed to be very relaxed and friendly as well. They have a great area outside that you can climb up to get some nice views and relax and it's away from everything to be nice and quiet. They seemed to be a bit off with the walk to the beach. They say it's only 5 minutes but it's at least 10.

Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalmaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta del Diablo hotels
0.9 mi away
Hostel La Casa de las Boyas
Hostel La Casa de las Boyas
#2 of 12 in Punta del Diablo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Diablo Tranquilo Hostel
El Diablo Tranquilo Hostel
#5 of 71 in Punta del Diablo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel de las Hadas
Hostel de las Hadas
#20 of 71 in Punta del Diablo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aquarella Hotel
Aquarella Hotel
#3 of 12 in Punta del Diablo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vente al Diablo Hostel
Vente al Diablo Hostel
#11 of 71 in Punta del Diablo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostel el Indio
Hostel el Indio
#21 of 71 in Punta del Diablo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel de la Viuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel de la Viuda

Property: Hostel de la Viuda
Address: Streets San Luis y Nueva Granada | Rocha, Punta del Diablo 27204, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Rocha Department > Punta del Diablo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Punta del Diablo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostel de la Viuda 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel at 8" minutes walk from the Viuda beach, the most beautiful in town. With bed-rooms for 2, 4, 6 & 8 people. 11 Bath-rooms (hot water 24hs). Huge shared kitchen, living-room, hitted swiming pool, pool table, football table, privated party saloon. 700 M2 yard with BBQs, hammocks & wood tower with great view. Books and games, audio equipments, large clothesline, washing tables, safe box, parking included, breakfast, sheets, blankets and pillow. Opened in December 2009 Tickets to Brazil with EGA company. Be a volunteer in our Green House and enjoy our vegetables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel de la Viuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing