We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home”
Review of Posada de la Viuda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Posada de la Viuda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Ok the rooms are a bit basic, and i have slept on better beds. But the warm and welcoming feeling in this place is the best. They are doing their best to make you feel at home. (instead of just giving you a bed and taking your money as so often happens in other hostels). This shows perfectly that people make the hostel and not a fancy bar, best location or high-end amenities. (This said, it has an excellent kitchen, wifi everywhere, swimming pool, cable tv, dvd etc.)
Also a great place to meet other travelers. Stayed for a week and could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oege v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 135 of 481 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2011

We thought we would only stay for 2 nights and we decided to stay for 5 nights! Such a cozy place to stay and lovely people who run it! The dogs are also soo cute and follow you to the beach! And defintely one of the best hostel breakfasts that we had in all of Argentina and Uruguay! The only drawback is that it is a far walk to the beach, but its alright because the swimming pool is lovely and everyone is so friendly! Thanks again!

Gaby and Joel
Australia

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glloydperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We stayed here for four nights in the low season - we had the place to ourselves... that is expect for the lovely couple who own/run it and the friendly dogs. It felt like a home from home. Room was basic - just a bed and lockable cabinet and bedside lamp but bathrooms nice with plenty of hot water. A lot of thought has gone into making it a nice place to be. The kitchen is fantastic and there is a lovely lounge too. Outside there is great area to sit when the weather is good. We had a lovely time and would recommend. We still miss Lola the dog!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacyonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

I've stayed here for 17 days. I think that almost says it all. To stay in one place for 17 days it's got be pretty awesome, right?

Hostel de la Viuda is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in, and I've traveled to roughly 25 countries across Europe, Central and South America, and Asia. The owners Guada and Seba do an amazing job of running the hostel. These two have seriously thought of everything.

While there are markets close, the kitchen is basically it's own mini-mart, but prices aren't marked up like you find in some hostels. It's the same as shopping in the markets and in some cases it's cheaper to buy your snacks, sodas, beers, empanadas right in the hostel. It makes things very convenient day-to-day that you don't need to rely on on a market. The kitchen itself is very stocked with cooking utensils, pots, pans, and plenty of room to prepare a meal.

THE ASADO. Seba is a grill master!

The communal area in the hostel is great for meeting people. I love when hostels have a big open area that encompasses the kitchen, tables, living room, etc. Hostels like this bring people together. The hammock area and the decks are also great for relaxing and enjoying some quiet..

Ample clothesline space and materials that make hand-washing your clothes easy. You can also pay to have your clothes machine washed. A good space for washing my clothes was outstanding for me when I arrived. I was getting a bit smelly after 6 weeks on the road.

It's just a simple fact in my opinion. If you are coming to Punta del Diablo you should stay here. You may not be right on the beach or right in the center of town, but the walks are not much and actually quite relaxing. It's the type of hostel that you want to spend the night hanging out in. Especially on Asado nights, this place is just a fun hostel.

I could go on and on and on. 17 days in Punta del Diablo and 17 nights at Hostel de la Viuda. Outstanding in every way.

Mike Sneed from Washington DC

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snurglersons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

Hostel De la Viuda is an amazing place to stay!
It is a nice walk from town, so you feel but the incredibly helpful staff is always ready and willing to take you in their truck if you would rather not walk. The rooms and bathrooms are nice and very clean, but the living area, is fantastic! A big open kitchen and living room, with all one need as far as cooking utensils and a wide screen TV, with movies and books at your disposable. Out side there is a BBQ, hammocks and a great outdoor dinning area. They offer an amazing free breakfast and for a very reasonable price they will often offer you to join in an expertly prepared dinner!
All this is great but what really makes this place the best was the staff! They helped all the travelers there to the absolute best of their ability!
And to top it off this was the best value for my money! I was on a tight budget and truly felt I got more then I payed for!
I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarkinBKeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

This place has alot going for it. First there are the staff, they are extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfasts are great, cakes, breads, jams with coffee and tea. Lots of common areas to hang out in. It has a very relaxed and chilled vibe.
There are also a few cons. The location is out of town, about 10/15 min walk to the beach and about 30 min walk to town. The staff are willing to pick you up and drop you off at the bus station, and give you lifts into town if they are going around the same time. But it becomes a bit much to walk to/from town a few times a day. We stayed in a private doubel room on 2nd floor. Room was quite small, the walls were paper thin. We could hear everything from the next rooms. Almost felt bad making noise late at night. There are a heap of flies and mosquitos all over the hostel, especially the indoor common areas downstairs. They dont really try get rid of them so they are always around.
Value was pretty good, about $17pp for the room, but we were there when peak season started on 1st Dec and they increased the price to $25pp. Luckily that was the day we checked out. Most of the people staying there were couples too, so solo travellers may prefer elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannonluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2010

Very good hostel in quiet and peaceful area. It's cheap and very good value. Owners are very nice and helpful and service good too.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karhusmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta del Diablo
9.9 mi away
Hotel Parque Oceanico
Hotel Parque Oceanico
#1 of 1 in La Coronilla
142 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aquarella Hotel
Aquarella Hotel
#5 of 14 in Punta del Diablo
87 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Viuda del Diablo
La Viuda del Diablo
#2 of 14 in Punta del Diablo
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hostel La Casa de las Boyas
Hostel La Casa de las Boyas
#3 of 14 in Punta del Diablo
150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Terrazas de la Viuda
Hotel Terrazas de la Viuda
#4 of 14 in Punta del Diablo
103 reviews
1 mi away
Hosteria del Pescador
Hosteria del Pescador
#7 of 14 in Punta del Diablo
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada de la Viuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de la Viuda

Address: Streets San Luis y Nueva Granada | Rocha, Punta del Diablo 27204, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Rocha Department > Punta del Diablo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Punta del Diablo
Price Range: $69 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada de la Viuda 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada de la Viuda it is an amazing property! Each room has a private bath-room, with Tv cable, safe box, air condition and a cosy design. Common areas are also great. Large kitchen fully equipped, big living room with multi lingual books, yard with swimming pool (heated with solar panels), sun loungers, BBQ, wood oven, balcony where to enjoy nice views, many hammocks and a free pool table. Continental Breakfast it is included. Wifi and parking are free of charge. Posada de la Viuda it is located four blocks away from the bus stop number two, and two supermarkets. The Viuda beach it is the nicest in the area, and it is 9 minute walk away. The fishermen centre is 1.2 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Posada de la Viuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing