We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful - friendly - unforgetable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Posada Amazonas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Posada Amazonas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful - friendly - unforgetable”
Reviewed January 20, 2011

A truly amazing place! Guides were amazing, scenery breathtaking, food was fantastic, rooms were one of kind - cannot recommend more highly!!!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kara1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    157
    26
    12
    4
See reviews for
166
304
70
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

A wonderful adventure! Service and tour guides were great, they were even able to accommodate my vegan diet! Posada Amazonas is the perfect place for exploring the rainforest. Would highly recommend to anyone, eco friendly tourism is the way to go. If I can make it a week without air conditioning and hot water, anyone can!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pcaufield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2011

An amazing place from start to finnish, excelled my expectations completely. Staff and service above and beyond we were looked after as if we were in a 5 star hotel, yet we were in the jungle! I highly recommend a visit here it will leave you with memories you will NEVER forget. I went with my Son and Daughter both of whom had an experience of a lifetime and highly rated our holiday also.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tearlietots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2011

The Refugio Amazonas was absolutely incredible. As we emerged from the rainforest into the clearing the lodge was suddenly exposed, its huge wooden structure providing much needed shade in the hot forest. It was like a mini oasis! Inside we were served delicious tropical fruit juices and we could even buy ourselves homemade ice-cream – made from rainforest ingredients! Our rooms were spacious and contained all we needed – a running shower (not hot although you wouldn’t have wanted hot water!) a flushing loo, and basin. Gorgeous shampoos, conditions and towels. We even had a beautiful resident frog to share our bathroom with. We felt a part of the rainforest, rather than intruders, something we were looking for on this trip.
One side of our room was open to the jungle so each night we watched the bats and during the day we watched the monkeys, lizards, and birds. The constant hum from the creatures around us was hypnotic.
We had a wonderful tour guide, who took us to see the piranhas in the ox-bow lake, the birds at the salt lick, the monkeys from the high tower, and famers from the other side of the river, and we made friends with another lovely couple visiting the area.
All in all, a wonderful experience! My boyfriend, who had been trying to find the perfect time to propose, (unbeknown to me) chose one of our nights at the lodge to get down on one knee! I couldn’t have asked for a more perfect location and setting. I will defiantly be going back to Refugio Amazonas!
One thing to remember - bring some money! Although you are in the middle of the rainforest, there is a 'treatment ' room there for back and foot massages, as well as other things. There is also a bar so you can buy drinks and ice cream. You can also heir canons to go on to the river and watch the caiman. We didn’t know this so unfortunately couldn’t enjoy some of these features.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorothysulzmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Great hotel right on one of the tributaries of the Amazon. Rooms have three walls the fourth is open to the jungle - as a result it can be noisy at night! And there are unexpected visitors too! We had a fantastic guide who took us out exploring the rain forest mornign and evening - he was VERY knowledgeable. It was a wonderful experience in an eco hotel where there is limited electricity and cold showers.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank telstarlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We're glad we chose this lodge for one of the stops on our tour. It was extremely clean, the food was excellent and the guides and staff did everything they could to make the most of our couple of nights there. It was an experience to have a bedroom with no wall out to the forest! The environmentally friendly approach to limited use of electricity only added to the atmosphere of the experience. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulamaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2011

This accommodation is quite simply fantastic. Definitely a highlight of our South American trip. The rooms make you feel as if you are truly living in the jungle while giving you a feeling of complete safety and cleanliness. The food here is incredible. The activites were fascinating and the guides knowledgable and friendly. I would highly recommend to anyone looking for accommodation in the Peruvian amazon.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaxJugganauts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambopata National Reserve
16.5 mi away
Sandoval Lake Lodge
Sandoval Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
131 reviews
9.0 mi away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#1 of 54 in Puerto Maldonado
790 reviews
24.6 mi away
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
#3 of 54 in Puerto Maldonado
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.1 mi away
Tambopata Research Center
Tambopata Research Center
#1 of 22 in Tambopata National Reserve
498 reviews
14.3 mi away
Chuncho Lodge
Chuncho Lodge
#4 of 22 in Tambopata National Reserve
60 reviews
24.4 mi away
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tambopata National Reserve
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Amazonas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Amazonas

Property: Posada Amazonas
Address: Private Reserve within the Native Community of Infierno, Tambopata National Reserve 084, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Tambopata National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Tambopata National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Amazonas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Amazonas is a 30 bedroom lodge owned by the Native Community of Infierno and managed with Rainforest Expeditions. Thanks to its accessibility, excellent wildlife observation opportunities, cultural context and comfortable accommodations, Posada Amazonas is ideal for a two night introduction to Tambopata's rain forests. It is located within the territory of the Infierno Community, built within the 2,000 hectare, private, communal reserve, which in turn is directly adjacent to the Tambopata National Reserve. Posada Amazonas was selected to be among the Best Eco Hotels in 2014 by Gogobot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Posada Amazonas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Amazonas Hotel Tambopata National Reserve
Posada Amazonas Peru/Tambopata National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing