We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Adventure”
Review of Posada Amazonas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Posada Amazonas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Diamond Bar, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great Adventure”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Just got back from a wonderful adventure at Posada Amazonas. It was like living in the wild with amenities like a bathroom and comfortable bed. Not to mention lots of nature right outside the railing that opened the room on to the jungle. Food and staff were great!

Room Tip: If you are a little unsure of your stability, bring a walking stick to assist with boarding pongas a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charla376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainforestExp, Public Relations Manager at Posada Amazonas, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thanks for your review! We glad you enjoyed your stay in Posada Amazonas. Great idea about the walking sticks, those are also available at the entrance of the lodge if somebody would need it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    163
    28
    12
    4
See reviews for
173
318
73
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bribie Island, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

What a brilliant location! It was the rainy season - Feb- but were fortunate enough to score a sunny window for our 3 days and 2 nights. Loved our room (?) even if it did only have 3 walls. The white mozzie nets were very romantic especially as the lighting in the sleeping quarters is oil lamps and candles. The open side had a balcony about 1 metre high afforded a view straight into the jungle. Have no fear, so long as you do not leave any food lying around you will not encounter non - paying guests - monkeys. We had been advised to take personal
insect repellant containing at least 40% DEET but did not really need it. Being Aussies however we probs had some immunity - one fellow guest did have a rather swollen face as a result of his 6 legged encounters.

The dining room offered 3 full meals a day and is set up buffet style. The meals reflected our Peruvian location and were all prepared by members of the local tribe. Everything was delicious and filling and believe me by the time you don your complimentary gumboots and trek back and forth to the boats a few times a day to travel upriver to the various activities, you will build up quite an appetite. Morning and afternoon tea is also offered. The bar - in the same space as the dining tables- carried all our fave spirits and was not expensive. We had 2 very enjoyable sessions discussing the details of the day, prior to dinner on each of our nights.
During our stay we observed, at length , a family of Giant Otters frolicking, fighting and feeding in the Oxbow Lake and a impressively long black Caiman who was forced out into the centre of the lake by the otter family. We fished for Piranha and caught them - you have a lot to answer for Hollywood. Yes, they have sharp teeth but they are not the flesh eating machines that the movies would have you believe. A trip to the tree tower to view the canopy rewarded us with sightings of Macaw and several other local bird species.
Our guide, Rodolfo , a member of the local tribe was both enlightening and entertaining. He even dined with us in the evenings.
Loved every minute of this jungle experience!

Room Tip: Any room here is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We visited Posada Amazonas in Oct 2012 (even though I indicated I went in Oct 2013 - the drop down doesn't allow me to select any month in 2012) after hiking the Inca Trail so this was a very welcome and relaxing stay. The atmosphere is really amazing - the symphony of sounds is something I noticed immediately. You hear the buzzing of insects, bird and monkey calls - it lulls you to sleep like a sound machine from The Sharper Image. But in stereo.

The lodge sets you up with a guide who takes you visit various sites and tells you about the plant and wildlife. You have your meals in the central lodge - the only place that has electricity. The food was decent - pretty good variety and fresh fruit during breakfast.

Your room doesn't have electricity so bring a headlamp/flashlight or use their candles after sunset. They also provide rain boots so you can hike without worrying about getting your shoes and pants muddy. Take a nap in their hammocks - it's really relaxing.

I posted a report of my trip with pictures - it includes our hike to Machu Picchu. Enjoy!
http://fanofblank.blogspot.com/2014/03/peru-machu-picchu-and-amazon-rainforest.html

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lindygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The best food on day trips on my whole South American Contiki tour. Beautiful rooms and lovely staff. Took a while to get used to the lack of walls but it was a peaceful time. The natural shampoo and conditioner was delightful. I want to buy bottles of it! Dinners werent appealing or varied.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank L_donnellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainforestExp, Public Relations Manager at Posada Amazonas, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
All our shampoos, conditioners, soaps, etc. are biodegradable in the lodge. It's great that you enjoyed it! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

First thing first. This is the Rainforest so don't expect sunny and tanning weather. Although we travelled in the rainy season, we had an incredible experience. The lodge is clean and beautiful and let you be part of the jungle. Food was excellent and with lots of tropical fruits available throughout the day, although you're kept busy all day long! Our guide, Jaime, took us on excursions throughout the day. We climbed up the 120 ft Canopy Platform to see and amazing view of the Amazon (lots of monkeys and bird, too), went to see the shaman to learn about different medicinal plants, went to Oxbow lake where you will see birds, monkeys and black caiman (no river otters when we went there), and many walks through the jungle, day and night to spot jungle wildlife. The wakeup calls from the jungle wildlife was beyond imagination! We highly recommend Posada Amazonas!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank GSNRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed for four days and our guide Enzo was great. The food was delicious. The open air rooms were comfortable although it would have been nice to have a larger bed and not 3 separate bed for my fiance and I. Too many fun and different experiences to list in this review.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trvlseekr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We loved it - monkeys, toucans, beautiful birds, and amazing noises combined with great food, comfortable rooms, and guides who were fun, knowledgeable, and keen to share the beauty of their land with us. Guided walks both day and night highlighted the amazing wildlife and flora, and the farm visits and boat trips all added to a brilliant experience which the kids say was the best part of our trip.

Room Tip: All the rooms are open to the forest, with mosquito nets and all amenities needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank LondonMarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambopata National Reserve
16.5 mi away
Sandoval Lake Lodge
Sandoval Lake Lodge
#3 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
133 reviews
9.0 mi away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#1 of 57 in Puerto Maldonado
818 reviews
31.1 mi away
Tambopata Research Center
Tambopata Research Center
#1 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
#2 of 2 in Tambopata National Reserve
179 reviews
3.1 mi away
Tres Chimbadas Lake Lodge
Tres Chimbadas Lake Lodge
#8 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
9 reviews
24.6 mi away
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
#3 of 57 in Puerto Maldonado
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Amazonas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Amazonas

Property: Posada Amazonas
Address: Private Reserve within the Native Community of Infierno, Tambopata National Reserve 084, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Tambopata National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Tambopata National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Amazonas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Amazonas is a 30 bedroom lodge owned by the Native Community of Infierno and managed with Rainforest Expeditions. Thanks to its accessibility, excellent wildlife observation opportunities, cultural context and comfortable accommodations, Posada Amazonas is ideal for a two night introduction to Tambopata's rain forests. It is located within the territory of the Infierno Community, built within the 2,000 hectare, private, communal reserve, which in turn is directly adjacent to the Tambopata National Reserve. Posada Amazonas was selected to be among the Best Eco Hotels in 2014 by Gogobot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Posada Amazonas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Amazonas Hotel Tambopata National Reserve
Posada Amazonas Peru/Tambopata National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing