We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Posada Amazonas
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Wasai Tambopata Lodge(Tambopata National Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Puerto Amazonico(Puerto Maldonado)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Fernando Plaza Hotel(Puerto Maldonado)
View Hotel
Hospedaje Chonta(Puerto Maldonado)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Centenario(Puerto Maldonado)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Cabana Quinta(Puerto Maldonado)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandoval Lake Lodge(Puerto Maldonado)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    La Torre Inn(Puerto Maldonado)
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    D"Milez Hotel(Puerto Maldonado)
    View Hotel
    Reviews (912)
    Filter reviews
    912 results
    Traveler rating
    696
    170
    29
    13
    4
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    696
    170
    29
    13
    4
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewslocal communitythe riveropen wallfood was greathowler monkeyspiranha fishingwonderful experienceno electricitypuerto maldonadomosquito netjungle experiencenight hikemedicinal plantsfew hoursclose to natureopen airgiant otters
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    824 - 829 of 912 reviews
    Reviewed April 20, 2008

    We stayed here for 3 nights then went on to the Inkaterra resort, you can see my review of that too.

    We had a major concern before we booked about the lack of privacy in the bathrooms, ie t´he soundproofing, however, it really wasnt a problems for us in the end as we had like minded neighbours and it was like we gave eachother space to do what needed to be done, ie there was plenty of opportunity to nip back to the rooms when they were emply. That said if you had horrible´noisey neighbours this would have been a bit more of a problem.

    The room itself is basic but comfortable beds, they seemd quite short´beds and my boyfriends feet hund over the end, the lighting is nearly non exsistant, even with the lamps lit, but that was kind of nice. We did have some sort of fluffy thing run past us in our room, possible a rat, so its not true that nothing ever gets in the rooms but consiidering teh lack of´one of the walls that was not so bad, it was more scared of us.

    The food was very tastey, not a huge coice but we liked all teh meals, it was buffet always.
    The bar was very reasonable and they did not take advantage of you having no where else to go. I think a large beer was only 6 soles.
    They we quick to ask some guests politley to be quiter in the bar.
    The most wildlife we saw was around the lodge itself, we saw 4 different types of monkey regularly and agutis, squirrels and thinks like that, we did not how ever see any parrots or macaws at teh clay lick there, i think the biggest macaw li´ck is at the other lodge, tambopata reasearch centre, i have been told alot that íf you go thereyou will see more big wildlife also, but the 9 hour boat trip put ús off. I think if i was to do it again I may spent a week bewteen different lodges to take in the Tambopata research centre and not do all teh boat ride in one go.

    The guides were much more relaxed and would join your for dinner and a drink which was nice, I do not think this is allowed at the inkaterra which is a shame.

    • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
      • Business service (e.g., internet access)
    Thank Pinkbeachball
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed March 2, 2008

    Having read the other reviews on tripadvisor I was slightly dubious about the lodge, luckily for no reason!

    My wife and I came here on a 4day/3night package in the middle of the rainy season, but by good luck had great weather for the whole trip (it only rained on the last day on our way to the airport). Due to it being the off season by good luck it meant we had a separate guide for the two of us for the whole time. This made the experience that much more special and also meant we could choose when and what we did during our stay, which meant we did more than the 'typical' 2 trips a day and didn't do trips we didn't think sounded like fun.

    Our room had 2 beds... one bigger than the other which was the matramonial. There was lots of room and a safe box (important as the room has no door, only a curtain). The bed was comfy, and the mosquito net was vital in the evenings! The room is open to the jungle at the window, and also had a nice hammock to enjoy the sights and sounds of the jungle. A little strange was that the lights were controlled by the staff - who turned them on at 4am-daylight, and 4pm-9pm. There was no way to turn them on and off yourself, so, if you can't sleep without light bring a good long lasting lamp, and if you can't sleep with the light you'll need a good eyemask. Our room also had a bat living in it, so we got the occasional piece of fruit dropped on our head, or in the middle of the night - not for everyone though we didn't mind being so close to nature!

    On the treks, which is why you'd come here after all, we saw giant river otters, a medicine garden, a treetop tower and then various treks through the jungle near the lodge. We also had a night hike which is strongly recommended as then you get to see many more creatures you wouldn't otherwise (snakes, spiders & frogs). We saw a lot of different creatures, perhaps the only unfortunate thing was that all the trails near the lodge really needed a guide to show you around, so you couldn't explore on your own. Thankfully the lodge also provided lots of wellies (rubber boots) for your treks so we didn't ruin our own shoes on the muddy trails (it was the wet season after all). We stayed just long enough, anything more than 3 nights you should go deeper into the jungle as there isn't enough in the vacinity to see more than we did. Oh - be prepared to wake up at 4am on the second day for your first trip to the otter lake!

    Food was very tasty and as there weren't many of us there was lots of it, though on our last day we got an idea of how it might be as about 30 new people arrived, there was less food and a much less 'fun' atmosphere in the evening as we ate. The times for food are fixed as well which might not suit everyone.

    Negatives: No hot water was a surprise, it wouldn't take too much to set up solar heating (then again a cold shower was pleasant after the humidity of the jungle) and at least make the shower warm. We also had an experience of one trek when there were ~15 people as we joined with another group (probably more like their normal group size for 2 guides), that wasn't anywhere as personal or fun as the others - hence why we think we got lucky with timings. I can see this place being quite crowded and a lot less fun when all the people are packed in like sardines.

    Overall: If you come here its good for a 2-3night stay getting closer to nature and for a first experience of the jungle. If you have more money to spend I'd recommend a more personal experience with smaller group sizes or trails you can do on your own further into the jungle (assuming our experience wasn't a typical one)

    • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank littev0ices
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 25, 2008

    I'll be completely honest: This is the jungle and not everyone is going to like it. There are bugs and weird noises and one wall is missing from the room so you are outside in a sense all night long. There is also only a high roof for the entire lodge so it's true you hear your neighbors (snoring, flushing the toilet, etc) and there are no doors only curtains. Also, there is no electricity or hot water. During the rainy season, it sometimes rains for hours on end and it can get very wet and muddy.

    That said, it wasn't as bad as I thought it would be. The staff are really great and they do an excellent job trying to make you comfortable. The lodge is apparently sprayed or coated with some time of insecticide so the mosquitoes are controlled somewhat. There are also nets on the beds to protect you at night. Although the showers are cold, it's actually kind of nice in the hot temperatures. There is a safe in the room and hangers which my husband and I used to hang our bags up so we didn't worry about things crawling in.

    The bar is nice and the food at the restaurant is absolutely delicious. It is buffet style but if you have a special diet, just let them know when you arrive at the lodge and they will accommodate it. They will tell you the meal times and be sure you arrive on time because the food isn't left out very long and once it's gone, it's gone.

    The tours start very early in the AM (4:00) so you can avoid the heat and see more animals. The guides speak perfect English and are very knowledgeable. If it is muddy, the lodge provides rubber boots and I would advise you to use them! Seeing parrots and monkeys in the wild is an awesome experience.

    I think it's a great place, but two days was enough for me. If the jungle makes you squeamish or nervous, just do a couple of days and don't try to stay a week and you should do fine.

    • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank TwoFriendsTravel
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 23, 2008

    We stayed at this lodge for three nights, four days. I knew it was not going to be a 5 star hotel but thought we would have hot water. That being said, I had more fun at the lodge than I did on the entire trip. We laughed over the cold water showers and no electricity and had a good time hiking through the jungle. The meals were very good and thank God for mosquito netting. Four of us shared a guide. His knowledge and helpfulness helped to make it a great time. Thank you Tilman, I really enjoyed it.

    • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
    1  Thank FRA56
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 21, 2008

    It has been a great experience to stay there. Didn't wanted to leave. The rooms are quite nice and clean, the food is good and the working staff are mostly friendly. Don't leave Peru whithout passing some days there - absolutely worth to stay for people who enjoy pure nature!!! Daniel, Germany

    • Stayed: December 2007
      • Value
    1  Thank Daniel_Duesentrieb
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews