We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of Posada Amazonas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Posada Amazonas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Food was fantastic. Staff were accommodating and friendly. The lodge was comfortable and clean. The guides were knowledgeable and passionate about their jobs. Visited the Clay Lick to see so many parrots, Oxbow Lake to see giant river otters fish, and visited the Shaman Honoratu. We witnessed the vast expanse of forest from the Tower as the sun was setting. I joked that we had been kidnapped and taken to a five star resort. Never expected our stay to be so wonderful. Wished we had finished up our tour at Posada Amazonas after Macchu Picchu. Recommend highly to visit here. It was wonderful.

Room Tip: All rooms are open air. You can lulled to sleep listening to all the sounds of the forest.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bluevelvet2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (874)
There are newer reviews for Posada Amazonas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

484 - 490 of 875 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

The hotel is beautfully build and decorated.
Rooms are big and confortables, with an open wall to the forest.
Rain Forest project is really interesting.
Lovely peruvian and amazonean food. Pesonel and guides are great and professional. I will always recomend Rain Forest.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NievesAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainforestExp, Public Relations Manager at Posada Amazonas, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with Rainforest Expeditions and we hope to see you again in one of our other lodges (Refugio Amazonas and Tambopata Research Center).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were only at Posada Amazonas for two nights, but felt that it was plenty of time to experience the Amazon. We had a chance to climb the 35 meter scaffolding tower, enjoyed an early morning boat trip to the Tres Chimbadas oxbow lake, watched for macaws by the clay lick and visited a Shaman. Unfortunately, the otters didn't put in an appearance while we were there, and the macaws stayed in the trees, not on the clay lick. The staff (most of whom come from the nearby village of Infierno) are friendly, helpful and informative. Our guide, Liz, is a real "sweet heart" and I appreciated her efforts to help me with my Spanish. The guides make a concerted effort to give everyone a thorough induction into life on the Amazon.

Be prepared to 'rough it' a little. There are hot showers, though most of the time we were there, we chose a cool shower as the weather was very hot and humid. There's no power in the rooms and you will be dressing and undressing in the dark. Leave your make-up at home, sit back and enjoy the Amazon experience. Remember that you can't take a large suitcase with you, so pack a smaller bag with the bare essentials (mosquito repellent, hiking boots, long pants, and long sleeve shirt).

When you are picked up at the airport, staff will load your suitcase on top of their bus to go to their office where you will be asked to repack the essentials you will need for your stay. It's a good idea to do this before you arrive so you don't have to repack in front of everyone. Watch where they put your suitcase. My husband's was dropped from the roof of the bus and broken (a great inconvenience since we were at the beginning of our holiday). However, they have promised to reimburse us for the damage.

Don't expect a luxury 5 star hotel. This is the Amazon, but if you arrive prepared for an adventure, this should be a pleasant experience for you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveladvisorNanaimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This place totally exceeded my expectations, as I imagined the Amazon to still be quite basic accommodation-wise, no matter where you go. However, I was very surprised by this lodge, as it was really clean, comfortable and the rooms were beautiful. I had one of the rooms with a door as I was alone, but my parents had a room with a curtain and that was fine for them. The place felt safe enough to do this and gave an authentic feel.

The tours that we went on with our guide Jorge were great. We got to see cayman, otters, parrots and many other birds and animals. He was really knowledgeable and great at animal-spotting. We also went on walks (and a night walk), to see parrots eating clay, on a 'catamaran', up to the watch tower and many more activities. Although, we had enough free time in the meantime to have showers, and hang out with a book in the hammocks, or have a siesta.

The only thing that I would say was that there was a lack of vegetarian food. They would always find something for me to eat but seeing as everything else here beat expectations, that was the only thing that let us down.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at Posada Amazonas for 2 days.
Our plane was delayed, so we were happy to have a small lunch that they gave us on the bus.
When we arrived at their office, we had the possibility to buy water, other drinks, hats, etc.
They also leave you a couple of minutes to pack what you need for the 2 days since you're not allowed to bring your big luggage with you (we already knew about it prior to our arrival so we had already packed our smaller bags and we did not have to open our big luggage in front of everyone).

Then we made a 45-min trip by bus to go take the boat. The road was dirty and bumpy, but it was part of the adventure :)

While on the boat, they gave us a rice lunch in a leaf, it was very good.

On the location: beds were comfortable, the shower was hot (sometimes too hot), they had water in front of the rooms that we could use and also a smaller pint in the room.
Be aware that you hear easily what happens in the other rooms, but that's part of the experience.

Our guide Jaime was excellent, he had very good knowledge of the fauna-flora, and had an excellent sense of humour.

The only "complaint" that I have and it is very minor, is that sometimes we had a lot of free time between activities, we would have appreciated to be a little bit more busy.

The food was also great, buffet-style, but you need to be there on time or else there won't be a lot of food left at the end.

We also appreciated having wi-fi during the evenings.

They also have rubber boots in case it rains.

We enjoyed very much our stay there and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shaida51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainforestExp, Public Relations Manager at Posada Amazonas, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your suggestions as they help us to improve our services. We already started to raise the quality and quantity of food as also required by other reviewers. In the future we will also offer more activities in the free time when required.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed 3 days 2 nights at the Posada Amazonas. Booked via Rainforest Expedition web site. Milagros was the most amazing agent, giving information and suggestions and responding to all questions in record time. Transportation from the airport to the lodge was great. We loved the boat tour on the river. Beautiful and safe. The lodge was amazing. Clean clean clean. The sheets were so white, the room was all organized for night sleep (nets down, candles...). Given there is one full wall open to the jungle to hear and feel the jungle, we had a visitor one night... We just keep everything in our bad the next night and had no visitor. The activities were well organized and Jorge, our guide, was very knowledgeable and so nice. If there is one thing to improve: the food. I would increase the diversity and quantity. This is an amazing place and amazing people and would recommend it highly.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Eliaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainforestExp, Public Relations Manager at Posada Amazonas, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thanks for your recommendation and suggestion about the food, we keep it in mind and keep improving the food diversity in our lodges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We are 3 Canadian women (seniors) on a mission to hike Machu Picchu first, and then spend 3 days on a jungle tour at Posada Amazonas, booked online through Rainforest Exditions. It was a first class choice! We were picked up at the airport and taken to their headquarters, where we shifted some of our luggage to accommodate the boat restrictions, and stored the rest with them. It all went without a hitch -- oh, and there was a sloth hanging off a tree providing photo ops while we got organized. Then off to the boat that took us up river to the lodge. It was exactly like the website photos, complete with mosquito nets over our beds, and one wall wide open to the jungle. The night sounds were amazing. Food was excellent, we were kept busy the whole time, loved having no electricity in the room, at night it's pitch black and extremely noisy out in the dark (eyes open didn't help).

Only one downside. Our guide Armando, in an attempt to be helpful and take some photos for us with one of our cameras at an early morning claylick visit, managed to delete all prior photos from Lima, Cuzco and Machu Picchu. Very disappointing once we got home to realize they were not retrievable. His intentions were good, but unfortunately, the lesson here is that he shouldn't take liberties with other people's property.

Still, our stay was totally memorable and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend this lodge to anyone looking for a unique jungle experience. And as an add on, I had a reflexology treatment at the 'spa' and it was wonderful. After traipsing through paths and up and down stairs all day, what a treat. Do it!

Room Tip: I believe a few rooms had doors, but ours was a curtain, as was the bathroom "door". It w...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VKAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambopata National Reserve
16.5 mi away
Sandoval Lake Lodge
Sandoval Lake Lodge
#3 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
235 reviews
9.0 mi away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#2 of 61 in Puerto Maldonado
838 reviews
31.1 mi away
Tambopata Research Center
Tambopata Research Center
#1 of 20 in Tambopata National Reserve
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
#2 of 2 in Tambopata National Reserve
188 reviews
3.1 mi away
Tres Chimbadas Lake Lodge
Tres Chimbadas Lake Lodge
#7 of 20 in Tambopata National Reserve
9 reviews
20.0 mi away
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
#1 of 61 in Puerto Maldonado
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Amazonas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Amazonas

Address: Private Reserve within the Native Community of Infierno, Tambopata National Reserve 084, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Tambopata National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Tambopata National Reserve
Price Range: $443 - $634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Amazonas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Amazonas is a 30 bedroom lodge owned by the Native Community of Infierno and managed with Rainforest Expeditions. Thanks to its accessibility, excellent wildlife observation opportunities, cultural context and comfortable accommodations, Posada Amazonas is ideal for a two night introduction to Tambopata's rain forests. It is located within the territory of the Infierno Community, built within the 2,000 hectare, private, communal reserve, which in turn is directly adjacent to the Tambopata National Reserve. Posada Amazonas was selected to be among the Best Eco Hotels in 2014 by Gogobot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Posada Amazonas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Amazonas Hotel Tambopata National Reserve
Posada Amazonas Peru/Tambopata National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing