We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience at Posada Amazonas!”
Review of Posada Amazonas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Posada Amazonas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience at Posada Amazonas!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We spent the first part of our trip to Peru in Posada Amazonas. We did the 3D/2N program, although I wish we had had time to do another night. We loved being there. We did similar activities to other reviewers and I think Posada Amazonas runs a great program. Our guide was Jorge. Although he is new, he did a fabulous job. I liked his quiet demeanor and he was constantly on the lookout for more wildlife to point out to us. For instance, he would use the binoculars to search for birds while we were on the boat to/from the lodge, when other guides were taking a moment to relax and chat. I agree with what others have said about the rooms also: they are comfortable (bed/hammock) and hot water is decent (although hard to control sometimes), but be aware there is not much privacy. It didn't bother us much, but some others in our group were disturbed by it. The food was great, there was plenty of variety at each meal so everyone could find something s/he liked. Another positive note was the water jugs that are available all over the property with clean water....having that is a must and also appreciated. Overall, an awesome time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank easternshoregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    163
    28
    12
    4
See reviews for
172
314
72
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Lovely, community-owned lodge -- very kind staff, immaculate and tranquil room, beautiful setting. Our excellent guide Daniel was both fun to hang out with and very well informed. Viewed monkeys, parrots, giant river otters! Highly recommended, a fantastic overall experience that puts profits back in the hands of the native Ese'Eja community. We couldn't have asked for more from our first trip to the Amazon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j176bk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

stayed two nights from17/07. got the complete package from a bumpy (and dusty!) 20km bus ride to river port and then fast boat up river to lodges. Our guide (Armando) was brilliant and had a wicked sense of `western` humour, but also serious when he needed to be for risks. He had a passion for the project and was very knowledgeable about the forest and the animals. Ours was a small family group of four (including two teenage girls) plus one American guy who was fun to be with which helped with the overall experience. Lodges were fine - not overly private but you are in the wilds with a generator for power and the jungle over the open wall!! Drinking water available, warm showers and toilets OK, even in `dry` season your clothes get damp!! Food was good and enough of it - if you expect fancy food and living quarters this trip is not for you, but if you want an adventure and a living experience and have an open mind then go for it!! Life is for living!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank js69_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I had very high expectations from Posada, having read the rave reviews here on TripAdvisor. The lodge still managed to far exceed my expectations. Our guide Silverado picked us up from the airport. He spend the next 3 days with us and had all his meals with us. He is from the local Infierno community and grew up in the nearby village. He knew the local forest and the plants and animals like the back of his hand. His passion for the rainforest was incredible. The lodge rooms were great. The missing 4th wall in the rooms made us feel a part of the wilderness around. There were plenty of excursions to keep us busy during the day. The spacious common areas and the large bar were a great area to relax and hang out at the end of the day.
To summarize, a great taste of the amazon. I would recommend Posada to all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enthuchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our young guide Ines picked us up from the airport and stayed with us throughout our 4-day stay at the lodge. My room had a lovely comfy bed with mosquito net, a hammock, hot water in the smart en-suite and one wall open to the elements! Food served was delicious and plenty and the bar served up ice-cold beers and pisco sour. Ines was very enthusiastic about the animals, plants and the jungle environment which she passed on to our group of 7. All our excursions were well planned in advance, though some had to be changed at the last minute due to weather. We saw most of the animals we had hoped to see, without going out to search for them too much. An unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeynabozbek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The labor of conservation and raising awareness that the community of Infierno are carrying out is excellent. The place is as comfortable and even "chic" that one would think one was in a 5 star novelty hotel. The rooms are excellent and allow people to have direct contact with nature, which sometimes means a night time visit by a possum (i love nature so it is a welcome experience). It is worth mentioning that the place was always impeccably clean and the food was PERFECT. All of the staff were very friendly. Our guide, Robin, was passionate about his work in the community and you could see it in his knowledge of the wildlife that surrounded us and his eagerness speak of it, he was also pretty handy taking pictures, turning my point and shoot camera and his binoculars into memorable pictures.
.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esteban G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I didn't really know what to expect from this experience & it turned out to be wonderful. Our guide, Silvio met us at the airport. We didn't know that he would be with us for the entire trip & we were glad he was. He ate every meal with us. His passion for the rainforest & job was incredible. Every excursion we went on was interesting & well worth it, except for the clay lick because the birds never showed, but you just don't know when or if they will come. The visit to the Shaman's medicinal garden was interesting as was the visit to a local farm across the river. The best though was the canopy tower at sunrise waiting for the jungle to come to life. The bird & monkey noises were awesome & our guide was brilliant in his knowledge.
The rooms are basic, but comfortable. Surprisingly, bugs were not a problem & there was plenty of hot water. The food was adequate & abundant. The 3 night package was perfect to see almost everything.

Room Tip: We chose the superior room. It's a bit further down the walkway, so fewer people walking by. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambopata National Reserve
16.5 mi away
Sandoval Lake Lodge
Sandoval Lake Lodge
#3 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
132 reviews
9.0 mi away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#1 of 57 in Puerto Maldonado
807 reviews
31.1 mi away
Tambopata Research Center
Tambopata Research Center
#1 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
#3 of 57 in Puerto Maldonado
748 reviews
24.4 mi away
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
#2 of 2 in Tambopata National Reserve
176 reviews
3.1 mi away
Tres Chimbadas Lake Lodge
Tres Chimbadas Lake Lodge
#6 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Amazonas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Amazonas

Property: Posada Amazonas
Address: Private Reserve within the Native Community of Infierno, Tambopata National Reserve 084, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Tambopata National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Tambopata National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Amazonas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Amazonas is a 30 bedroom lodge owned by the Native Community of Infierno and managed with Rainforest Expeditions. Thanks to its accessibility, excellent wildlife observation opportunities, cultural context and comfortable accommodations, Posada Amazonas is ideal for a two night introduction to Tambopata's rain forests. It is located within the territory of the Infierno Community, built within the 2,000 hectare, private, communal reserve, which in turn is directly adjacent to the Tambopata National Reserve. Posada Amazonas was selected to be among the Best Eco Hotels in 2014 by Gogobot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Posada Amazonas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Amazonas Hotel Tambopata National Reserve
Posada Amazonas Peru/Tambopata National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing