We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely lovely people and an interesting stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Posada Amazonas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Posada Amazonas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
hereford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Extremely lovely people and an interesting stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week while we waited for a boat to get back up to tambopata research centre where we were volunteering. We didn't have a guide as we weren't tourists but were invited along to do the activities. We were invited to a party after our first night there and although a lot of the staff didn't speak great English (or any English) we had never felt so welcome in our lives. My wife had here birthday while we were there and they went to extra special lengths to make a cake for her. I read some reviews here people complaining about gettig up early to do things. This is because first light that's when the animals are most active. After about 10-11 most the animals have a siesta until the main heat of the day has settled, around 3. We stayed at various places along the river and each was quite different. We didn't see as much wildlife here as we did in the research centre (7 hours further up river) but what we did see was mostly different and you could get fairly close to a lot of them.
When we were able to get a boat again we almost didn't want to leave. A fantastic place and you won't be disappointed if you come here

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DKrautmann, Guest Relations Manager at Posada Amazonas, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hello Adam,

Thanks so much for writing. We are so glad to hear you had a good time during your visit and we enjoyed having you join us for our party. Hope to see you again someday!

Sincerely,
Danielle and the staff at Posada Amazonas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    157
    26
    12
    4
See reviews for
166
304
70
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the lodge and it was wonderful. With only 3 walls to your bedroom, you really go back to nature. The beds however are 5* and you do have a hot shower/toilet! :)

The food is great, as our the tours.... just don't forget your torch, bug spray and some money for a couple of Pisco Sours.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Loved the staff, William and his brother Robin were so helpful. They were knowledgable about rain forest , culture, and anything else we asked about! It was rustic but staying in comfort all at once. We had private rooms, but be aware your neighbors hear all, from showering to talking.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenalyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had a fantastic time here as part of our Intrepid tour. Definitely a highlight of our trip. The staff were wonderfully attentive and informative and the accommodation exceptional. We would strongly recommend a stop over here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southamerica1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pokolbin, Australia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Every aspect of this lodge only gets top ratings. All excursions were fun, interesting and informative. Loved our guide, Silverio, who was with us at all meals and all excursions. Didn't even mind the 4:00 am wake up call to do dawn sightseeing of animals and birds. A really good experience at Posada Amazonas.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Similar programs are offered throughout Tambopata, but Posada Amazonas gets it right in every aspect. Accommodation is comfortable, but still keeps to that jungle feel. Tours are not too strenuous and yet to get to see a lot of biodiversity. Guides are knowledgeable and friendly. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serbio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were pleased with the resort and found the staff to be very pleasant and hard-working. There has obviously been a great deal of effort to create an environment that fits in well with its surroundings and to see to it that guests feel very welcomed and at home.

We are vegetarians and Cynthia and her staff made some efforts to make us appropriate meals (in most instances they substituted the meat/poultry that was in the main menu with marinated soy meat) that were nicely presented. I also had a very nice and reasonably priced massage at the resort, which was great after just completing the 26 mile hike to Machu Picchu.

Our stay was for three nights and four days, and if I was to do it over again, I would plan for two nights and three days. This is because the third day seems to be mostly low level 'filler' activities and one departs early on the fourth day. Although they have some interesting activities planned, there are significant time lapses between activities and I suspect that it's partially planned that way in order to stretch activities out for the allotted time.

The canopy tower, our first activity, was certainly interesting and the view is breathtaking. We were there around sundown, which made for beautiful skies and a pleasant temperature.

Our biggest issue was our extreme disappointment in our guide, Willian (his spelling). The staff at this resort appears to be very young - early twenties - who reside in dormitories. Our guide was certainly lazy and we found him to be very immature (e.g., swinging on a vine attached to a large arboreal termite's nest directly above guests' heads, a.k.a. Tarzan style), irresponsible (late for almost all activities), and he appeared to be thoroughly bored with his job. He seemed to have a rudimentary knowledge of the flora and fauna in the area; we found that we couldn't probe too deeply for information. Willian did eat at our table for most meals, but it was clear that his interest was the food as he did not attempt to engage in conversation with the people in our group. When we tried to get a conversation going with him, he usually gave us one word answers.

I would not judge this resort on one guide, however. We did speak to many other groups who had a very positive experience with their own guides, and so we believe that the problem may be just with just this one guide, and it may mean that he just needs much more training. As a aside, our guide on the Inca Trail, Fredy, (Wayki Treks) was excellent in every respect.

I would give a mixed review regarding the other activities during our stay. Most activities began early in the morning, and then the group returned to the resort around 10:00 or 11:00. We ate lunch at 1:00 and then there was nothing further planned until 3:30 or 4:00 in the afternoon. The macaw clay lick was good and we saw some really beautiful birds there; we only stayed at the parakeet clay lick for ten minutes (our guide's decision, not ours) and so we didn't see any.

On the second day we were awakened at 4:00 a.m. to go to a nearby lake where we fished for five inch piranha and hoped to see giant river otter (none spotted). We never did discover why we had to get up at that hour to do those two activities (the otters are diurnal and I'm sure that the fish would still have been biting at 8:00 or 9:00; however, it possibly had to do with needing our boat back by 10:00 in order to go pick up more customers! Be aware that there are groups that do this activity just about every day and the walls of your bedroom are merely bamboo poles - even if you are not going on this activity, you will most likely be awakened at 4:00 and will hear people getting ready to go.

On the last day of our stay we walked out into the jungle about 30 minutes through a great deal of mud (Wellies were supplied) to see a giant Kapok tree (we noticed that there were other paths that we could take that would have been drier, but figured that this was part of the 'jungle' experience. Late in the afternoon we went to a 'working' farm - it turned out to be a farm that is owned by an extremely poor local family. My husband and I are not strangers to traveling in the Third World, and we have stayed at a rainforest resort in Tortuguero, Costa Rica, which was great. We also visited professional working farms in Costa Rica that were most interesting; the farm that we visited near Posada Amazonas was very disappointing and depressing. Our guide did identify many of the fruit trees that the farmer was growing and offered us sample pieces of fruit - he cut the fruit with his unwashed knife and offered it with his unwashed hands. Having just recovered from food poisoning, in Aguas Caliente, I declined. At the end of the 'tour' we met the family and were encouraged to give them money. Needless to say, it was not the high note that I had hoped to end my trip on!

Room Tip: Try to get a room at an end where you will only have one neighbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Becky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DKrautmann, Owner at Posada Amazonas, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Im always sad (and frustrated) when something we do ruins the extraordinary experience of the Amazon. There is really nothing much I can say about your comments on William. When a properly trained guide who has performed in the past is not up to standard it usually means he is either affected by something personal or professional, or needs a vacation, or he is burnt out. Each case has a particular solution. We will look into Williams case with the Infierno community's board of directors and try to identify what that is. I apologize for the inconveniences we have caused you during your Amazonian vacations. Best regards,

Kurt Holle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambopata National Reserve
16.5 mi away
Sandoval Lake Lodge
Sandoval Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
9.0 mi away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#1 of 55 in Puerto Maldonado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
24.6 mi away
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
#2 of 55 in Puerto Maldonado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.1 mi away
Tambopata Research Center
Tambopata Research Center
#1 of 22 in Tambopata National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
14.3 mi away
Chuncho Lodge
Chuncho Lodge
#4 of 22 in Tambopata National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
24.4 mi away
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tambopata National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Amazonas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Amazonas

Property: Posada Amazonas
Address: Private Reserve within the Native Community of Infierno, Tambopata National Reserve 084, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Tambopata National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Tambopata National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Amazonas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Amazonas is a 30 bedroom lodge owned by the Native Community of Infierno and managed with Rainforest Expeditions. Thanks to its accessibility, excellent wildlife observation opportunities, cultural context and comfortable accommodations, Posada Amazonas is ideal for a two night introduction to Tambopata's rain forests. It is located within the territory of the Infierno Community, built within the 2,000 hectare, private, communal reserve, which in turn is directly adjacent to the Tambopata National Reserve. Posada Amazonas was selected to be among the Best Eco Hotels in 2014 by Gogobot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Posada Amazonas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Amazonas Hotel Tambopata National Reserve
Posada Amazonas Peru/Tambopata National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing