We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Posada Amazonas
Nearby Hotels
Wasai Tambopata Lodge(Tambopata National Reserve)
$588
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hotel Puerto Amazonico(Puerto Maldonado)
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cabana Quinta(Puerto Maldonado)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Centenario(Puerto Maldonado)
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
La Torre Inn(Puerto Maldonado)
$75
$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ecoamazonia Lodge(Tambopata National Reserve)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sandoval Lake Lodge(Puerto Maldonado)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Reviews (925)
    Filter reviews
    925 results
    Traveler rating
    709
    170
    29
    13
    4
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    709
    170
    29
    13
    4
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewslocal communitythe riveropen wallfood was greathowler monkeyspiranha fishingwonderful experienceno electricitypuerto maldonadomosquito netjungle experiencenight hikemedicinal plantsfew hoursclose to natureopen airgiant otters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    601 - 606 of 925 reviews
    Reviewed April 1, 2013

    Everything about Posadas Amazonas was amazing! Wonderful guides and staff, and beautiful landscape. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the food was local and very tasty. We were even able to see the endangered river otters on Oxbow Lake and fish for piranhas-[. I would definitely stay here again!

    • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Brie B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed March 30, 2013

    You need to know (before you get there) that you are going to be staying in what is, essentially, an open-air hotel with a roof. One wall of your room doesn't exist - it is open to the jungle, the insects, the noises, etc. You also need to know that the electricity is made on the premises (it's the only way) and is limited in scope and duration - there is no electricity in your room and the electricity in the common areas is for 1 hour at lunchtime and a few hours in the evening, until 9pm. You also need to know that the lodge is a 10 to 15 minute walk from the river (the only arrival point) up quite a few stairs and along a path that can get seriously wet and muddy.
    So you need lots of insect repellent, a decent torch with good batteries, sensible footwear.
    The lodge provides you with meals (not great meals - but adequate), 'purified' water - don't know what 'purified' means but we drank lots of it and didn't get sick - I see one comment about it not being cooled, get real - in these temperatures you would drink it hot, and love it. They provide you with a room (with a wall missing) with comfortable beds and mosquito nets (so you don't have to worry about getting bitten while you sleep) and a bathroom with a flushing toilet, washbasin and shower - we never got any hot water out of ours, but it didn't matter! Lighting is provided by oil lamps which the staff come round and light in the evening then come round late at night to turn most of them off. They also come round gruesomely early in the morning to get you up for the dawn activities. But if they hadn't woken you the howler monkeys soon would. And in the room there will be bugs - I found a colony of cockroaches in my wash bag, kind of gruesome but I learnt the lesson about keeping it zipped up tight!
    And they provide you with a guide/naturalist who takes you out on walks and boat rides and helps you see animals - because he knows where to look; and this is why you're here, right! Because you wouldn't do it otherwise. Our guide was a young man called Willian (he insisted it wasn't William) who seemed a bit supercilious on first encounter (actually on most encounters) but who proved to be a bottomless pit of knowledge about the jungle and knew where to find the tarantulas and the Brazil nut trees and everything else. Also an adept photographers, using my wife's little sony compact he shot a video of the Macaws at the clay lick through his binoculars which is just brilliant.
    So compared with your average 4 star city centre hotel it has quite a lot of drawbacks - but it isn't one of those, it's a lodge in the jungle that can only be reached by boat and which pays back a substantial proportion of the profits to the local community, as well as providing them with jobs. And that's all brilliant.
    The food could be better. They could make better use of solar power. But they couldn't stop the rain - we walked out in a downpour! Great place.

    • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank RedHeadPeter
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    DKrautmann, Guest Relations Manager at Posada Amazonas, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

    Dear RedHeadPeter,

    Thank you for your description of our lodges. We do our best to provide guests with a top quality experience while preserving the natural resources of the Amazon rainforest. Our lodges are operated with limited electricity which is powered by a generator.

    Thank you for helping to prepare future guests for what to bring and what to expect. A more detailed list of what to bring can be found on our website under "frequently asked questions".

    We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy the food. We provide self-serve three course meals at Refugio Amazonas. Meals consist of soup or appetizers, salad, main course, and desserts combining Peruvian and international cuisine. All fresh fruits and salads are thoroughly disinfected before serving. We also provide at all times unlimited amounts of boiled, filtered, cooled drinking water, coffee or tea and we provide fruit juices during the meals. If any visitor has special dietary requirements, we are happy to make individual arrangements, but please notify us.

    Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and hope to see you again some day.
    Safe Travels!
    From the staff at Posada Amazonas

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed March 30, 2013

    Excellent staff, mostly very good food (especially the boxed lunch), really informed guides, brilliant activities, fairly luxurious rooms and even a first-rate bar - more than I expected!

    You have to be patient to see the animals and there are more at Tambopata Research Centre, so that's a worthwhile add-on for this destination.

    • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank trophywifeToronto
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    DKrautmann, Guest Relations Manager at Posada Amazonas, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

    Hi trophywifeToronto,

    Thanks for writing this review. We're really glad you enjoyed your time at Posada Amazonas and took the time to let us know!

    Safe travels,

    The staff at Posada Amazonas

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed March 29, 2013

    This lodge was very good for experiencing the jungle. The rooms are all open to the outdoors so you are always experiencing the noises of the jungle. The hikes were all interesting and the guides knowledgeable. My favorite was the 140 foot tower where you are above the canopy watching the birds flying around. My only criticism was that you were always on the go, not alot of downtime to just relax and enjoy the ambiance.

    • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank suzycruzsc
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed March 29, 2013

    A very realistic jungle experience miles upstream from the nearest town. Posada Amazonas is a self-contained lodge, in a isolated setting, with very helpful and caring staff. The naturalist guides are know and understand the flora and fauna, and engaged us in learning / understand much about the history, environment, wildlife and ecology. A wonderful experience and a highlight of our Peruvian tour.

    • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Amazonist
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    DKrautmann, Public Relations Manager at Posada Amazonas, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

    Hi Amazonist,

    Thank you for calling us the highlight of your trip to Peru. That's quite a compliment.
    Hope to see you again some day.

    Safe travels and thanks again,
    The staff and guides at Rainforest Expedtions

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews