We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“December Honeymoon”
Review of Posada Amazonas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Posada Amazonas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 16, 2013

With both of us being beyond sixty, and the fact that we were with you from Dec. 17-20, it seems appropriate to mention that a honeymoon was the purpose of our visit.
What an adventure it was, and we came away with a lifetime of memories. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and so completely different from anything we had experienced before. From the moment we arrived at the lodge, and were greeted with cold towels and fresh pineapple juice, the stay was extraordinary. Not having television, phones, and all the other "noise" provided a chance to de-stress; lamp light and candles added the perfect touch at night. The daily adventures offered physical challenge as well as learning.
The staff was friendly, helpful, and ready to answer questions about everything.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (900)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

595 - 601 of 900 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

What an amazing place. We are getting a bit old for this but we wouldn't have missed it for quids. Look there are some downs but in general this is a don't miss experience. The rooms are open and basic, the food is just average but filling enough. Adventure tourism is what it is, comfort is not a premium but adequate. The bats in the belfry did poop in the bat girls drinks on New Year's Eve but you are in the jungle and bats in the rooms well they just are. The tour guide didn't front for a tour on New Year's Day but we got there with another hungover guide anyway so it worked. We had some amazing adventures and met some sensational people all thanks to this amazing place. We probably will never be back not because we didn't like it but because we are still exhausted.As a final comment perhaps more needs to be done on ensuring a safer place for guests. The wooden staircases at tour destinations and up to the lodge are not well maintained. We saw too many people fall on these to leave it unsaid.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Allan.G49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in December 2012. This was our first ever experience of the rain forest; everything was new, exciting and different. The lodge itself was beautiful and in harmony with with it`s environment. The staff were wonderfully friendly, helpful and very efficient. The meals, like the environment, were different and interesting, with beautiful local produce. A very special thank you to our guide Lois; his passion for the rain forest was obvious and a delight. The organised trips were all fun as well as being educational. Rooms were an open window into the forest; on our last morning there I watched spider monkeys from the shower! Hot and humid, we experienced sunshine and torrential rain, exactly as it should be!
I have no criticism at all, this was a lovely location, sympathetically built to blend with the wonderful environment.

Room Tip: They`re all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitch F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

What made this place extra extra special were the tour guides and the staff! Gilbert was our guide for the duration of our stay. He was so funny and friendly but most importantly extremely knowledgeable about the amazon and its (his) native community. He was so patient and caring about the way he taught us about ALL the different forna and flora. The pousada was beautiful, clean and so much more then we could have ever wanted out of our experience in the Amazon. The activities organised for us were exciting, unique, unexpected and fun!! Out of our entire trip around South America, the journey to Pousada Amazonas and the experiences we had were the most unforgettable. We hope to visit again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freesouls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The only thing I wasn't happy with at Posada Amazonas was that we only spent two nights there! The lodge was a perfect combination of rustic and comfort. I loved the open rooms -- waking up in the middle of the night to the sounds of the Amazon (and the occasional firefly flying past my bed, and the soft sound of wings flying past -- bats? owls?!?) is something I will remember for my entire life. And how else would I get great photos a a few dusky titi monkeys moving through the trees just outside our room? Our guide, Leny, was very knowledgeable about the plants, birds, amphibians, mammals, insects -- everything, really -- and answered all of our questions (considering three of the four of us in our group are wildlife biologists, that's saying a lot!).

Several of the people in our group of eight (our guide was assigned us four and two other couples) missed a few of the excursions, and I would strongly recommend against missing anything! I wouldn't have missed any of the trips they took us on -- the oxbow lake was incredible (giant otters! hoatzin! anis! aracaris! piranha fishing!), the trip to the tower was great (although some of us were hesitant at climbing that high!), the clay lick was awesome (two species of macaws!), the native plant/medicine tour was extremely informative, and best of all -- the night hike! Leny took us to see a female chicken tarantula in her burrow protecting her young (viewed from a safe distance, of course), and on the way back, we were buzzed by bats, tracked down a few calling tree frogs, and got to see a night monkey (apparently very rare) and a Brazilian porcupine foraging in the trees.

Obviously, the wildlife was my main interest and I was thrilled with what I saw. But beyond that, I found the lodge to be very warm, welcoming, and clean. The food was very good; and the staff was incredibly knowledgable, friendly, and helpful. The manager was very accommodating and quick to help when I (stupidly) locked my wallet in the safe without setting a combination...

We were in Peru for a little under two weeks, and looking back, I would have easily traded most of that time (excluding our hike on the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu) for more time at Posada Amazonas. This was a trip of a lifetime, and I'm having a hard time deciding whether to move on to a new place/country for my next big trip, or return here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shawn1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaniellelParker, Public Relations Manager at Posada Amazonas, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Shawn1222,
If the one thing you did not like was that you didn't stay longer, I guess we've met our goal of giving guests the best possible experience in the Amazon. Thank you for writing such a great description of your trip. We hope you return again some day!
The Staff at Posada Amazonas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

this is my first visit to the Amazon.
As we came from urban city,HongKong, what we expected is a totally different world.
Posada Amazona locates inside the basin, and their lodge is really beautiful and comfy. The accommodation is really nice, the bed is very clean and the shower is really good(even better than in Lima). The tour guide provides good knowledge on what we saw in the forest. Service is great too,everyone is very polite.

Room Tip: as rooms do not have windows/doors, there is not much difference in all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lam2panther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaniellelParker, Public Relations Manager at Posada Amazonas, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Iam2panther,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review and for traveling all the way from Hong Kong to visit! So glad you enjoyed your stay!

Danielle Krautmann and the staff at Posada Amazonas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We are a group of 6 that travel every other year. This year we ventured to the jungle! Gilbert our guide was so compassionate and informative. Refreshing to have such a guide that's wants to share his passion for his jungle. He was available any time for a walk or anything else we needed. The lodge was a perfect setting for our jungle adventure, never felt we were at risk, and the food was great especially catering to our vegetarian friends! Bring plenty of bug spray, I came home bite free and wear lightweight comfy clothes, nothing too fancy. Don't forget your headlamps, they are necessary for a shower in the dark.

Room Tip: They are all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaniellelParker, Public Relations Manager at Posada Amazonas, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Maggie P,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us and others know how your stay was. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your guide. Most of the staff and guides at Posada Amazonas are from the native community of Infierno. The rainforest is their home and they know it very well.
We hope to see you again someday!

Sincerely,
Danielle Krautmann and the staff at Posada Amazonas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambopata National Reserve
31.1 mi away
Tambopata Research Center
Tambopata Research Center
#1 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
565 reviews
9 mi away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#2 of 70 in Puerto Maldonado
870 reviews
12 mi away
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
#2 of 2 in Tambopata National Reserve
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Chuncho Lodge
Chuncho Lodge
#3 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
90 reviews
15.3 mi away
Inotawa Lodge
Inotawa Lodge
#5 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
132 reviews
3.1 mi away
Tres Chimbadas Lake Lodge
Tres Chimbadas Lake Lodge
#6 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Amazonas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Amazonas

Address: Private Reserve within the Native Community of Infierno, Tambopata National Reserve 084, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Tambopata National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Tambopata National Reserve
Price Range: $424 - $582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Amazonas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Amazonas is a 30 bedroom lodge owned by the Native Community of Infierno and managed with Rainforest Expeditions. Thanks to its accessibility, excellent wildlife observation opportunities, cultural context and comfortable accommodations, Posada Amazonas is ideal for a two night introduction to Tambopata's rain forests. It is located within the territory of the Infierno Community, built within the 2,000 hectare, private, communal reserve, which in turn is directly adjacent to the Tambopata National Reserve. Posada Amazonas was selected to be among the Best Eco Hotels in 2014 by Gogobot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Posada Amazonas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Amazonas Hotel Tambopata National Reserve
Posada Amazonas Peru/Tambopata National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing