We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, an amazing Amazon adventure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tambopata Research Center
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 15, 2007

We booked a 6-day visit to TRC through their website. Definitely do the longer trip--because you get a single guide for your party , from arrival at the airport, to departure. If you go through an organized tour company, you'll be stuck in a group of 20 people, and see very little in the rainforest. Outside tour companies typically go for 3 days, which is not nearly enough if you want to see wildlife.

1. Our guide, Gilbert, was excellent!! His knowledge of the environment was unparalleled. He could spot tiny frogs, in the dark, in the mud, and track herds of pecaries by sound alone. His English was fluent, and he had a great sense of humour.

All the guides are good. The organization has a rigorous employment and training program.

2. The lodges (both Posada Amazonas and TRC) were well-designed, natural, situated in the jungle. The rooms were beautifully rustic, with one wall open to the jungle. Don't mind the little animals scurrying or flying through your room at night. There's nothing like waking up to an open view of the jungle and the roar of the Howler Monkeys.

The food here is amazing!! Every meal is something to look forward to.

3. The tours are so very well organized. There is no sitting around waiting for things to happen. But you are given lots of lattitude as to what you want to do. A variety of day hikes and night time hikes are available. We also watched a presentation on their research and conservation work. Many academics come here to study and research. And many of the guides are actually graduate students.

4. We saw an amazing amount of wildlife, including capybara, caiman, harpy eagle, piranha, 4 varieties of monkeys, pecary, agouti, among others. We wouldn't have seen half of these if we had been on the 3-day tour.

5. The macaw clay lick was phenomenal. There were literally thousands macaws and parrots each of the 2 times we visited. And although you're quite a distance away, it's still absolutely worthwhile. Make sure you have a long telephoto, and tripod for good pictures--though some pictures were taken successfully by putting our digital camera lens up to their large telescopes.

6. 2 of us did a 2-day, 1 night kayaking trip down the river. We had one guide for the 2 of us, and our gear was taken by power boat to a campsite on the bank of the river. The camp was set up and meals prepared for 2 support staff ahead of time for us. The kayaking difficulty was not hard, and we saw many animals up close as we floated by.

We would absolutely recommend this 6 -day tour booked directly through their website!!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank Travelling_Axe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (561)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 561 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2006

This lodge lies way down the Tambopata river, about 5.5 hours upstream. After arriving, anticipate a walk through a muddy trail to the lodge, about 10 minutes. The lodge is a thatched roof structure raised off the jungle floor by about 5 feet throughout. Being deep within the rain forest, I expected lots of flying bugs and heat, but I found niether (though I was warned to wear long sleeves and pants to avoid Leishmaniasis). The rooms were divided by 10 foot bamboo walls inside the main lodge, closed off by curtains, not doors. There were rudimentary safes in the rooms, a wooden box with a cheap lock on it. As promised, one wall in the room came up to my waist and was completely open otherwise to the jungle. There are common bath facilities which have only cold water. I anticipated the cold water to feel nice in the hot rainforest, but found it to be astoundingly cold even in the middle of the day. The small common area of the lodge featured 5 hammocks and some chairs. The dining area was nice and the food was simple but delicious and flavorful. A bar sells water, soda, and alcoholic drinks, but is not well staffed - its hard to find the bartender. The entire lodge is lit only by candle and kerosene lamps, which was beautiful. Drinkable water is provided, but be sure to bring a water bottle to fill. Like everyone else, I visited to see the clay lick, but it rained every morning, keeping the macaws at bay - what a disappointment! Overall, I enjoyed myself at TRC, but the lodge is showing its age and is quite small. I'm still going to return, as there's little alternative if you want to visit the clay licks. The lodge halfway between Puerto Maldonado and TRC is called Refugio Amazonas and is much better.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank globalized
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
wareham mass
16
Reviewed November 29, 2004

if you ever get a chance to go here it will be the greatest thing you will ever do !! i have been twice , i took my mother and my sister and i would go back again my guides both times were great (rebuen,hans) if you love wild life and photography it is paradise !!

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank get2peru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainforest E, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tambopata Research Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: De la parte nueva del hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank José A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainforest E, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tambopata Research Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Parcheggi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainforest E, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tambopata Research Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: todas la habitaciones son excelentes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malu3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainforest E, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tambopata Research Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambopata National Reserve
31.1 mi away
Posada Amazonas
Posada Amazonas
#2 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
895 reviews
22.4 mi away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#2 of 63 in Puerto Maldonado
869 reviews
21.7 mi away
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
#2 of 2 in Tambopata National Reserve
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.8 mi away
Inotawa Lodge
Inotawa Lodge
#5 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
132 reviews
29.7 mi away
Tres Chimbadas Lake Lodge
Tres Chimbadas Lake Lodge
#7 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
13 reviews
19.5 mi away
Chuncho Lodge
Chuncho Lodge
#3 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tambopata Research Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tambopata Research Center

Address: Collpa Colorado, Tambopata National Reserve 084, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Tambopata National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Tambopata National Reserve
Price Range: $418 - $768 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tambopata Research Center 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tambopata Research Center (TRC) is a spartan yet comfortable 18 bedroom lodge with 8 shared bathrooms. Because of its remote location in uninhabited wilderness, housing stable populations of endangered wildlife, the small scale of its infrastructure and operations and the presence of researchers and naturalist guides, Tambopata Research Center is an excellent headquarters for in depth explorations of Amazonian nature and wildlife. It is located in a half hectare clearing in the middle of the uninhabited portion of the Tambopata National Reserve, less than a kilometer from the world's largest and most diverse macaw claylick. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Tambopata Research Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tambopata Research Hotel Tambopata National Reserve
Tambopata Research Center Peru/Tambopata National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing