We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tambopata Research Center
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Wasai Tambopata Lodge(Tambopata National Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Puerto Amazonico(Puerto Maldonado)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Fernando Plaza Hotel(Puerto Maldonado)
View Hotel
Hospedaje Chonta(Puerto Maldonado)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Torre Inn(Puerto Maldonado)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandoval Lake Lodge(Puerto Maldonado)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    Hotel Centenario(Puerto Maldonado)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Hotel Cabana Quinta(Puerto Maldonado)
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    D"Milez Hotel(Puerto Maldonado)
    View Hotel
    Reviews (575)
    Filter reviews
    575 results
    Traveler rating
    489
    73
    6
    6
    1
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    489
    73
    6
    6
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsrefugio amazonasrainforest expeditionsclay lickthe riverpuerto maldonadowild pigsboat rideresident macawsspider monkeysremote locationgreat companyfood was greathead torchflora and faunajaguar tracksamazing guidedifferent types
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    392 - 397 of 575 reviews
    Reviewed June 3, 2013

    Expect the unexpected!
    We used Adventure Life to schedule our trip to the Tambopata Research Center as they easily scheduled our flights and the 2 extra days in Lima. Great job Erin and Sullivan!
    We chose the 5 day 6 night adventure with the first night at Refugio Amazonas and the remainder at TRC. I have to say our trip was fabulous due to our very knowledgeable guide. Sorry to you other travelers out there but our guide Cesar was the BEST!!! As nature enthusiasts we selected the Amazon for the tropical birds and Cesar did not disappoint us. We saw 105 different birds in the 5 day period along with the 7 different monkeys, reptiles and insects. Cesar would call to the birds sometimes using his own voice and other times using his I-Pod. One night he called a Screech owl for us and it came in to a tree just above our heads. If you want to take pictures make sure you bring at least a 400mm lens…I only had a 300 and so most shots were too far away.
    We expected to see the Macaws and other birds at the lick and did not expect to see a Jaguar. We did not know this was the low season for the licks so did not see Macaws at the lick and since the second arrival of guests saw a Jaguar on the riverbank coming in we did not expect to see a second Jaguar. But guess what at a beautiful overlook at TRC Cesar spotted a Jaguar casually crossing the low part of the river from the mainland onto the island. It was a huge beautiful animal…since the sighting happened in a matter of seconds we didn’t get a chance to take photos but it is something we will never forget. And as if that wasn’t enough on a night walk Cesar spotted an Ocelot… it happened so fast but we did get to see its eyes glowing among the jungle flora. So how could we be disappointed???
    After reading other reviews we did not expect luxurious accommodations. The rooms were simple with comfortable beds and open to nature. We loved it! We got a kick out of the three Macaws who came to visit us.
    We thought the food was delicious and the presentation lovely. Given the fact we are miles into the jungle we did not expect gourmet food and elaborate presentations. There was always plenty to eat.
    If you are nature enthusiasts you must have this experience it is simply amazing! The other nice thing is you meet some wonderful people who have the same interests.

    Room Tip: Rooms 10 through 16 are more quiet as they are away from the common areas plus they are closer to the bathrooms.
    • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Chrisandra B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed May 29, 2013

    We spent 4 nights on the Tambopata River, the first at Refugio Amazonias and then 5 hours further upstream at TRC. We had a wonderful time roaming around the jungle in gum boots provided by TRC with our wonderful guide Delford who delighted in finding all manner of wildlife for us to see from small insects to frogs, monkeys, birds to plant life. Although May is the low season for the appearance of parrots at the clay lick we still saw plenty of bird life action around the jungle. Capybara families, caymans, turtles and native pigs all made an appearance. Comfortable rooms, great food, macaws visiting for a breakfast raid (that is not encouraged by the researchers) and lounging around in hammocks. It was with great reluctance that we returned to civilization again. A must do for all nature lovers.

    Room Tip: They are all good. Watch out for macaws who like to raid food supplies.
    • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Nan90
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    DKrautmann, Public Relations Manager at Tambopata Research Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

    Hi Nan!

    Thanks for traveling all the way from Australia to visit TRC! What a journey. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and will make sure to pass your feedback on to your guide Delford.

    Thanks again and hope you come back someday!
    Saludos,
    Danielle and the staff at TRC

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed May 26, 2013

    It may be highly rated, but our three nights there were very disappointing. The food was tasteless, poorly presented and boring. Breakfasts were only marginally better. The cook (was there one?) definitely needs to go back to school. Bar service was poor (no Pisco Sour because of lack of ice). Lodge ran out of gas so cold showers only. Forget the clay-licks in May, although you will be taken out there before sun-rise just in case a parrot has his/her calendar mixed up. There is nothing around at that time of the year I think. All in all the place looked terribly understaffed and poorly managed. On the bright side the guides are very good and worth a special recommendation. The lodge also offers a good selection of bad-weather gear.

    Room Tip: All rooms are similar and open to the "jungle". Chico raids common. Nightly 4 legged visitors not uncommon. Mosquito nets provided and effective. Same for candles (no electricity)
    • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank yantoniev
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed May 23, 2013

    TRC is located another 5 hours upstream from Refugio Amazonas (another Rainforest Expeditions lodge). I highly recommend a stay at TRC if you are making a trip to the Amazon. Actually, I URGE you to go! To my knowledge, it is the only lodge located past the second control point. This is important, because there are no economical land activities allowed past this point, and no inhabitants other than wildlife. That means no farming, no mining... nothing to distrub the wild! All wildlife is at full capacity.

    It is WILD (pun intended) to see all sorts of animals cohabitating together. You will see frogs one second, monkeys the next second, a herd of wild pigs next, macaws flying overhead... I saw some toucans, woodpeckers, leaf cutter ants... And wait for it - a JAGUAR!!! Yes, my group was lucky enough to see a jaguar on the river bank during our boat ride up to TRC.

    The lodge itself is fantastic. Limited electricity (available only during certain hours), no personal bathrooms (but I did not ever have to wait), delicious meals, boiled/sanitized water tanks at several locations to refill your bottles, recycling bins, a nice bar (try the pisco sours or Cusquena beer!), and friendly staff! You can even schedule a massage.

    The lodge is beautiful. Being somewhat of a hardwood floor freak, I fell in love with the architecture. Nice polished floors - you feel at home just running around in your socks. Need some down time? Take a nice little siesta on one of the 5 hammocks hanging in the main area. It's never noisy there.

    I hope you get the opportunity to stay at the TRC, because I know you will enjoy it as much as I did.

    • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Yohsephina
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed May 13, 2013

    Very knowledgeable, helpful and friendly staff. Relaxed and exciting living close to nature. Very good food.
    We saw different types of rainforest, birds (69 species), animals and insects, we also experienced heavy rain in the rainforest. The entire stay at TRC was amazing, it was an experience we will not forget.

    • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Willy K
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews