We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tambopata Research Center
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

What a beautiful and relaxing place. We were on a 5 day 4 night tour so we stayed here for 2 of the nights and the other 2 were at posada amazonas and refugio amazonas It had the most wildlife that we saw on our trip. The rooms were really nice, and the shared bathrooms were clean and had hot showers. Food was excellent and plentiful. One our highlights from our time in Peru!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KingstonTraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 559 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

8 hours into the amazon.
surrounded by rainforest.
animals noises filling the air.
EXCELLENT tour guides.
Fantastic lodge/accom.
I'd go back in a hearbet :)
ive always wanted to go to the amazon~ ever since i was about 10 years old. coming here, filled my wildest dreams. we even saw a jaguar on the riverbank on our very first day :) IT WAS BREATHTAKING! and aweinspiring. i LOVED EVERY MINUTE OF IT!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank copesv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed at TRC for two nights are part of a 5 day trip to Tambopata (the other 2 nights were at Refugio).

I have to say I wasn't sure what to expect before I embarked on this trip, but I was blown away by the experience. I'm not a 5-star hotel princess, but I'm also not a fan of roughing it. TRC was neither of those environments, and I was pleasantly surprised by the overall accomodations.

The rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, and you can't beat waking up to the sounds of the forest in the morning. After early morning macaw viewing or rainforest hikes, and lots of daily exercise, everyone was in bed and quiet early at night. A nightly visit to the toilet can be an experience after dark though...don't look too closely at the moving objects if you don't want to see rats and strange jungle insects!

Food was plentiful and very good, although limited selection, but what can you expect when everything has to be delivered upriver 8 hrs to the middle of nowhere? Breakfast entertainment was provided by a couple of local macaws (Chicos) who tried to raid the pancakes!!

The whole rainforest experience was amazing - at times it felt like being dropped off on another planet. Strange and beautiful plants, birds and insects are everywhere, and your guide really makes the experience that much better, identifying the wildlife, as well as providing scientific and cultural information. Our guide Johan was excellent at spotting birds in the canopy above, always managing somehow to get us a better view (and photo possibilities!).

Even the river trip to TRC was an adventure. We saw all kinds of birds, lots of capybara (big rodents) by the river bank, and a rare sight of two jaguars mating on the river bank. We didn't know the guides had cameras till that point in the trip!!

TRC is well worth the extra travel time up river, but make sure you know what to expect before you go. There are no windows in the rooms, and you WILL see insects and other things in the lodge, but if you plan for it, enjoy the experience and you will be amazed.

Highlights:
Our Guide - having the same person to "take care of you" for your entire visit really adds to the trip. Some of our best memories of the trip were sharing stories with our guide, Johan.

Wildlife - Tarantulas, macaws, peccaries, weird insects, and yes, TWO jaguars. Need I say more?

Wifi - Very surprising, we had a better internet connection from the middle of the rainforest than some of the hotels in Peru.

Room Tip: They're all good, as long as you like it open to the rainforest!! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DP_Canadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DKrautmann, Public Relations Manager at Tambopata Research Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Dear DParnell71,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are so happy to hear that you had a good time and that you saw 2 Jaguars!!! How lucky!

I would like to encourage future guests who don't know what to expect to visit the FAQ's section of our website. This will provide you with information on what to bring, medical considerations and how to best prepare for your trip.

Thanks again for your feedback. Keep in touch and come back soon!
Danielle Krautmann and the staff at the Tambopata Research Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I've been here as a volunteer for the research center and it's been amazing, It's 8 hours away from the closest city by river. The accommodation for tourists are rustic but great! you'll feel surrounded by the power of nature. You'll definetely will be amazed by the wide variety of birds and animals and if you get lucky you even might see a jaguar crossing the river. if you go between november and march you'll get there during the macaws breeding season and you will be able to see how researchers work on the macaws nests (trees up to 25 meters high) and how they measure and study their chicks. Great experience!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sway245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The wildlife experience here was why we came and it did not disappoint. The clay lick visit was exceptional and made the trip worthwhile. However the viewing position was pretty far away - it would be better if they built some sort of blinds to allow visitors to watch from a closer point without disturbing the birds.

The lodge itself was somewhat disappointing. The rooms are along one long hallway and are separated by only a thin bamboo wall - you could peep through the cracks and see the next room if you try. You can hear any noise coming from any of the next several rooms and of anyone walking up and down the halls between the rooms and the bathrooms. We tried to go to sleep early because the bird viewing meant a 5:45 departure. The noise situation meant getting a good nights sleep was tough. In addition, a family with 3 school age children were there who would play on the hammocks in the hallway just outside our rooms like it was a jungle gym and chase each other down the hallway. This meant afternoon recovery naps were toast. No effort was made to speak to the parents to ask them to have the children quiet down.

Some semi tame macaws visit the lodge during the day and although the guides asked us to only feed them fruit, this was not supervised or enforced. The children mentioned above would stuff them full of bread which is very bad for these birds. We were just appalled that this was allowed to happen.

Also beware - you will get bitten. We didn't see mosquitos, but the sand flies were vicious. Also our room became swarmed with bees the third day, just as we were leaving.

There are 4 shared women's bathroom/showers and 4 for the men. This meant a lot of competition for the toilets at peak times. Tricky when EVERYONE is leaving for the 5:45 bird viewing and everyone needs to do their morning business.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bmzalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

TRC was beyond description--the people, the amazing work that is being done with macaws, the food, and the proximity to amazing wildlife was breathtaking. I would recommend this to anyone who really wants to go further up the Amazon. It's magical.

Room Tip: If you need to be closer to a bathroom, let them know. Bathrooms are at the end of a long hallway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chaigrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We spent three nights at TRC and it was our favorite of the three Rainforest Expeditions lodges. It is more remote and is filled with kindred souls who are willing to make the effort to get deeper into nature. The conservation focus gives the lodge a special soul, and the wilderness surrounding it is outstanding. We saw many mammals and birds here. Our guide Johan F was fantastic. He was great at finding wildlife and birds, and in between shared a lot of interesting detail about life in the jungle. I have been on numerous jungle trips with guides in South America and he is the best guide I have had yet. The rooms and bathroom facilities are not as nice as other two lodges but certainly adequate and very comfortable. The staff are very friendly and the food plentiful and yummy. All in all a treasure in the jungle!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanziggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambopata National Reserve
31.1 mi away
Posada Amazonas
Posada Amazonas
#2 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
895 reviews
22.4 mi away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#2 of 63 in Puerto Maldonado
868 reviews
21.7 mi away
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
#2 of 2 in Tambopata National Reserve
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.8 mi away
Inotawa Lodge
Inotawa Lodge
#5 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
131 reviews
29.7 mi away
Tres Chimbadas Lake Lodge
Tres Chimbadas Lake Lodge
#7 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
11 reviews
19.5 mi away
Chuncho Lodge
Chuncho Lodge
#3 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tambopata Research Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tambopata Research Center

Address: Collpa Colorado, Tambopata National Reserve 084, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Tambopata National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Tambopata National Reserve
Price Range: $418 - $767 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tambopata Research Center 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tambopata Research Center (TRC) is a spartan yet comfortable 18 bedroom lodge with 8 shared bathrooms. Because of its remote location in uninhabited wilderness, housing stable populations of endangered wildlife, the small scale of its infrastructure and operations and the presence of researchers and naturalist guides, Tambopata Research Center is an excellent headquarters for in depth explorations of Amazonian nature and wildlife. It is located in a half hectare clearing in the middle of the uninhabited portion of the Tambopata National Reserve, less than a kilometer from the world's largest and most diverse macaw claylick. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Tambopata Research Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tambopata Research Hotel Tambopata National Reserve
Tambopata Research Center Peru/Tambopata National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing