We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tambopata Research Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tambopata Research Center
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Vancouver
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

First of all, I absolutely loved it. My husband who is more the bug-phobia type enjoyed it but not to the same degree. If you are a camper and have always loved the outdoors with everything that goes with it, it will feed a part of your soul that is unforgettable. If you are like my husband who went because he wanted to see it in case it disappears, there was lots he enjoyed but 'feed you soul?'...not going to happen. We signed up with Rainforest Expeditions and Berli was our guide. Berli was very knowledgable and passionate about his career and the Amazon. We stayed on route at Refugio for one night and again for two nights coming back. Tambopata was more rustic than Refugio, and older but still very eco-orientated, beautifully designed with comfortable beds and decent food. If you are looking for luxury this is not the trip for you but if you want an experience that truly makes you feel like you are part of something amazing(even if its out of your comfort zone) than go, see, and lay in your bed early in the morning and just listen to a world that is so filled with life. We have all heard the rainforest soundtracks but hearing it in person is so vitally different. Was my husband awed by it? Not so much. Is he still glad he went? Most definitely, would not have missed it! Would he go back? No. Would I? In a minute! And I'm the one who got stung by a wasp! It is a magical place that may not always be there with what we are doing to this world. Tambopata Research Center , Refugio and Rainforest Expeditions is doing a great thing by offering this kind of holiday. They are educating the public and researching the macaws which will hopefully protect their existence for a very long time. In case anyone is interested we signed up for the Soft Adventure Package. This included kyaking, mountain biking and canopy climbing. We enjoyed it. No matter what the web site says though, you do it all at Refugio, not TRC. Trust them on this, it's better and there are reasons for it. My mountain bike wasn't up to snuff so Enzo (our adventure guide) traded bikes with me. It was not my favourite activity but I do like the exercise. Kyaking was fun. It's a two hour paddle, going up stream first looking for caimens and birds and other mammals, a very fun, short paddle through some rapids, (we did that twice because it was so fun) and then an easy paddle back. The canopy climbing was my favourite but I'm a tom boy at heart and have always loved climbing trees. It could be challenging if you're not very fit or co-ordinated. Possible, just not as fun. Our guide (Berli) timed this so we got up there at sunset. It was a beautiful way to end our final evening in the Amazon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scissorgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    63
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
120
190
52
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Over all we had a wonderful experience. But you definately have to be outdoorsy on order to enjoy it.
We stayed in Refugio amazonas which was truly incredible.
There were no private bathrooms.
The rooms quite small, it rained on us and we got wet! Not too bad but enought to feel the damp.
The highlight of our entire trip was the people specially our guide he was truly amazing we had a blast!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lauracruz04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

If you're visiting the Amazon, don't stop without putting in the extra effort to get to Tambopata Research Center (TRC)! It takes an extra day to arrive because it's an additional four hours upstream beyond Refugio Amazonas, but well worth it. The first night is spent at Refugio Amazonas, with guided tours of the area jungle. I saw lots of unique birds and insects (tarantulas, etc). But the real eye-openers didn't happen until arriving at TRC the following day. Because it's so much futher in the jungle, with less human intrusion, brightly-colored macaws were a common occurrance. During the 4-day visit, we spotted howler monkeys, spider monkeys, saddleback tamarins, and really cute squirrel monkeys! There were a couple scarlet macaws which visited the guest rooms and breakfast area every day. (Keep any food locked up!). The rooms are rustic, but in a good way which is fitting for the environment. The exterior wall to the room is completely open to the outside, allowing macaw visitors to check you and your belongings out. Each bed has mosquito netting to keep out bugs while you sleep. As electricity is from a generator powered on for a couple hours each day (recharging camera batteries, etc), each nightstand has a candle used to help you locate items in the dark. Showers/toilets are down the hall, which may seem a little rustic, but that is part of the reason why you're there. The restrooms are very spacious. Cold water only, but after all day trekking in the jungle, it is very refreshing. Don't drink the tap water. The lodge provides jugs of filtered water for drinking and brushing teeth. Our guide Ruben was excellent, a biologist who could name every plant and animal pointed out, and provided very interesting facts about the jungle and its inhabitants. In addtion to the official tours, any time new animals were spotted around the TRC, Ruben would find us in the lodge and bring us to the sighting. The meals prepared were outstanding, including the meals to-go which were provided on the boat during transit.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgirl703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabin John, MD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

If you are considering visiting the lodges in Tambopata, please make sure you visit TRC! It is well worth the extra mile to visit this pristine part of the Amazon. We are a family of 4 with 2 kids, ages 10 and 12 at the time and we all had the time of our lives. The guides are exceptional and immensely knowledgable, the wildlife abounds and the atmosphere is tranquil. You definitely feel more isolated in TRC, compared to Refugio and that enables you to see much more wildlife. Make sure you understand that you must sleep under mosquito netting and really be diligent about DEET. I would say the food is OK, nothing spectacular, but you aren't coming to the Amazon for gourmet food, you are here to see wildlife! Just standing at the lodge we saw at least 3 species of monkeys, incredible numbers of birds and quite a number of spiders! It was no big deal using communal bathrooms and having no electricity in the late evening. Please be prepared for any type of weather, though. We went in June and had this cold front (winter) and the temperature dropped to the 50's in the evening and rained quite a bit. That was actually good for mosquito protection, but the animals were less abundant, but we didn't even notice-they were everywhere in our eyes. My kids loved the experience as well, but make sure you prepare them ahead of time. I would love to return!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terrirob4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

We visited Posada Amazonas, Refugio Amazonas and it was well worth the effort to make the long journey to Tambapota Research Centre. We had 3 nights at TRC and this was the best lodge for cleanlines and for the number of birds and animals we saw. Bathrooms, the lodge and our room were spotless at all times. Very glad we went. Food was reasonable for the location and the "cook" was kept so busy all the time and always managed a friendly greeting. The viewing point for the clay lick was a bit further away than what we thought, but the number of birds on our first visit was amazing. Liked the visit by the chicos of an afternoon so we could take pics of them. Tip: Bring VERY good binoculars and camera and it can be VERY hot during September.

Room Tip: All the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodean63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

I am a single parent traveller who backpacked through Peru for a month this summer with my daughter (age 10). We finished off our trip in the Peruvian Amazon. We used Rainforest Expeditions for our jungle accomodations and activities. They had us here at this lodge for two nights in the Amazon.

It was lovely and inviting from the moment we arrived. they had hot, wet cloths for our hands and faces, and lovely fresh juice.

The hiking at this reserve was nice, we saw lots of great stuff!! The rooms were the same as the other lodges. Single bed, mosquito net, candles (for when they put out the kerosene lamps around 10 pm each night), and an open view of the jungle and all the sounds that go along with it!! I loved it!!

The food was good and varied (which is great for me as a vegetarian), the meals for the boat rides was equally as good and well balanced. there is lots of water available that is treated, and good for drinking. Coffee/tea is available all day as well.

This was a nice, clean lodge for our time in the jungle. All staff had smiles on their faces and were very friendly. Beds were clean as were the washrooms.

I would definitely recommend this place for adults and families alike.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coraclara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huaraz
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

I went to the jungle near Puerto Maldonado. I had 5 totally amazing days with Rainforest Expeditions (www.peru.nature.com), staying at the Refugio Amazonas and Tambopata Research Centre (the only lodge located inside the national park, offering incredible wildlife encounters and the world's largest macaw clay lick). It's not cheap but worth every penny. I saw plenty of monkeys (spider monkeys, howler monkeys, dusky titi monkeys...), capybaras, caimans, frogs, spiders (tarantulas, wandering spiders...), giant river otters, peccaries, birds (toucans, parrots, macaws, hoatzins...), snakes, butterflies, insects... I was amazed at how many animals we saw and we had many very close encounters. The sightings were increased hugely once we reached the Tambopata Research Center. It was really fantastic and the visit to the macaw clay lick in the early morning where hundreds of parrots and macaws gather was simply incredible and a definite highlight. The rainforest around the TRS was also more beautiful. I would totally recommend that place, the staff are great and will talk about their macaw protection project and you will meet the many friendly, although cheeky, resident macaws (well they have been released in the wild but come back frequently to TRS).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambopata National Reserve
22.4 mi away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#1 of 54 in Puerto Maldonado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
31.1 mi away
Posada Amazonas
Posada Amazonas
#2 of 22 in Tambopata National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
19.6 mi away
Chuncho Lodge
Chuncho Lodge
#4 of 22 in Tambopata National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
#2 of 2 in Tambopata National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heath River Wildlife Center
Heath River Wildlife Center
#6 of 22 in Tambopata National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
9.4 mi away
Peru Amazon Garden Lodge
Peru Amazon Garden Lodge
#18 of 54 in Puerto Maldonado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tambopata Research Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tambopata Research Center

Property: Tambopata Research Center
Address: Collpa Colorado, Tambopata National Reserve 084, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Tambopata National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Tambopata National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tambopata Research Center 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tambopata Research Center (TRC) is a spartan yet comfortable 18 bedroom lodge with 8 shared bathrooms. Because of its remote location in uninhabited wilderness, housing stable populations of endangered wildlife, the small scale of its infrastructure and operations and the presence of researchers and naturalist guides, Tambopata Research Center is an excellent headquarters for in depth explorations of Amazonian nature and wildlife. It is located in a half hectare clearing in the middle of the uninhabited portion of the Tambopata National Reserve, less than a kilometer from the world's largest and most diverse macaw claylick. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tambopata Research Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tambopata Research Hotel Tambopata National Reserve
Tambopata Research Center Peru/Tambopata National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing