We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heath River Wildlife Center
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The Heath River lodge is the furthest lodge along the bank of the river, so it does take a while to get to it by boat - 5.5 hours in our case, but so much wildlife to be seen on the way. We did not have a clue what we were getting ourselves into, and so much the better for it! I was eaten alive by mosquitos, but hey, we were in the rainforest! The accommodation was very bare, but made the whole jungle experience all the more rich, especially falling asleep and waking up to the most magnificent sounds imaginable - never heard so many cicadas at the same time! All involved - Jhon our guide, Jack his helper, Ernesto our boat captain and Marco Antonio the house keeper, were all knowledgable and very lovely people and contributed so much to our experience!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank HeleddWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InkaNaturaTravelWeb, Senior Travel Advisor at Heath River Wildlife Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you Heledd (Mrs) for your comments and for the photos of the Jaguar you shared with us.
We appreciate your kind words.
Regards
Carmen Maria Guevara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 70 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is a rustic jungle experience in the Amazon. Lots of animals, birds, and beautiful plant life. Jhon was our guide and is very knowledgeable. The food is great and there is lots to do. My favorite was the tree platform, the clay lick, and fishing for piranhas.
I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a good jungle experience in the amazon!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Teri29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InkaNaturaTravelWeb, Senior Travel Advisor at Heath River Wildlife Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Tary
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad you emjoyed your stay,
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Pros: Nice jungle lodge, friendly staff, Good food, very good wildlife.

Cons: Too long of a boat ride (6+ hrs)

Special mention: Our Guide Plinio was awesome. He was always smiling and soft spoken and was willing to accommodate all of our different interests.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aksm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InkaNaturaTravelWeb, Senior Travel Advisor at Heath River Wildlife Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for your comments and for sharing the experience with more persons.

I hope your memories last long time

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Awesome place. Saw so much wildlife, incredible birding. Loved the hike to the pampas to see the blue and yellow macaws roosting for the night, then the night hike back through the jungle. Saw fresh jaguar prints- it had just rained, so we knew they were fresh. Our guide was incredibly knowledgeable and patient. Could help with questions about plants, insects, ecology, insects, birds, reptiles, mammals. Always seemed to know where to look for things to show us, even in the dark- interesting fungi, hanging snakes, hidden monkeys andd tapirs. Took us piranha fishing then cooked it up for dinner. Trips to the clay lick to see the red macaws were incredible. Aesthetically pleasing lodge. Food is great. Staff so kind. There is electricity around dinner to recharge devices. Should be in decent shape- able to hike, tolerate heat, humidity, bugs-in orer to see all the great things this place has to offer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InkaNaturaTravelWeb, Senior Travel Advisor at Heath River Wildlife Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Holly
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with our guest.
We appreciate your kind words.
Regards
Carmen Maria Guevara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Probably not the place for cruise-loving folks, but great for relatively fit outdoor loving tourists. The birding is GREAT. If you are a birder, ask for William or Javier. There may be more guides that know birds well, but those two are excellent. The trip by canoe can be long, but the trip itself was a treat. There are many uneven passages, trails and stairs so this trip is not for the overweight or underactive. One woman in our group was in her late sixties, overweight, out of shape and complained the entire time. Clearly not in the right frame of mind, and poorly prepared.
Much fewer mosquitos/bugs than the Everglades, which is my yardstick for bugs. We did wear our jungle gear, tucked pants into long socks, lightweight long sleeved shirts, took Jungle Juice, head lamps. Did get some bites, but not bad. Mosquito netting on the beds worked well, no holes. Loved the experience and opportunity to see wildlife, great, great staff!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JuliaCarmel_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Loved the proximity to nature- you can hear animal and insect noises all through the night and the lodge is really surrounded by the rainforest. All the staff were very helpful .The food was good and they prepared special meals for the vegetarians in the group. The Macaw lick was the highlight of the trip.
The downside is that there is no electricity (except for a couple of hours) and no connectivity (phone/ internet). So this is definitely not a place for someone who needs a fix of internet everyday and gets freaked out at the sight of a lizard / frog in the room

Room Tip: Carry Insect repellant and torches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank PriyankaGargav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Don't go to Heath River Wildlife Center unless you like to rough it a bit. Be prepared to live without electricity in your room (bring a headlamp, not just a flashlight!), possibly without hot water, and get ready for a long (6 hour or so) but fascinating boat ride from Puerto Maldonado. You'll be rewarded by a rich variety of flora and fauna (especially birds), outstanding guides, friendly service, and great local food.

Room Tip: If you don't like walking in the dark, ask for a cabin near the dining hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank viajeracuandopueda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambopata National Reserve
0 mi away
Sandoval Lake Lodge
Sandoval Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
244 reviews
0 mi away
Posada Amazonas
Posada Amazonas
#2 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
893 reviews
0 mi away
Tambopata Research Center
Tambopata Research Center
#1 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Inotawa Lodge
Inotawa Lodge
#5 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
131 reviews
0 mi away
Manu Wildlife Center
Manu Wildlife Center
#2 of 11 in Manu National Park
93 reviews
0 mi away
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
#2 of 2 in Tambopata National Reserve
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heath River Wildlife Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heath River Wildlife Center

Address: Heath RIver | 6 hours by boat from Puerto Maldonado, Tambopata National Reserve, Peru
Location: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Tambopata National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Tambopata National Reserve
Price Range: $494 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heath River marks the remote Amazon-region border between Peru and Bolivia. Bordering two radically different ecosystems of rainforest and lowland savannah.Heath River Wildlife Center is the only eco-lodge on this river. And it offers the world's only large macaw clay lick reachable in half a day from a jetport with daily connections to the outside world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Heath River Wildlife Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heath River Wildlife Hotel Tambopata National Reserve
Heath River Wildlife Center Peru/Tambopata National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing