We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience!”
Review of Ecoamazonia Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tambopata National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ecoamazonia Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
Reviewed January 23, 2011

This is an amazing and beautiful place, but if you're going to stay here you need to know what you're getting yourself into. I suggest taking a look at their websit first - but it is an amazing and wonderful place and experience.

There will be a lot of hiking through mud, the possiblity that you might not see anything [it is the jungle after all] and when you get back to your room hot and sweaty - you'll only have a tepid shower.
There is only electricity from about 5pm to 10pm - but believe me, you won't miss it.
And the cool shower is a welcome relief from the jungle's heat and humidity.

The food was good - not amazing, but fine. Everyone was very friendly - and the hikes I did were amazing. From monkey island, to the lost lagoon, to the shamen's botanic gardens I have to say I thoroughally enjoyed my stay there.
The only criticism I would have is the pool - it was dirty and covered with insects and wasn't very appealing.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuZeeDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    46
    15
    15
    4
See reviews for
17
62
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holon, Israel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

In the middle of the jungle, not far away from Puerto Maldonado, we found this piece of heaven on earth. Its not for bold adventurers who are seeking for a wild trip in the "dangerous" jungle. But if you want only a small glim of it - this is the place. We liked the bungalows named after jungle animals, we liked the quiet and peaceful atmosphere. Food was very good, bungalows were very clean. Being ecological ludge means no hot water to take a shower (only cold water) and electicity that works only few hours a day. No air conditioners, no TVs. What you do have is a wonderful staff, and quite professional tours in jungle, just to have a small taste of it. If management decides to place a drinking fountain in the ludge - it will be just perfect.
Worth every penny.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank israh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

After flying in, their staff met us at the airport and took us to their office in Puerto Maldonado. There we repacked our things and took the small luggages with us, and left the big ones in the office. We had to wait for around 1 hour for tourists from the next flight. During the wait the staff took us for a quick walk in the market nearby and it's a good chance to buy some brazillian nuts. After that we were taken to the dock and took a 1.5-hour boat trip to the lodge. The lodge is beautiful and there are a few parrots and many different plants. During the tours you're almost guaranteed to see monkeys (on the monkey island) and caimans (on the river bank during the night tour on the first day and the lost lake on the second day), and a lot of birds. For other animals, it depends on your luck. We saw an anaconda. The river boat cruise is a nice experience. Our guide was good and knowledgable.

There is purified drinking water provided in the canteen during some specific hours of a day. Fill up your bottles during these timeslots. Similarly, electricity is only provided during certain time of the day. Food in canteen was good. Unlimitied supply of banana.

There is no hot water for shower...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MC_Zangief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsburg, IN
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

I stayed at the lodge with a group of teachers and students. We really enjoyed our trip and our tour director said it is one of the best lodges and also the largest in the area. The rooms are very clean and comfortable (no AC just to warn you). The lodge only has electricity for several hours....2 during lunch and then from 5 pm-10 pm (in June). The pool was cool, screened in and clean. The food was fantastic. The staff was very friendly and could answer all the questions about the plants and animals in the area. We went to monkey island, went on a night boat ride to look for caimans and on a 7 km hike throughh the forest. There is also a bar and Florentino makes the best pisco sours or any other drink you want. Overall we had a great experience. The staff was attentive and we were not lacking anything. Defnitely make sure to hang out in the hammocks overlooking the river!

Stayed June 2010
Helpful?
Thank Susievisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2010

I have stayed in lodges all over the world, and stayed in the Eco amazonia last year. A friend recently told me she read a bad review on this site about the lodge. I tell you it cannot be further from the truth!. Food was wonderful and we had some wonderful excursions. I also stayed at Sandoval lake a few weeks later and the manager there actually commented there was a lot of negative reports being written about all the hotels in the area... its a bit of tit for tat!.. It makes me angy how some people use trip advisor!.. anyway, I better go back to my india posts!! My friend Karla who also stayed here in november raved about the lodge after my reccomendation!

Enjoy Peru, a wonderful, wonderful country!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2010

This was our first time to be in a lodge somewhere in the rainforest. Just by arriving, as we got out of the boats, were touched by the feeling of mother nature, better say: Pachamama. All the small log houses, the woodden walkway corridors, Heliconias, Gingers everywhere, bird songs never heard before, the pool...they all gave us feeling relaxed. As other reviewers said, yes, no fish catched during fishing tripm but who cares? We were in nature and had great time! The little fear I had was the jokes about piranhas when we jumped in the black water :-) Minutes before swimming we put raw meat bait on hooks...
Anselmo was really great guide. During the trips on Monkey island and the next day to the lake he knew every tree, bush, mushroom or insect. As I remember he was aymara indian, spoke good English, knew even Latin names of the species.
Wanna be back there some days!

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabeau3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2010

We stayed here 2nights/ 3 day, 3 well travelled fit mature ladies (quite used to eco travels), Too much time spent travelling and waiting for bus to fill up with large tour groups. First trip to Monkey island very disappointing having to wait for a large group 20+ to keep up !! The few monkeys we saw were fed to attract them down and allowed to drink from Plastic water bottles supplied by American guests who thought it highly amusing !! The very young inexperienced guide encouraged these antics, it was worse than a zoo !!! next day we trecked for 6 hours round a well- used, prepared track saw very little. Fishing trip No fish and Caymans very few. There were no afternoon activities or any on our last evening . I suspect they wanted you to sit in the bar and buy drinks all night !!
Overall not a good experience, guides were more interested in Learning English than guiding

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bucketgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambopata National Reserve
17.3 mi away
Sandoval Lake Lodge
Sandoval Lake Lodge
#3 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
132 reviews
55.2 mi away
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
#2 of 2 in Tambopata National Reserve
176 reviews
30.8 mi away
Posada Amazonas
Posada Amazonas
#2 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
#3 of 57 in Puerto Maldonado
747 reviews
1.6 mi away
Amazon Planet
Amazon Planet
#4 of 57 in Puerto Maldonado
158 reviews
7.9 mi away
Monte Amazonico Lodge
Monte Amazonico Lodge
#11 of 57 in Puerto Maldonado
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecoamazonia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecoamazonia Lodge

Property: Ecoamazonia Lodge
Address: Jr. Lambayeque 774 | 35 km from Puerto Maldonado, Madre de Dios River, Tambopata National Reserve, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Tambopata National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tambopata National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The EcoAmazonia Lodge is located in the middle of this 10,000 hectares ecological reserve known as The Tambopata; only 30km from Puerto Maldonado on the Madre de Dios River. EcoAmazonia Lodge invites you to come aboard a spectacular trip that will transform your senses. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ecoamazonia Hotel Tambopata National Reserve
Ecoamazonia Lodge Peru/Tambopata National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing