We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tambopata National Reserve”

Chuncho Macaw Clay Lick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The large macaw clay lick is located in the Tambopata National Reserve, on the left side of Tambopata River. It is famous for its great wildlife spectacle, and considered as the largest in the Peruvian Amazon. Every morning when the sun clears thousands of parrots, macaws and parakeets start a ritual: eating clay along the riverbanks.
Great Falls, Virginia, Usa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tambopata National Reserve”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Saw the Maclaw's flyiing around, but did not get a chance to the see them licking the clay. We waited and waited. Somtimes you get lucky. But, the experience was well worth it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Raman J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    26
    11
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“I see no birds”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Having sat for some considerable time in a hide there wasn't a macaw in site! Fortunately I did get to see a pair the following day in a tree, but nowhere near the clay lick.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Desiree S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Maldonado, Peru
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clay lick? Wich one you visited??”
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

I can see there are several opinions about clay licks but will be realy nice if in the comments can specified the clay lick name they visited. There are several small clay licks for parrots where there may be some times macaws but most of the time just parrots. My recomendation will be to visit the CHUNCHO CLAY LICK or the COLORADO CLAY LICK those two have macaws most of the year. Other clay licks will not give you the real experience of one of this beautifull an incredible places . There are some parrot clay licks close to some lodges , and they are sold as clay licks but there go just parrots and very rarely macaws. Be well informed about this . Because if they sell macaw clay lick , this should be the CHUNCHO CLAY LICK or COLORADO CLAY LICK.
Here some names of tour operators to this places.
Chuncho Lodge , operated by www.tambopatatours.com
Wasai Lodge. www.tambopata.com
Rainforest Expeditions www.perunature.com .
I hope this will help to all parrot lovers and people interested on this magnificent birds.

Helpful?
10 Thank Jorgetambopata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I have never seen so many parrots in one area as at the Clay Lick. I was so excited to photograph these magnificent birds.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bluevelvet2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Get there early”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed at the lodge at the lodge at the Tambopata Research Center, which was a short ride from small estuaries and the macaw clay licks. Accommodations were rustic, but just fine with me, since I was there for the birds. I saw macaws (red and green, scarlet, chestnut-fronted, blue and yellow), parrots, parrotlets, hoatzins, kingfishers and others I can't remember now. We found it best to spend a couple hours at the licks because the birds fly in and out. On the Rio Tambopata, we saw caiman, capybara, herons and jabiru storks. The lodge held lectures from resident biologists. In a small way, it helped us appreciate the importance and beauty of the Amazon. I have to say this was one of my favorite trips.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chuncho Macaw Clay Lick also viewed

Tambopata National Reserve, Madre de Dios Region
Tambopata National Reserve, Madre de Dios Region
 
Puerto Maldonado, Madre de Dios Region
Puerto Maldonado, Madre de Dios Region
 

Been to Chuncho Macaw Clay Lick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing