We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT Lodge and Staff! Unforgetable experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Superior, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
140 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT Lodge and Staff! Unforgetable experience.”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I can't say enough good things about the lodge and staff. It was EXACTLY what I had in mind when I selected an Eco-Lodge in the Amazon Jungle. I have attached a lot of photos simply because there just wasn't that great of information out there when I was trying to find info on this place. For anyone who is on the fence about whether to choose Wasai or not, GO FOR IT, you will not be disapointed and you might even have the time of your life!

We signed up for the 4/3 Amazon Adventure, but due to a delayed flight we ended up spending a night in Puerto Maldonado at their other lodge before heading off to Tambopata. Both locationd were amazingly accomodating making sure we still got to do the things we wanted even though we were short one day! We still managed to squeeze in everything without feeling rushed. The food was great with freshly prepared meals and fresh squeezed juices.

The weather was hot and humid but suprisingly comfortable. The showers are cold but refreshing after being sweaty and moving around all day. One of our highlights was our visit to the Chuncho Collpa. We saw an amazing display of Red/Green Macaws, Blue/Yellow macaws, toucans, green parrots, chestnut macaws and we were even lucky enough to see one pair of Scarlet Macaws! Super cool and our guide Sonja was knowledgable about the birds and helping us with where to stand/sit so we didn't disturb and scare the birds.

Besides the birds we saw several animals daily. While kayaking with our guide Esteban (Steven) we even saw a HUGE Caiman! In the daylight. We spend most of our time with Esteban and he was great. Very personable and funny. Knew his stuff and was always quick about spotting animals and insects when we were out and about on our hikes and river excurions. We also joined in on the adventure activities- about an hour hike from the lodge- where we ziplined, crossed a tight rope and then negotiated a rope bridge. These activities were moderatly hard but a lot of fun. Spent the last afternoon at the lodge literally walking through the jungle- looking at trees, spotting animals, etc.

Overall one of the neatest experiences of my life.

Hope this can offer some insight to any of you who are considering this lodge. I am more than happy to chat with anyone that has questions too! PM me!

Room Tip: We had bungalow #14. It actually had 3 beds (2 twin and one double). The bathroom was enormous! Whol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank superiorcold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    40
    9
    8
    5
See reviews for
34
68
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We arrived in Puerto Maldonado to spend 3 days doing the "Amazon Adventure" package at the Tambopata Lodge. We had planned on spending one day at the P.M. Ecolodge itself for a day of rest after our jungle excursion. We noticed that the pool at the Ecolodge was out of commission (it was explained that the pool had just recently started leaking and that they were fixing it.) A bummer to start the trip, but the Wasai crew enabled us to spend that extra day in the depths of the jungle at the Tambopata Lodge at a nice price. It was a nice response (and I think a better place to spend an extra day) to this dilemma, and Wasai handled it very well. We were pleased!

WIthout bringing too many expectations, the Tambopata Lodge was just what we had envisioned for our trip to the jungle. All "bungalows" on stilts with ever-present hammocks and the jungle encroaching on the edges of a well-manicured jungle complex. We loved that they had a futbol field carved out on the property. Us gingos were even invited to join the match, and I think we represented U.S. soccer with a some skill and class (hopefully) :).

Our guide, Jorge, did an incredible job introducing us to the flora and fauna of the jungle. He seemed to genuinely enjoy taking us on the day and night excursions, which didn't go unnoticed or unappreciated. He even brought along his telescopic lens for us to get close-ups on the macaws and toucans. We also appreciated him sitting and eating with us during the meals, which gave us a chance to ask more questions and Jorge to explain in depth the history of the jungle and the biology of this incredible place. And the food was overwhelmingly present and delicious. We were always full and satisfied.

The staff was very accommodating as well. I had expressed a great interested in doing some fishing, and Jorge enabled us to do some fishing in a jungle lake, even though fishing hadn't originally been included that in the trip. Furthermore, our chef cooked up our catch for a delicious lunch. It was an unforgettable experience.

The lodging was comfortable, but as other reviews have stated, it's a jungle lodge. Insects are present. They do provide netting for the bed, but you will see and likely touch some jungle bugs. Take it is as part of the experience! You came to the jungle for interaction with animals, not to watch them behind glass like a zoo. We took advantage of the beautiful view from our lodge, while lying in our sweet hammock. It's was a picture-perfect way to relax after the busy mornings filled with bird watching, river kayaking and swimming, and hiking.

Our experience at the Wasai Tambopata Lodge was unforgettable. I would go back in a moment's notice to spend more time watching the wildlife and flora. My wife was definitely challenged by the amount of interaction with animals, but took away a deeper sense of appreciation for Peru and the Amazon, and also some pride in spending 4 days in the depth of the Amazon. We felt very cared for and looked after the whole time. Wasai does a great job creating an enjoyable experience, and their staff, including Jorge, have the experience to ensure just that.

Thank you friends at Wasai!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Not sure what everyone is complaining about, but this place was so much fun. After a week of craziness in Cusco, it felt so good to sit back and relax.
The four hour boat ride was totally amazing. We didn't see many animals, but we aren't animal lovers, so we didnt really care. Our guide, Steven, was such a sweetheart, so softspoken and kind. We had activities planned out for us for the entire 4 days we were there, but everything was so laid back.
The first night, we went on the night walk. Super creepy, but awesome. The next day, we walked to the clay lick (not the one you have to pay for, this is a short boat ride then a 40 minute walk through deep bush). We hardly saw any animals, but again, we didnt' care much. We kayaked (AMAZING!) down the tambopata and had a nice swim near the rivers edge. The sun was strong and the water was fresh!
We tree-climbed (well my friend did, I suck and couldnt do it) and zip lined.
There isn't a lack of things to do.
The place itself was so serene. Our cabin was the very last one at the jungle's edge, so it was a bit of a walk, but who cares?! you're on vacation!!! whats the rush anyway? The beds were netted, the water was cold (probably the best thing out there!!! COLD SHOWERS ON HOT MUGGY DAYS!) the beds were super comfortable and the hammock...ahhhhhhhhh.
The food was amazing! every single meal was to die for.
the last night, after the electricity went out, we hung out in the main area with other guests, with candles lit a few drinks, music from our iphones and lots of singing.
Seriously, this place was so much fun. We were two very laid back guests, with no complaints and no requests. For a jungle lodge, this place has everything you need. I would highly receommend it, even for those who are afraid of bugs, who dont like the heat, who hate cold showers and those who don't care of animals! It was such a great experience.
Sooooooooo recommend this place!

Room Tip: I only know of our cottage, #15. NO complaints:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank n_elhakeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

This was wonderful for a jungle lodge, but keep in mind you are in a jungle lodge. We stayed here because we were only visiting for 2 nights and really wanted to see the clay lick - and it was amazing, totally worth the trip. This was the only lodge that offered this tour in such a short time. The guide and staff were extremely friendly and very flexible with whatever you wanted to do. The rooms were clean, but rustic and had some bugs, but its an eco-lodge in the jungle, you can't expect it to be 5 star quality. Also, it took a long time to get here - about a 4 hour boat trip from the city.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen10280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
674 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

The Wasai Tambopata Lodge is located just a few hours away from a great parrot clay lick. It has free wi-fi, nice food and great birdwatching opportunities. My guide, Jorge was excellent, identified many bird species that for the non trained eye were just impossible to see. The room was clean, with two beds, completely netted, had mosquito nets in the beds. For photographers and those willing to charge batteries, it was only possible to do that in the main house of the lodge.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RenataBiancalana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kwazulu natal
Level Contributor
110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

I must be honest, after reading travellers reviews and looking at the website I decided to book a 4 night 5 day amazon experience for the last week in December 2011, just after completing the inca trail. We loved the inca trail, the guides, the food, the experience and the scenery. We were soooo excited to then go on to this lodge but it fell short of my expectations. There were so many things that we felt were not up to scratch for the price charged in US Dollars, to name but a few things; Lodge needed maintenance badly, steps rickety ect, our toilet was leaking, we reported it but it was not fixed, food was mediocre (after 5* food on inca trail) activities were boring as there is sooooo little wildlife??? I enjoyed the clay lick on the first morning although we only got to see about 50 parrots. We saw one Cayman, loads of mosquitoes (thousands) and some insects. I do not know if we are spoilt coming from South Africa but I could not believe the absolute lack of life in this area. We left a day earlier for the Eco lodge in Puerto maldonado hoping for a different experience. This lodge is also in need of repairs and they have a problem with their hot water system for the showers. We did enjoy the day trip to Sandoval lake, it is beautiful and we got to see some otters, baby turtles and bats. There were a few birds as well. If you are an animal or bird lover I personally would not recommend this area. Our guide Sonia was knowledgable and competent. Our Amazon experience was a waste of time and money. Perhaps another part of teh amazon could offer more to see. The management was naturally upset that we did not enjoy our trip and refunded us 100 Dollars each as we did not partake in some of the activities after other tourists staying in the lodged voiced their dissapointment to us about some of the trips offered ie the Night walk in the jungle. They saw nothing, just one spider and a frog????

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank nataliekwazulunatal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

My brother and I did the 4day/3night tour with Jorjay as our tour guide. Everything about the tour was great. We had requested a cabin with two beds and ended up getting one with two twin beds and a queen bed. It was very clean, but keep in mind that you are in the Amazon so some wildlife can get in. There was a couple of rips in the screens and we found both a flying cockroach and frog in our bathroom. The mosquito nets over the bed were comforting and worked well at kept any Amazon critters away while we were sleeping. Two uncomfortable aspects of the lodge were cold water showers and the heat at night when trying to sleep. Both of these were a small price to pay for having the Amazon experience.

After reading some of the reviews, I was a little worried about the food, but I was pleasantly surprised by the amazing meals. They were plated meals (not buffet style) so everyone got a decent amount of food. For suppers there was always a soup, main meal, and dessert. My favourite was the fresh juice every morning for breakfast and sometimes at lunch too.

The tour provided everything as promised. We saw many insects and birds on our night walk, saw macaws and parrots at the clay lick (well worth getting up at 3:30am), saw caiman both during the day and at night during the caiman hunt. Our tour guide, Jorjay, just topped off the trip. He was very knowledgable about the animals and folk lore of the Amazon.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiammo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambopata National Reserve
15.4 mi away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#1 of 57 in Puerto Maldonado
807 reviews
24.4 mi away
Posada Amazonas
Posada Amazonas
#2 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
846 reviews
9.4 mi away
Tambopata Research Center
Tambopata Research Center
#1 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Tres Chimbadas Lake Lodge
Tres Chimbadas Lake Lodge
#6 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
9 reviews
11.0 mi away
Chuncho Lodge
Chuncho Lodge
#8 of 57 in Puerto Maldonado
64 reviews
43.6 mi away
Green Diamond Amazon Lodge
Green Diamond Amazon Lodge
#11 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wasai Tambopata Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wasai Tambopata Lodge

Property: Wasai Tambopata Lodge
Address: | 50 Km. from Puerto Maldonado in a straight line, approximately 120 Km. up the river, Tambopata National Reserve, Peru
Location: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Tambopata National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tambopata National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wasai Tambopata Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WASAI Tambopata Lodge is located in the heart of the amazon, approximately 50 Km. Away from Puerto Maldonado in a straight line, and approximately 120 Km. Up the river, in the heart of the Tambopata Candamo National Reserve, surrounded by National parks There are 20km of protected forest trails around the lodge, which enhances possibilities to see amazon wildlife. We can visit the local community of Baltimore and share the way of life and the natural beauty such as . The El Gato Waterfalls, and parrots and mammals clay licks . Fishing is also possible. Up-river from the lodge there are no more dwellings. The lack of people and the closeness to the Andes create an habitat with abundance of flora and fauna not seen in other areas of the amazon rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Wasai Tambopata Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wasai Tambopata Hotel Tambopata National Reserve
Wasai Tambopata Lodge Peru/Tambopata National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing