We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inotawa Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Wasai Tambopata Lodge(Tambopata National Reserve)
$588
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hotel Puerto Amazonico(Puerto Maldonado)
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cabana Quinta(Puerto Maldonado)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Centenario(Puerto Maldonado)
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
La Torre Inn(Puerto Maldonado)
$77
$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
D"Milez Hotel(Puerto Maldonado)(Great Value!)
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Ecoamazonia Lodge(Tambopata National Reserve)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveler rating
94
26
6
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
26
6
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate bungalowrainy seasoncold watertres chimbadasgiant river otterspuerto maldonadopontoon rideclay lickspent four daysnight monkeysearly morningfood was amazingmosquito netunforgettable experiencejungle experiencefew hoursgreat guide
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 133 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2013

As instructed my wife and I packed very light in using a typical carry on luggage. Paul, our bilingual guide picked us up at the Puerto Maldonado airport and took us to the local office, where we left our big suitcase for the rest of the trip. We got back on the car and traveled for about 60 minutes to catch the boat for a 90 minutes pleasure ride to the lodge. During the boat ride we had the chance to watch the sunset, what a view. We also had Chaufa (Peruvian fried rice in a banana leaf).
We got to the lodge right after sunset, minutes after, Paul took us on a night walk on the jungle around the lodge. We had the change to see different insects and plants, including big wolf white spiders, and tarantulas. Of curse beetles and roaches. Right after we had dinner. Where we had the change to meet the other guests, Ramon and his wife, who are in charge of the lodge and shared their time with the guests almost every night together with guides. The meals are all typical Peruvian meals and absolutely delicious. The only meat my wife eats is chicken and they made a point to cater for her needs. The juices were all amazing and made from the fruits and vegetables from their farm. We actually saw the cook carrying his own fruits and vegetables( not part of the tour). We had passion fruit juice, chicha morada(purple), lemonade, carambola (star fruit), lemon grass, and something Paul called tangy tomato. It was more like mix between a guava and tomato.
We went to the clay lick early in the morning and saw yellow fronted parrots, blue head parrots, some other parrots and a many smaller parrots. We saw Macaws, but only while flying. Absolutely beautiful. Later we went to the Tambampota reserve and walked to a mammal clay lick. Unfortunately we only saw prints of an anteater. .
The next day we went to Tres Chimbadas Lake where is beautiful and very relaxing. We searched for Giant Otters but were not able to see any. We did pirana fishing which you can eat for dinner if you wished. Our group decided to through them back, but we got some amazing pictures. Later that day we did jungle bike riding, which it was an amazing and enjoyable experience. They also have a 40 meter tree climb, which we could not do because it was raining. So we did about a 10 meter rope climb in the reception area.
The lodge provides 3 to 4 hours of electricity a day for charging your electronics. Our room was beautiful and screened, they provide drinking water, coffee and fruits for the guest and the monkeys. Do not forget to bring sun tan lotion, mosquito repellent, a good camera and a flash light. We also enjoy sharing our experiences with other guests from US, Germany and Poland.
I like the fact that Ramon is always looking into ways to protect the animals, protect the environment and conserve energy.

Room Tip: Pick a Bungalow, which is for couples or Families.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AM-EU-AU-ASIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed at the Inotawa Lodge for 4d/3n in May 2013 together with two friends. Our experience was great and I highly recommend this lodge to others who are looking for an eccolodge near Puerto Maldonado in Peru.

Inotawa Lodge is upstream on the Tambopata river which makes it more preferable to the downstream options which tend to be more disturbed due to traffic. Our guide was phenomenal, he was very friendly and very intelligent. He had grown up in the Amazon jungles and knew what it was really about. He had a great eye for various animals, plants, and insects that he found interesting. Dined with us (the group of 3 he was in charge of) almost every meal.

The lodge itself is rather nice. It is made from local material and to blend with the environment. The food was excellent and always based on local elements. The people who work there are very friendly, but more importantly, competent, which makes for a nice experience. All other operations (transportation, cleaning, etc) run smoothly and effortlessly at this lodge. It exceeded my wildest expectations and has been the best such experience I have had so far, especially considering the price.

Reza K

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Reza K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Inotawa is about 2 hours (1 hour bus + 1 hour boat) from Puerto Maldonado - so reasonably away from city where you can get a feel of forest, but not having to spend too much time in and out of the place, especially ideal for people only budgeting 3-4 days.

I joined a 3D/2N short program, packed with activities, plenty to see and feel, very knowledgeable guide, and amazing crew in the lodge - absolutely delicious food - every single meal!

The owner (Cristina) listens to your concerns, and take care of you like a family member.
High recommendation without reservation.

a few tips:
1. Bring insect repellant (ideally DEET >= 35) - quite some mosquito, but repellant works.
2. Bring flash light.
3. Don't worry about shoes - almost all lodges provide boots, good to check before you go.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siyul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I was a little unsure about staying in an open-air lodge but Inotawa changed my mind :) From pick up to the drop off, this experience was fantastic.
Our room was basic but comfortable, although the mosquito nets could have done with an upgrade! Wear repellant at night because we got a few bites.
The quality of the food was completely unexpected, given the remoteness of the lodge. Plenty to eat, delicious and pretty healthy. Vegetarians appeared well catered for too. Our cook was the son of the owner of Inotawa, I'm not sure if that made a difference.
Juan-Carlos, our guide, was fantastic. Fluent in Spanish and English and able to give you the latin names of the animals and plants he showed us. He was also caring and respectful of the environment, never sacrificing the safety of the animals but making sure we had pretty up-close experiences. He also has a wicked sense of humour! We had a single guide to our group of three, as did other groups at the lodge during our stay, although I'm not sure if you'd get that at peak season.
The animal experiences were a little hit and miss due to the weather but we persevered and were able to see monkeys, birds, small mammals, bats and snakes. Unbelieveable! An amazing place, STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meredith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InotawaLodge, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Inotawa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Thank you very much for reviewing us on tripadvisor in such a favourable manner! It makes us very proud to see that our way is the way to the heart of so many people. Once again thank you and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Great spot. My cousin and I had the entire place to ourselves. Nice hikes around the lodge. Our guide was very amenable and pointed out lots of wildlife. One of the more reasonable jungle lodge options I came across too.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InotawaLodge, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Inotawa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Hola

Thank you for rating us!
We work hard to offer an authentic and unique jungle experience at a resonable price. It is great to hear you enjoyed your time at our place. All the best for your future travels!

Saludos from the jungle, INOTAWA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews