We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome guide, average lodge experience”
Review of Inotawa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inotawa Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
DC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome guide, average lodge experience”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

A resounding ten stars for our guide Paul, who is not only exceptionally knowledgable, but also extremely hardworking and kindhearted. He brought his computer to dinner with him one evening to share with us all of these bird calls he had been recording-- they were national geographic worthy. It was incredible to watch him in the woods hear the tiniest of sounds and know exactly what it is and from where it is coming. He is taking the initiative to create PowerPoint presentations for the guests so they can learn more about the jungle animals before going out to see them. We were very lucky to have him as a guide.

As for the lodge itself, I would have to give it 3.5 stars. I am fully aware that I was not coming to luxury lodging; nor was that what I was looking for. The lodge is located in a very peaceful and serene area along the tambopata river, but is still conveniently enough located that doing the excursions was not terrible. This is an open-air lodge, meaning you can hear every. single. noise. that other people in the lodge make. It is also neat because you can hear the animals very clearly. However, I wish the staff took this into consideration in the morning, as they wake up several hours before everyone else. Any walking and talking will wake everyone else up. This was very frustrating to us, as many of the activities are very strenuous and actually require sleep-- which is hard enough as it is when there is a bat fight in your room in the middle of the night (which was actually highly entertaining and funny sounding. These are the types of noises I was looking for here.)

We were also a bit disappointed in the management of the lodge. Not only was there a general lack of communication, when Ramon (the owner's son) came to the lodge, we did not even get so much as a hello from him (and obviously no "how is your stay?" or anything if the sorts). Not a big deal, but typically the management will go out of their way to make you feel welcome, versus feeling completely ignored.

The lodge is raised several feet off the ground, which is nice to help keep animals and whatnot out. However, it's pretty gross to be able to look through the slats of your bathroom floor and see the waste drop directly onto the ground. This didn't happen every time so I don't know if its always meant to happen or not. The showers are cold water only, which feels exceptional after a long day of working through the jungle.

Our food was surprisingly delicious the first few days of our visit. This changed as the cooks changed over. Be prepared to carbo-load-- one day our dinner was pasta soup, spaghetti was the entree and the sides were potatoes. The only thing I will really complain about was that we were told the first lunch was vegetarian, even though it clearly had beef in it. This left our vegetarian without any lunch that day, and everyone feeling pissed off that they had lied to us about the contents. This can make people sick!!! Totally not okay!!

The most disappointing part of the trip was our final afternoon when the new group came in, along with several young children. This totally changed the dynamic of the lodge and it lost its peaceful serenity. Instead of hearing the birds call at night, I got to listen to a child having a total screaming meltdown. Had I wanted to hear that, I would have gone to Disney world. As many of the expeditions are grueling, I'm not sure what the parents will do with the kids here (I doubt they want to go for a four hour hike through dense jungle vegetation). This is not the type of place to which I would bring a child.

Overall, I'm glad we came here to experience the majesty of the jungle, but we were definitely ready to leave the lodge on the final day. We were left a bit disappointed, especially considering all the rave reviews on here. Try to come during the rainy season to avoid large crowds. Bring your bug repellant, raincoat, flashlight, and camera, and remember that jungle time is the same as island time. Given the right group, Inotawa could be very relaxing.

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mvr2614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InotawaLodge, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Inotawa Lodge, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Hello

First of all thank you for writing a review about us.
We are glad you were very happy with Paul. He is indeed a very knowledgable person.
I would also like to write a few words in answer to your criticism.
We use a strictly vegetarian soy meat substitute for the very first meal served to every one of our guests. We do often hear it looks just like beef and tastes like chicken, but once again i assure you there are no animal products in that meal whatsoever!
We always do this as we do not always know about our clients dietry requierements beforehand. So to be safe the first meal usually served on the way to our lodge is always vegetarian. At the lodge itself we are prepared to cook vegetarian, vegan, gluten and/or lactose free and to any other specification requiered if informed beforehand.
Regarding your comment about the bathroom: There seems to have been a malfunction which is currently being repaired, thank you for letting us know!
We do offer specially tailored tours for families with children, we do believe in teaching about nature and ecology from the beginning. However due to the natural conditions in the jungle people do not usually bring toddlers along.

We are proud of our accomplishments and our declared goal is to provide a tranquil and relaxing setting for our guests in which to admire the wonders of the jungle. We truly hope apart from these small inconveniences you did enjoy your stay overall!

All the best and once again thank you for your review, Arno Polinsky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    23
    6
    6
    1
See reviews for
28
48
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2013

hi, i really had a great experience in this lodge, i have been in 2 more places in tambopata, but this is definitely the best one, for the people who work there, the shipibo ladies that cook and sell artcraft, it is very quiet and familiar. i will definitely come back, thank you........is was a great new year eve- 2013 for me and my friends.
miwa bankova

Room Tip: take a bongalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miwaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InotawaLodge, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Inotawa Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Hello Miwa

Thank you for taking part in the experience and for writing a review about you stay. We would be very happy to welcome you again! Safe travels and all the best from us here in Inotawa.

Greetings from the rainforest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Messines
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Starting our trip in Lima, we preferred having our next stop in Tambopata (first thinking it would be an error as we were affraid to catch tropical diseases). Arriving there, the administration obligations in the office were done in 5 minutes and we were taken in the jeep for 45 minutes to reach the boat.To the Lodge by boat it took more a hour and 30 min. On the boat we got a nice meal in leaf and a drink. Arriving in Inotawa, a short way had to be done to reach the lodge and we were surprided that it was so huge. The first day we made the "exciting night walk" in that sense when we felt something in our hair that we thought it was a spider.
Next day early wake up to attend the parrot clay click and in the afternoon we visited Lake Tres Chinbadas. What we wanted to see were the hoatzins and we were not desilluded. There were a lot. The piranhas caught were some small and the bigger clever enough to bite only in the meat. Later by night we saw a discret aligator.
The mornings are exciting to hear the wild life in his most active hours. By this, we had not enough sleep as we wanted taste the sounds of nature as much as possible.
The food was excellent and Joel is a good guide.
Last day on the itinerary was the Natural reserve. Here, the government should do something to make it more accssible for older tourists.
About the lodge : confortable beds, not too much bugs (a regular mepper is enough) as it is even not necessary to use the mosquito net if repelent is used.
One devise : if you are over 75, be in good health conditions.

Room Tip: Take a private bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancineMessines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InotawaLodge, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Inotawa Lodge, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Hola francine

Thank you very much for visiting INOTAWA and taking the time to write a review!
We are family- run and therefore open and designed for all kind of people.
Children, honeymooners, families, groups and adventurerers, everybody is welcome and will have more than enough options to fill your time.
We always try to adapt to our guests wishes as much as possible and it makes us happy to see you happy in this unique environt called the rainforest.
Thank you again for staying with us and having a good time!

Good luck and all the best for your future travels, INOTAWA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The jungle in the Amazonian basin isn't really a holiday - you come to explore and be part of an adventure. Inotawa is the perfect base from which to do that. It has a large and attractive central wooden lodge with dorms and dining areas, plus connecting walkways to bungalows and other accommodation. It's set in the heart of the jungle and, with no others nearby, you feel suitably immersed in the jungle and cut off from normal life.

You rely on the staff more than you would in other circumstances. Our guide Joel was excellent - a true local expert. He not only had an encyclopaedic knowledge of the wildlife, but also a real enthusiasm for showing us the world he has lived his life in. We started to ask him to identify butterflies just to see if we could catch him out with one he didn't know - we couldn't. He was a true guide - showing us the way but still allowing us to feel like we were the adventurers. Ramon was a wizard in the kitchen and in a complete reversal to prior expectations, we had some of the best food of our stay in Peru here - including pirana we had caught earlier in the day. Some of the food is grown locally in the garden at the back of the lodge.

We did Lago Tres Chimbadas 4d/3n and then stayed an extra night to enjoy the place. We chose this tour to cut down the amount of travelling from the lodge to get to where we wanted to go. However, the travelling (usually by river) is enjoyable in itself as there is plenty to be seen along the river banks.

Our only suggestion would be if there could somehow be a place to go near the river just to watch the wildlife, maybe with a drink. A tree house or small bungalow would be amazing there.

Thanks to Inotawa for kindly sending a jacket we left behind back to the UK for us at no charge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jondon_town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InotawaLodge, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Inotawa Lodge, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Hello

First of all thank you very much for rating us on tripadvisor! Its great to hear that people enjoy our vision of responsable tourism. We are especially proud to receive great reviews for our guides that have been working with us for many years. They have become family members and are an integral part of our sucess.
Also thank you for your sugesstion of setting up a place to enjoy the scenery down at the river in a more comfortable way. We are definately looking into this possibility.

Thanks again for staying with us, all the bestb and always safe travels wishes Inotawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I'd recommend this to anyone.
We went in September and were lucky enough to have a guide for just the 2 of us. Joel, the guide, was very knowledgeable and was very good at giving us the space to enjoy our surroundings while always being there to answer questions.
The en-suite room was clean and tidy and struck the perfect balance between comfort and getting back to nature. The room partition wasn't up to the roof so you could hear next door but it didn't bother us. There was electricity from 6-10pm in the main eating area, but there are candles in the rooms which is all you really need.
There was a large number of activities mixed with opportunities to relax and enjoy the surroundings.
We saw a large number of amazing flora ad fauna including tarantulas, weaver birds, giant river otters, a rock parakeet, an ant eater, a pair of nesting macaws, a blue headed parrot, hundreds of species of butterfly, army ants, leaf cutter ants and other insects.
The food was varied and tasting and cooked using locally sourced ingredients.
We booked with Christina over email on the 3 day 2 night trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InotawaLodge, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Inotawa Lodge, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Hello Richard

Thank you very much for your positive review.
It is very nice to hear that staying with us is considered a highlight in this land full of adventure and amazement.
Congratulations also for spotting the giant river otters and the rock parakeet, real treats!

Once again thank you for your recommendation, we wish you always safe travels and hope to see you again one day.

Saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Inotawa was the perfect complement to the other aspects of our Peruvian vacation (Lima, trekking, Cuzco, Machu Picchu). We selected Inotawa Lodge based on Trip Advisor reviews and were very pleased with all aspects of our experience during our 4 day/3 night stay. It is a small lodge with very personal service and we enjoyed that as well as the opportunity to get acquainted with our guide Joel and others at the lodge. From the time we were met at the airport until we were dropped back off, Joel, and the rest of the staff did everything possible to make our trip special. We had many opportunities each day to view wildlife (insects, spiders, monkeys, birds) and jungle flora. Joel was extremely knowledgeable and passionate about the unique environment of the area. We stayed in a bungalow and enjoyed our cold shower nightly before going to bed. We enjoyed the well prepared local dishes as well as the plentiful fresh fruit and veg. Food was plentiful and delicious.We didn't have a lot of downtime, but enjoyed reading/relaxing in the hammocks when we did. Would definitel recommend Inotawa

Room Tip: We had bungalow #8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanhessidence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arno p, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Inotawa Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Hello Jone

Thank you very much for your recommendation.
I will let our staff know about your comments. Happy and satisfied guests are our motivation and makes us go the extra mile.

Saludos from the rain forest and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Love this place! Left this morning and already I'm missing it! It's great for solo travellers, been so well looked after - never a moment feeling lonely or left out. Beautiful lodge too, spacious and airy room, comfortable bed with net, falling asleep with the wonderful sound of the jungle. Unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pamelapomelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambopata National Reserve
15.3 mi away
Posada Amazonas
Posada Amazonas
#2 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
843 reviews
23.3 mi away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#1 of 57 in Puerto Maldonado
806 reviews
45.8 mi away
Tambopata Research Center
Tambopata Research Center
#1 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
#3 of 57 in Puerto Maldonado
748 reviews
16.1 mi away
Tres Chimbadas Lake Lodge
Tres Chimbadas Lake Lodge
#6 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
9 reviews
38.1 mi away
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
#2 of 2 in Tambopata National Reserve
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inotawa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inotawa Lodge

Property: Inotawa Lodge
Address: Av Aeropuerto s/n La Joya | Puerto Maldonado, Tambopata National Reserve 17001, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Tambopata National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Tambopata National Reserve
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
INOTAWA started its operations of eco- tourism in the Tambopata national reserve (RTAMB) in 1998 by visiting the sites that can be found at the margins of the Tambopata River. These are Tres Chimbadas Lake, the La Torre Lakes, Cocococha lake, La Torre parrot clay lick, Chuncho and Colorado clay licks and El Gato creek.In order to offer comfort to our guests during their visits we constructed inotawa lodge situated in the sector La Torre in the buffer zone of the Tambopata national reserve and surrounded by an area of private conservation (ACP) with pristine forest and natural bamboo patches that host a large variety of birds, mammals, insects and reptiles.Inotawa lodge is constructed with traditional materials of the Amazon. Palm leaf thatching, timber and bamboo maintain an architecture that blends in perfectly with the surrounding nature and the gardens full of medicinal and ornamental plants.The infrastructure consists of 16 rooms with private bathroom, a dining area, a bar, a hammock area, a web of trails, kayaks and bicycles. In short, everything necessary to offer safe, high quality service to our tourists with social and environmental responsibility.INOTAWA is a family business run by naturalists that also develop projects with the inhabitants of the "La Torre" sector. We think this to be the best manner to give a sustainable use to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inotawa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inotawa Lodge Peru/Tambopata National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing