We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Lake”

Tres Chimbadas Lake
Maribel, Wi, Usa
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lake”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Our trip on this lake was tranquil and relaxed. We missed the otters, but saw hoatzins, piranhas, and others. It was nice to float.around without a motor!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    22
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Giant River Otters”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We took a boat and then walked to the lake. Our guide used an oar/paddle thing rather than an engine so as not to disturb the wildlife. We saw some amazing animals on the way including monkeys, and leaf cutter ants and then when we arrived at the lake we saw many types of birds and the playful giant river otters too.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Not much here!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Other than a few birds, not much happening here! It's a very small lake. Trekking the jungle was much more interesting.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank TorontoMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
2 reviews
“The best excursion, we loved the giant otters”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We liked everything. We were never bored. We went to bed early and wake up early. We exercise during the excursions but also rest a lot. Since there is no TV or cell phone signal, we interact as a family and play table games. My kids learned a lot about the jungle and are aware of nature protection.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful nature experience!”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Floating on the lake is a great way to see the birds, fish, flora and, with luck giant river otters, that inhabit oxbow lakes in the amazon. Nice to know that the local indigenous community, Infierno, is co-managing this site and is responsible for monitoring.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank vanziggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tres Chimbadas Lake also viewed

Tambopata National Reserve, Madre de Dios Region
Tambopata National Reserve, Madre de Dios Region
 
Puerto Maldonado, Madre de Dios Region
Tambopata National Reserve, Madre de Dios Region
 

Been to Tres Chimbadas Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing