We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hostal in Pisco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Tambo Colorado
Ranked #1 of 23 Pisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Hostal in Pisco”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We spent a total of 3-nights at Hostal Tambo Colorado and were pleasantly surprised by how nice the stay was. Though the city of Pisco has fallen on hard times as of late, this hostal goes along way towards making you feel welcome and encourages you to get out and explore the area.

The staff took great care of us and were incredibly helpful with arranging tours and getting us properly oriented. This is particularly nice in a somewhat grittier city like Pisco and I was glad that we decided to spend a little extra time here instead of pushing on after only a day.

The room was clean and contained the essentials, such as comfortable beds and dressers for storage. Our bathroom was also clean and tidy, with plenty of hot water. The only real problem we had with the room was that ours was located beneath the stairs to the second story and every morning we awoke to the sounds of footsteps on creaky wooden panels. Not terribly bad, but I would avoid this particular room in the future.

Good walking distance (1 block) from the Plaza de las Armas and several fairly good restaurants. The proximity to the plaza is especially nice in the evening when the town gets a bit rougher and venturing too far off path is not a great idea.

All in all a good place for good value. Recommended.

Room Tip: Avoid the large 4-person room beneath the stairs, as it gets a bit noisy with people walking immedia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    29
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
28
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
300 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I only stayed here for one night, but what a nice place! The owners were especially nice people and my room was lovely. I had a very nice breakfast in the morning and they arranged for my transportation to/from the bus station and for my tour of Isla Ballestas. I really liked the pueblo also. It is still recovering from a serious earthquake that happened about five years ago. So, if you are visiting Paracas or Isla Ballestas, stay in Pisco (after all - it is the birthplace of the Pisco Sour) and help the local people. You'll love Hostal Tambo Colorado and they'll get you to the coast for your tour in plenty of time. There's also a great restaurant on the square called El Dorado to have that Pisco Sour and some delicious fish!

Room Tip: I think any room would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birdie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lencois, BA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I arrived at the bus terminal expecting to have to find a taxi, and there was a man there to meet me and usher me to a taxi, which was the first pleasant surprise. The hostel is just off the main square, and I was further impressed on my arrival - the rooms are nice and big (I was staying alone in a double), and very reasonably priced. The breakfast was excellent, and the staff all very friendly and helpful.
Pisco is noisy - there is the constant tooting of taxi horns - but despite being so close to the busy centre of the town I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, and would certainly return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BahiaDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

I travelled to Pisco with eleven students from the US. The owners, Carlos and Carla, took wonderful care of us! We stayed for a week and a half and were very comfortable. The hostel is clean, welcoming, and safe. You can walk to restaurants and bars from the hostel, as well. They also helped me with touristic activities such as Paracas. The staff were also all very helpful and kind. I highly suggest staying at this hostel!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AnnaErwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

I had emailed Hostal Tambo Colonial the day before my arrival to check availability but hadn´t been able to get back online to confirm my booking so was really impressed when someone was waiting at the bus stop (which is quite far out of town) with my name on a card who then took my friend and me to the Hostel.

We aslo booked our Islas de Ballestas tour with them and had a great trip and the price was the same as everywhere else if not better.

Our room was nice and clean and the staff were unbelievably friendly and very very helpful, I would definitely recommend Hostal Tambo Colorado to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank back0packer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

Hotel with very good service, polite and very friendly. The team was waiting until 00:30 when we reached the hotel.
The rooms are clean and spacious, with large bathrooms and hot water all the time.
We arranged through the hotel Baaistas Islands cruise, including collection and return to the hotel.
Breakfast excellent and varied. The hotel has a nice courtyard with seating areas.
Easy access, close to the main square. Has WIFI and parking inside the hotel.
In summary: It is highly recommended for those planning a trip to the city or lodging in PARACAS.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ytzahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

Very nice and good location, 3 minutes from the plaza. The room is pretty and clean with a good bathroom, but we didn't have all the time hot water. There is free WiFi and a nice courtyard. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast costs 7 soles and is okay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter09-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisco hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Embassy Beach
Hotel Embassy Beach
#4 of 8 in Pisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Posada Hispana
3.7 mi away
Peru Hotel & Suites
Peru Hotel & Suites
#3 of 8 in Pisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Casona
Hotel La Casona
#1 of 8 in Pisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
1.7 mi away
Miramar Hotel
Miramar Hotel
#3 of 23 in Pisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Hosteria del Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Tambo Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Tambo Colorado

Property: Hostal Tambo Colorado
Address: Av. Bolognesi 159, Pisco, Peru
Location: Peru > Ica Region > Pisco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Pisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Tambo Colorado 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tambo Colorado Hostel is located at 50 meters from main plaza, near to banks, restaurants and bus stations. We have a wide patio which allows our guests to enjoy Pisco's warm weather. We offer double, triple and matrimonial rooms. Every room has private bathrooms, hot water and tv-cable. You can enjoy healthy and delicious breakfast, such as Peruvian coffee and world's recognized pisco sour in our cafeteria. We also have parking lot spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostal Tambo Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing