We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to visit”
Review of Hacienda Santa Ana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hacienda Santa Ana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You have to visit”
Reviewed October 20, 2011

From the moment we arrived at Hacienda Santa Ana we were relaxed and felt at home. The open fire and warm drink brought to us by Patricio followed by Miguel, the owner, sharing his family's involvement in the Hacienda were lovely personal touches.
Originally a Jesuit retreat, in opening the Hacienda as a hotel the family decided to develop a place that had a sense of belonging, rest and reflection. Surrounded by the beauty of the Cotopaxi National Park both the interior and exterior of Santa Ana more than achieve this.
There is no Internet or phone connection and yes you do have to go along a bumpy road to get to Santa Ana but that is what helps make it so special.
The service was spot on, friendly and aware of our needs but not intrusive. The beds and rooms were sensational, and the hot water bottle was a particularly nice surprise.
The meals were delicious and very reasonable and we were lacking for nothing.
An absolute highlight had to be the walk to the waterfalls with Martine and Patricio through local farms and pathways. We got to meet people from the community, see and hear about medicinal plants, see amazing vistas of the falls, community and surrounding volcanoes and above all hear local community stories - a very special morning.
Without a doubt we wanted to stay longer and certainly highly recommend Hacienda Santa Ana.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyFromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    16
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
42
64
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

When you arrive from Quito at the Hacienda Santa Ana, you feel like coming to paradise. A very friendly stuff welcomes you and you smell already the the open fire place in the saloon. Bedrooms, saloon and dining room are wonderful decorated. In the night, when it is cold and you go to bed, you will find a hot water bottle in your bed. The general manager of the small hacienda, Miguel, and his stuff make you feel like at home. We spent two wonderful days with Patricio, the tourguide. We went horseriding and fishing (the first time in our lifes), we walked around the community and we drove to Cotopaxi, the king of the volcanos. Coming back from the tours, a tasty souper or dinner was waiting for us. We hope to come back to the Hacienda Santa Ana.
Joëlle, Jonas, Lucian and Christoph Kilchsperger, Switzerland

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loskilchis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2011

I extended my trip to Ecuador to see this hotel on the recommendation of another hotelier in the South of Ecuador. I was not disappointed. The hotel is located in a beautiful, serene setting in what was once a Jesuit monastery. The hacienda has been carefully renovated, sparing no expense. An ambient heating system was installed underneath the beautiful tile floors to ensure warmth in this cool climate - and there is a beautiful, roaring fireplace AND wood-burning stove in the great room.

The food and the service were impeccable, and I was also fortunate enough to go horseback riding during my short stay. If you are the least bit interested and proficient at riding, this is an amazing location at which to do so. You can also go on an escorted mountain bike ride, going downhill from the base of the Cotopaxi volcano itself, an exhilarating experience. There's also an amazing and peculiar microclimate rainforest nearby where guests can go on zipline canopy tours. No shortage of activities!

The 6 rooms are all impeccably designed in a very simple and tasteful manner, and the tile and granite bathrooms also lend themselves to a 5-Star experience. The hacienda is an easy hour's drive from the center of Quito, and I would gladly go out of my way again when in Ecuador to stay at this gem of a lodge.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DistinctRetreats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Staying at the Hacienda Santa Ana was one of the highlights of our trip to Ecuador. We really enjoyed this hotel and the beauty of area. The staff is absolutely superb and the food was wonderful. We went on a hike our first day at the hotel and a ride on the second. Our guides were great as well. Miguel Aguirre who runs the hotel speaks English well, and most of the staff knows some English.

We loved our guide and the traditional food/drinks incorporated into our trips and meals. We all liked canelazo, a traditional hot drink made with cinnamon, citrus, and alcohol.

The beauty and stillness of the location cannot be beat. It's a little remote; the road to the top is cobblestone and pay attention to the directions to get up to the hotel, otherwise it's very easy to get lost. The hotel staff will happily arrange transportation from Quito or Machachi (the nearest city). It's well worth the trip to see the beautiful countryside.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orchids412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cotopaxi Province
22.8 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra del Volcan
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra de...
#1 of 25 in Cotopaxi Province
249 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chilcabamba Mountain Lodge
Chilcabamba Mountain Lodge
#3 of 25 in Cotopaxi Province
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hacienda Los Mortinos
Hacienda Los Mortinos
#1 of 10 in Machachi
107 reviews
19.2 mi away
Hacienda La Cienega
Hacienda La Cienega
#1 of 3 in Lasso
341 reviews
16.3 mi away
Hacienda San Agustin De Callo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Santa Ana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Santa Ana

Property: Hacienda Santa Ana
Address: Via Entrada norte Parque Nacional Cotopaxi, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Cotopaxi Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Cotopaxi Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Santa Ana 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive Hacienda from 16th century that belonged to the Jesuits, it has been completely remodeled keeping its original style. We have 6 spacious luxury rooms with private bathroom and amenities. We are located between the Andes Mountains of Pasochoa, Ruminahui and Sincholagua, just 10 minutes from Cotopaxi. The activities that we offer are: Horseback riding, Biking, Canopy and trekking. Our food is amazing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hacienda Santa Ana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Santa Ana Ecuador/Cotopaxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing