We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but Unbearably Cold”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra del Volcan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 21, 2009

I stayed in Hacienda del Porvenir last week while traveling Ecuador with my mother and while both the hacienda and the surrounding landscape were absolutely beautiful, we almost froze in room 16. I have over a year's experience traveling in South America and after investing $80 in a room we were expecting extreme comfort. After sundown the room became unbearably cold, the two space heaters provided by the hacienda made little difference as there was a steady cold breeze entering in from around the windows, when I went down to reception at 11pm everyone had gone to bed and there was no one to help, and when I awoke the next morning the hot water in the shower ran out after 5 minutes. Our time there was salvaged by an absolutely amazing 4 hour horseback tour, which made all of the discomfort with the trouble (more or less), but after returning from the ride the lack of warm water had still not been fixed.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank swimweh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 277 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: suite honeymoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jphikiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Carmen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank JacquelinePepels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank SantiagoGV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marijke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coordinadora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cotopaxi Province
22.8 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
13.6 mi away
Hotel Cuello de Luna
Hotel Cuello de Luna
#6 of 7 in Cotopaxi Province
111 reviews
2 mi away
Chilcabamba Mountain Lodge
Chilcabamba Mountain Lodge
#2 of 33 in Cotopaxi Province
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hacienda Santa Ana
Hacienda Santa Ana
#3 of 33 in Cotopaxi Province
146 reviews
19 mi away
Hacienda La Cienega
Hacienda La Cienega
#1 of 3 in Lasso
378 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Los Mortinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra del Volcan

Address: 4 km before the northern entrance to Cotopaxi National Park | El Pedregal, Machachi, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Cotopaxi Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Cotopaxi Province
Price Range: $112 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra del Volcan 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra del Volcan is specialized on the Cotopaxi Volcano area in Ecuador, South America. We offer Ecotourism and Adventure Travel in 2 traditional Andean Haciendas (Hacienda El Porvenir and Hacienda El Tambo) each with its own magic, ecosystem and distinctive climate and traditional farmhouses. These haciendas are still productive and managed under environmental conservation standards. With us you can experience the Andes in their maximum intensity, discovering the charisma of its inhabitants, the diversity of its natural settings, the energy of the high plain and the adrenaline rush of living an adventure with experts. We offer Horseback riding, mountain biking, trekking, hiking, mountain climbing and more. We can offer tours from 1 day up to 7 days. We have been recommended by CNN, Travel+ Leisure, Outside, AFAR and Men's Journal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda El Porvenir/ Tierra Del Volcan Hotel Cotopaxi Province
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra Del Volcan Ecuador/Cotopaxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing