We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Puerta del Sol Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Valle Nevado
Reviewed August 16, 2013

After reading the reviews of Puerta del Sol prior to booking, I arrived expecting very little and was pleasantly surprised. The Double North rooms were comfortable (albeit a little dated) and the views from the balcony were beautiful. We had two adjoining rooms which made staying with friends very easy.

There were several nice cafes/bars to relax in after a day on the hill, and there were plenty of ski shops as well as a mini market not far away to purchase necessities. The food was generally pretty good (only the odd disappointing meal all week) and with 3 restaurants and an excellent buffet to choose from for dinner, we didn't get tired of it. At times the service was a bit slow, but after travelling in other parts of Chile I realise that this is just part of the culture. We had access to the fitness centre where they gave each of us a free 30 min massage.

One significant drawback: no one at the hotel told us that we couldn't drink the tap water. There was no notice in the room and they did not supply complimentary bottled water. But when two members of our group became ill, they told us we shouldn't have been drinking it! Also there is no wifi in the rooms and the signal in the reception area was unreliable.

Room Tip: Double North rooms have a great view of the hill and the pool, and we had adjoining rooms which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeandjess2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceVN, Guest Relations Manager at Puerta del Sol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Joe and Jess,
We're so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves while at Valle Nevado! In response to your concerns about water, please know that water in Chile is safe to drink, as it is safe to drink in Valle Nevado. Unfortunately, many Chileans in the tourism industry erroneously believe that foreigners should not drink their water when in fact it is perfectly safe. Valle Nevado works to educate our wait staff and employees about this, however the resort does offer bottled water should our guests prefer this option.

Customer Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 330 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

Valle Nevado is an unbelievable skiing experience if you have never skied in South America before. The hotel is NOT a five star as suggested. It could be, but the maintenance is a bit poor (elevator didn't work our entire stay....not fun to walk up the stairs in altitude after a long day of skiing) The staff is friendly if fairly indifferent. It is tremendously expensive...would recommend the other three hotels on the mountain instead of this one for the money charged.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casaransom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceVN, Guest Relations Manager at Puerta del Sol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Casa,
Thanks for your response and glad you enjoyed yourself. If you stayed in our Hotel Puerta del Sol, please note that the hotel is a 4-star, not a 5-star, that is our Hotel Valle Nevado next door. For travelers really looking to save, Valle Nevado offers condominiums with kitchens so that you can cook your own meals and dine out when you wish. The resort also has the Tres Puntas, for economical travelers.

Customer Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Upon requesting a room the male staff ignored me and servered other customers finally a very nice hostess facilitaed my rooming needs.

We then decided to have a drink & sushi. 30 minutes to be served and another 30 minutes to get a drink. I get that everything almost included but the sushi and drinks are not? Why not try harder??

Oh well... Probably will try a different hotel next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulTimothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceVN, Guest Relations Manager at Puerta del Sol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Paul,
We would have liked to respond to your post but it isn't very clear what had happened with your Valle Nevado experience. Our rates are not $800 per night, and the cost of your stay includes half board but not extras such as our sushi bar or other independent concessions. We hope you make it back regardless to Valle Nevado in 2014 and enjoy the El Niño year and great snow!

Customer Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

OK, if you are there to ski in JULY, that's the best place you could be!
Yes sometimes you have to be a bit patient with check inn and waiters bringing the final check (it is all inclusive in this Hotel, but you pay for drinks, therefore has to wait for the bill). To make reservations in one of the 5 hotels was never a problem, like in other all inclusive, and the food was delicious!
In 5 different times we had once not so good snow, but hey... it happened to us in Colorado after 5 times also... so that's mother natures call.
As we always went with kids we stayed at the Puerta Del Sol, due to the amazing view! Our friends stayed at the Valle Nevado Hotel that is 5 stars. It is a place where you ski with little clothes (compared to US and Canada) and great for kids to learn as they can focus on learning instead of keeping warm! The hot tube (huge) is amazing, and there is a huge selection of after ski activities for kids with amazing GO´s. Once we did have problems with very noisy neighbours, we spoke to the manager and he switched us... was a bit of work, but worth it!
I repeat, if you want luxury go to Champs Elise in Paris, if you want amazing ski in July (even saw an Olympic team for Switzerland) go to Puerta del Sol/Valle Nevado !

Room Tip: Invest in the slope view room (north), a bit more expensive than the south side but so worth it look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happytraveler6263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceVN, Guest Relations Manager at Puerta del Sol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Happytraveler:
We're so happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay so completely at Valle Nevado, it is indeed the perfect resort for kids and we offer many fun installations and kid's activities to keep them busy, letting you rest and enjoy yourself! Our Hotel Puerta del Sol is the ideal hotel for families due to the connecting rooms, loft rooms, and access to kid's activities, although our Hotel Valle Nevado is indeed very nice and a step up for the Puerta del Sol. We hope to see you again on your sixth time to Valle!

Customer Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed here in September for a ski trip to Valle Nevado. The location is great right at the base of the mountain, although in general there isn't anything far from the slopes due to the small size and remoteness of the base area.

The room was clean but small. Quiet outside but there was occasionally room noise from my neighbours that was easily heard. The food was so-so and not anything special. The bar had a decent selection of beers.

Wi-fi was free in the hotel lobby but there was no signal in my room. In the evening it was extremely slow when everyone logged online.

Very average location, below average food, great skiing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jskendzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was a family trip to Valle Nevado, and we choose to stay at Puerta del Sol. My wife and the children had a good skiing experience, so it was good! Also we spend a good time in the warm outdoor swimming pool! This for the upside.
There was not really a downside, but a lot of average experience:
* Hotel is old and needs some refurbishment in the rooms.
* Food is average in the hotel and all the restaurants of the complex (Sur, Don Giovanni, and La Fourchette)
For a ski weekend near Santiago is a good option, but be aware of not being too demanding.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Honestly, the snow is waning close to Santiago but this is the best of the close. The hotel is the worst of the worst. Unless you want bugs, sewage under the windiows, smaleer than Manhattan spaces and service that is worse than your worst medieval nightmare, I would suggest Portillo, Chillan or perhPs leta invest because this will not do. The condo developments are overcrowding the resort and depleting scarce resources, the people that work on the lifts are no better than pick pockets, its bad reAlly. Breakfast is powdered eggs and canned fruits, coffee to beg for. Come on Chilean investors you can do better than this. Even 2x more expensive Puerta del Sol is hurting. Its small pool is overused as they insist on happy hours and imported fish from Vietnam for dinner: reAlly? Did you thhink we did not notice this is a fish producing country?

Lets not mention the ride up or down, apart from the idiota that stole my phone, this road is meant to kill. Come on authorities, do something to this extremely poor example of Chilean hospitality! Boo Puertas del Sol with its crazy pub blaring All night and the against the law smoking in a non- ventilated area. How did you pass the building code? A "1" for this poor effort.

How about that cleaning aervice that did nit show up two days in a row. I might ot either if those were my living conditions, come on pwners, shape up then maybe your employees ont steal from the guests!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stacy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceVN, Guest Relations Manager at Puerta del Sol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to Valle Nevado, however we would like to respond to several of your comments that are either grossly exaggerated or not true. Valle Nevado renovated the Puerta del Sol guest rooms in 2009 as well as all public spaces, which are very contemporary, clean and attractively decorated. There are no bugs or sewage under the windows, that is a fabrication, and the resort's new condominium developments do not, in fact, deplete scarce resources. We do not use powdered eggs for breakfast. Also, there is no pub in Puerta del Sol so there isn't any way that you heard music blaring from one.

The road to Valle Nevado (as well as to all the three valleys resorts) has been renovated for 2013 with new pavement, wider shoulders and guardrails. We are sorry that your phone was stolen but it is unfair to insinuate that one of our chair-lift operators stole your phone from you, in fact we are not sure how a lift operator could even do this.

Again, we are sorry that you did not enjoy yourself and we hope that you took a few minutes to convey your insatisfaction with the front desk staff so that we can continue to make improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valle Nevado
0.0 mi away
Hotel Valle Nevado
Hotel Valle Nevado
#2 of 3 in Valle Nevado
336 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tres Puntas
Hotel Tres Puntas
#3 of 3 in Valle Nevado
191 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Posada de Farellones
Hotel Posada de Farellones
#2 of 4 in Farellones
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Hotel Plaza El Bosque Nueva Las Condes
3.5 mi away
Chalet Valluga
Chalet Valluga
#1 of 4 in Farellones
198 reviews
19.6 mi away
Renaissance Santiago Hotel
Renaissance Santiago Hotel
#8 of 202 in Santiago
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerta del Sol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerta del Sol Hotel

Address: Camino Farellones s/n | Lo Barnechea - Santiago, 7690000, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Valle Nevado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Valle Nevado
Price Range: $510 - $807 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Puerta del Sol Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Puerta del Sol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Hotel Valle Nevado
Valle Nevado Sol Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing