We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Puerta del Sol Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Tres Puntas(Valle Nevado)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Valle Nevado(Valle Nevado)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalet Valluga(Farellones)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Cornisa(Farellones)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (336)
Filter reviews
336 results
Traveler rating
92
134
67
21
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
134
67
21
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsski resortheated poolsouth americarestauranteshallway
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 336 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Definitively not a 4 stars. The rooms are to small as are the beds. The prices are for a luxury 5 stars. The food is just average, what came to be a surprise because the hotel complex has a french restaurant. The spa and gym are located off site in the Valle Nevado hotel. The pool is to small for the number of guests, so it is crowded in the hush hour. The hotel staff is great, but the restaurants are not. It feels like a lack in training. As i was there in the beggining of the season, it might explain. But the hotel location is excelent, 10 mt from the slopes. The ski is also excelent.Will be back, but not in high season. The prices for the high season are not just worth it. This hotel is for skiers only, nothing else to do over there.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mfgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Ski in, ski out, AWESOME food, rooms are a little bit too small, but i would definetely stay again! BUT: nothing to do at night...

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

One of three hotels at Valle Nevado, so there isn't much choice. The most convenient to the heated pool of the three, and that's an advantage. In the middle of the "high end" Hotel Valle Nevado and the budget Tres Puntas. Our suite was spacious and had a beautiful view of the slopes with two balconies, but it was on the second floor overlooking the pool and bad 80's club music pounded until midnight. So I would recommend a room facing away from the mountain, which is cheaper anyway. An additional impediment to sleep is the extremely dry air necessitating waking up every hour to gulp water-- believe it or not, I would bring a small humidifier with you. The one provided was grossly dirty and didn't work in any case. The place is completely disorganized and no one speaks English, so any transaction is an ordeal -- questions or instructions not in Spanish are greeted with blank stares and the staff don't really seem to care that they can't adequately serve their English-speaking customers ( this seems like primarily a mountain for Santiago locals, not a world-class resort). The fashion police definitely need to be called out here. The food is just OK and service terrible, but short of a two hour drive to Santiago there aren't any choices. Do not -- repeat, do not -- rent equipment there. The shop is chaos and even the "prestige" equipment is junk with gouges in the skis down to the core. Pleading may get your rental skis tuned, but maybe not. But for novelty skiing or snowboarding, the trip to Valle Nevado is worth it once just to say you've been there.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank davidskemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2009

By no means this is a 4 stars hotel. Old and no confort at all on the rooms. At US$ 300 a night I really expected something better. Service was terrible, staff were really not worried in helping guests. I was in the 7th floor, there was 10 minutes lines to take elevators. Unfortunatly at 3000 meters height you would prefer then to stairs. Be prepared for the fron t desk service, there's no line, you will only be attended if you yell more than the others. Regarding restuarants, usually dinner is included on the ski pacakges. Nevertheless, they're so expensive that even the 10% service tip makes a differnce. Be prepared to pay US$ 30 for a bottle of "Casillero del Diablo" a winw that usually costs aprox. US$ 5 in Santiago stores.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TravelerCris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceVN, Customer Service at Puerta del Sol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2010

Thank you for giving us your review. This helps us improve and give our customers a better quality service. About our service, we are very concerned in giving our customer a pleasant stay. Every complain a guest makes is take very seriously and informed to the corresponding area.
Regarding our food service, we are glad to inform you that we have seven different kinds of restaurants, with different kind of food and prices,
Our best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2009

I made a reservation of a double room but I was lucky enough to get the rooms located on the corner which are much bigger and you can overlook those beautiful white mountains. In addition, it was very clean and cozy. I loved the queen size bed, the comfortable pillows, and the necessaire (in the bathroom) with quality products.
In Valle Nevado, you need to make your dinner reservation every day. They offer different types: Mexican, Fench, Swiss, and Italian. So make sure you do it first thing in the morning, otherwise you'll have to eat at 6pm (for me this is too early) or miss the French one. Yet, if you go in the beginning of the season like me, the Mexican might closed. The French restaurant was great: I had the best dessert of my like, but the Swiss makes the worst meat Foundie I've ever tasted.
I do not recommend it to people that are interested in skiing at all. The hotel is a Ski Resort, so when you open the door, you only see people skiing. There's no shopping or field trips. If you want to meet the place, stay in Santiago and go for a field trip on Valle Nevado.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gi-Ro-Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceVN, Customer Service at Puerta del Sol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2010

Thanks a lot for your encouraging comments! We hope you can visit us another time, regarding the food at the Swiss Restaurant we invite you to try the meat fondue again and be surprised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews