We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very cool option for the Talca area”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Colina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Colina
Ranked #8 of 19 Talca B&B and Inns
Vancouver
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very cool option for the Talca area”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I echo the reviews below. This is a farm. There are dogs, they don't come inside but they do jump, there are ducks and horses and bugs. This is not a place for the allergenic or those with mobility issues!

The gravel road to get to the B&B is not short - I would not suggest the location if you don't have a car, but for a couple of nights, as a jumping off point for the San Javier region, it was perfect. The beds and showers were good, the breakfast satisfying and thoughtfully put together (I particularly like the little flower etched on the butter :). Beautiful sunset from the outdoor kitchen, had the place basically to our selves, and felt very much out in the country, and the owners just seem to really want you to be happy.

Basic meals for dinner were also available, which was perfect our first night, as the last thing we wanted was to head back out the gravel road. Wifi in the house (not in the cabin).

My only gripe was that our room wasn't cleaned the second day - maybe you have to ask or leave the key, but nothing to indicate one way or the other.

Room Tip: There appear to be only two, so book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shazza1Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
11
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uppingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

A great place to stay. We were in a small but well appointed cabana about 50 yards from the main house where the excellent breakfast is served. It is a working homestead so expect to live with four horses, three dogs, four rabbits and the family with two young children. Good hot showers and comfortable beds. We loved it here and it is such amazing value. Well worth the 4.1 km of dirt road to get here! We stayed for four nights.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Nice place. Julio is a good man. Away from Big City, Chile. Big breakfast and good coffee. Be advised -- this is a farm not the Hilton or even Holiday Inn.

It is unique. Great place on a clear night. Julio took us to the supermarket before leaving town. You will need to do the same. Bring tip money. Julio does not ask for much money.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TPJ25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Situated in the middle of the country side halfway up a small east facing hill, La Colina is tiny B&B run by a Swiss woman and her Chilean husband.

You will need a car or a taxi to get there. It is located 4.1 km down a dirt road just off the Talca-Pirque exit from the Routa 5 Freeway. On the eastside of the freeway, go north for about 50m, then turn immediately right on to the dirt road, Camino Laguna El Toro. Follow it to the last property on the road. It's bumpy and narrow but any car can make it. Open the fence to their property (to keep cows and horses from getting out) and drive in.

We stayed in a recently built cabana (12'x10' feet/ 4x3.5 m) with private bathroom. It was clean, the bed was comfortable and the shower water had good temperature and enough pressure.

Breakfast was in the main house (included) and 60ft/20 m up the hill from our cabana was small covered kitchen and seating area. There was no wifi but the stars at night were gorgeous!

We paid $26,000 pesos (about $52 USD) for two people per night (December 2011), which is about as inexpensive as it gets for the area.

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Benedict D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talca
17.9 mi away
Hotel Colonial  Maule
Hotel Colonial Maule
#1 of 1 in Villa Alegre
12 reviews
0.4 mi away
EcoHotel
EcoHotel
#2 of 11 in Talca
228 reviews
0.6 mi away
Diego de Almagro Talca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Stella Talca
Hotel Stella Talca
#7 of 11 in Talca
38 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Terrabella
Hotel Terrabella
#6 of 11 in Talca
22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Capelli
Hotel Capelli
#5 of 11 in Talca
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Colina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Colina

Property: La Colina
Address: Camino Laguna El Toro, km 4.1, Talca, Chile
Location: Chile > Maule Region > Talca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Talca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and breakfast in the country near the city of Talca in central Chile, with a beautiful landscape. Free access to a little framehouse with a kitchen, a dining room and barbecue, and to children’s games. Horseback riding and others tours as fly-fishing, trekking in the Andes Montains, kayak,…The kick here is the tranquility. sitting on the patio you see animals (some dogs, horses and many birds), watch the Andes Mountain range during the day time and the Milky Way at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your La Colina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing