We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumbs up!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Pousada Ecoverde
Ranked #1 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Cuiaba
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Thumbs up!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We passed 3 night in Pousada Ecoverde and everything went well! Joel, the owner, is kind, helpful and very likeable. If you need a guide for a tour in the Pantanal or in Chapada dos Guimaraes, if you need a taxi driver for reaching some place in Cuiaba: Joel is your man! Louis is the guide that brought us in the Pantanal (Joel organizes the tour as you prefer; by e-mail, before your arrival or on the place), he's been very kind and very detailed in description of animals and habitat. If you are searching a good solution for sleeping, eating and living into the wild of Pantanal, Pousada Ecoverde is the best you can have! Quality price ratio: excellent!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matiass187849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    55
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
21
71
44
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Joel's place is a quiet, comfortable place to stay in the city, with cool outdoor space. Joel is really accommodating (and speaks perfect English). We took his 4-day jaguar excursion. It was great. Our guide, Santos, was very knowledgeable and attentive to our wants. The lodges at which we stayed were comfortable, the food was good and plentiful, and the excursions--horseback, foot, canoe and powerboat, dawn, day, dusk and night, were great. And we saw most of the favourite big animals--caiman, capybara (and his little brother), giant otter, anteater, tortoise, and of course, the jaguar. Dry season (August). My only extremely minor quibble is that Joel may underestimate the time it takes to get to the airport--give yourself at least 30 mins. It seems that Pantanal excursions (like African safari) are expensive; Joel's trips are probably better value than most. A great stay and great trip!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed at Pousada Ecoverde for two nights both before and after a tour of the Pantanal organised via Joel at Ecoverde. On the positives, the tour was a great experience with chances to see fantastic wildlife in a beautiful part of Brazil. Much of the tour's success was down to the guide, Santos, who worked hard to help the group get on and was very quick at spotting wildlife and well informed. We did the 5 day tour so were able to stay for 2 nights at Camping Joffre, which is the best base for seeing major attractions like jaguar, giant otter and howler monkeys (all of which we were lucky enough to see).
There were some problems with the organisation of the tour. It seemed largely put together at the last minute by Joel, despite it being booked some months beforehand, with several late changes. Joel also only accepts cash which can be a major logistical challenge, especially at the weekends in Cuiaba. There were also problems with the vehicles on our tour (resulting in us being left in Porto Joffre without a vehicle and no information when one would be arriving) and with communication, for example about dietary requests (e.g. being a veggie).
Pousada Ecoverde is friendly and clean, and in need of updating. Try not to arrive at the weekends, though, because Cuiaba city centre is absolutely dead. Literally nothing other than churches are open on a Sun, so it is nice and quiet but can make finding somewhere to eat a bit of a mission.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The Pantanal is the lesser-known wildlife hub of Brazil and till today lives in the shadow of the much more popular Amazon. Watching nail biting scenes of the "Amazon" in the movies, we often do not know that these are mostly set in the Pantanal more popular for filming due to the variety of animals easily seen in the low lying savanna vegetation. We were told that the northern part of the Pantanal has a wider variety of animals than the south so instead of heading to the Pantanal via Campo Grande like most budget tourists, we took a flight to Cuiaba for a four-night stay with Ecoverde tours one of the more economical guided tours available.

We waited almost an hour to be picked up at the Cuiaba airport and then the person who picked us up was somewhat disinterested in giving us much information on Cuiaba - the city and the neighborhoods. Arriving at Ecoverde’s Cuiaba house, where we were to spend the night before leaving to the Pantanal, we met our other group members who were to travel with us. Its a family run Pousada in very old house with a courtyard with a rustic character. Its located on very quiet narrow street in a very bustling neighborhood. Joel - the owner seemed very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable but somewhat absent minded person.
He took us out for drinks at a local bar, and helped us locate an ATM to get money. The morning breakfast was in a neighborhood cafe (and included with out stay), before we took off to Pantanal with our guides.

The tours to Pantanal were ok - value for money, but could have been organized better. We stayed 2 nights in Pousada Rio Clarihno and 1 night in Pousada Pouso Alegre (both to be reviewed separately) our biggest issue were the guides - The guides kept dropping off on us, either falling sick or being called back to Cuiaba due to over booking or just plain disinterested! But fortunately, there was plenty of wildlife to be seen and keep us occupied.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSSR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hostel is simple and comfortable with a nice atmosphere, situated in a nice area of town and Joel the owner and the staff here are very nice and friendly. The Pantanal trip i went on organized and run by Ecoverde was a great experience and Santos the guide is really great! Overall a good experience. Don't expect everything to be perfect, run on time, ect. and you'll have a great time, this is Brazil after all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Pousada Ecoverde is a really nice place to stay! It is like an oase in the city, containing dogs, chickens, birds, books, music, nice food and most of all; Joel. He is warm and fascinating man! The tour which he organised (my brother and I had another funny and experiented guide) was also great. We did a safari by boat, by car, by horse and by night and saw some nice wildlife!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We were able to go on a tour of the Pantanal only a few hours after meeting Joel. The tour was fantastic, we saw many birds and animals and even a Jaguars footprint! Our guide Louis (Rambo!) was fun and incredibly knowledgeable. We stayed at Joel´s Pousada for two nights and enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere, good company and relaxing music! Joel´s rendition of "Transpanateira" is a highlight of our stay!!

Highly recommend to anyone who loves animals, wildlife, music and good breakfasts!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidandL0uise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuiaba hotels
Delcas Hotel
#10 of 22 in Cuiaba
644 reviews
Hotel D'Luca
#5 of 22 in Cuiaba
179 reviews
Gran Odara Hotel
#1 of 22 in Cuiaba
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Mato Grosso Palace Hotel
Holiday Inn Cuiaba
#3 of 22 in Cuiaba
351 reviews
Paiaguas Palace Hotel
#6 of 22 in Cuiaba
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Pousada Ecoverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Pousada Ecoverde

Property: Hostel Pousada Ecoverde
Address: Rua Pedro Celestino 391, Cuiaba, State of Mato Grosso 78005-010, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Mato Grosso > Cuiaba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Cuiaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
POUSADA ECOVERDE is set in a centenary colonial house decorated with antiques, a homely and charming place to stay with lots of atmosphere, close to the banks, restaurants, shops and museums. Help is at hand in English , German , French and Spanish. There are 5 rooms/4 shared bathrooms with fan and a sink each around a floral courtyard, a small wildlife library with book exchange, Wi-Fi and satelite TV. The hostel/pousada also has washing machine for free use, a veranda with hammocks as well as peaceful back yard with fruits trees visited by several bird species. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Pousada Ecoverde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Pousada Ecoverde Cuiaba, Brazil - Mato Grosso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing