We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazon Plaza, Cuiaba, Prices have gone way up!”
Review of Amazon Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amazon Plaza Hotel
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Cuiaba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We recently were in Cuiaba again and intended to stay at Amazon Plaza. As noted in my previous review, we really liked this hotel. But, be aware that their prices have gone up dramatically - enough so that we decided to stay elsewhere. So, my revised rating for this hotel is lower because I think that the price they now charge is far more than warranted. Unless other things at this property have changed, I stand by my other, earlier ,remarks.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
4  Thank CINTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 212 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2011

Seriously. Not worth the money. Talking to some regular Cuiaba travelers it appears that the Amazon Plaza doubled their rates recently. However, the owners seemed to have forgotten that with an increased rate you should probably consider better service, amenities, etc.

The hotel was super basic and the rooms looked like they belonged to a hospital built circa 1960. The staff spoke no English. The pool area, with its signature amazon theme, was sort of like a fish bowl in that it was surrounded by glass for onlookers to peer through from the lobby and the dining room. Overall, the place was bizarre. I'd go back for a good laugh and the breakfast, but not to stay.

Room Tip: Don't Bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank micahb21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2009

We stayed 2 nights at Amazon Plaza - one night pre-Pantanal and another post-Pantanal. We were quite pleased with the Hotel. The rooms were spacious, comfortable & spotless. We had a bit of trouble with the air conditioner one night, but they sent somone to the room to get it going for us.

There's an indoor area with a small pool & waterfall & surrounding patio-type area (a bit gaudy with toucans painted on chairs & the like) which was comfortable for a cold brew & to relax. The hotel claims to have a bar but it's really a counter in this indoor area & we only had beers so not sure about mixed drinks.

The only meal we had here was 1 breakfast. It was a buffet which was not lavish but had a respectable selection and everything we had, we enjoyed.

A word of caution - if you speak only English, language can be a challenge. At check-in a lady at the from desk spoke some English. Not so early in the morning or later in the evening or with other staff. But, we fumbled through and everything worked out great including getting a taxi at 4:30 AM. Even with a bit of confusion, and perhaps frustration, with our lack of Portuguese, all the staff were polite, accomodating and professional.

If we're going through Cuiaba again, we'll stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CINTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Arlette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terezinha N, Gerente geral at Amazon Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terezinha N, Gerente geral at Amazon Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Existe uma ala mais nova no hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JujuFig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terezinha N, Gerente geral at Amazon Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Carlos Q M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terezinha N, Gerente geral at Amazon Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuiaba hotels
City Center
Hotel Deville Prime Cuiaba
Gran Odara Hotel
#1 of 22 in Cuiaba
1,022 reviews
Hotel D'Luca
#7 of 22 in Cuiaba
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paiaguas Palace Hotel
#8 of 22 in Cuiaba
401 reviews
City Center
Mato Grosso Palace Hotel
Intercity Cuiaba
#6 of 22 in Cuiaba
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amazon Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazon Plaza Hotel

Address: Avenida Presidente Getulio Vargas 600, Cuiaba, State of Mato Grosso 78005-370, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Mato Grosso > Cuiaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Cuiaba
Price Range: $64 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amazon Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Amazon Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amazon Plaza Hotel Cuiaba, Brazil - Mato Grosso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing