We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place miserable staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Dos Corais Pousada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Wow what an amazing place to stay! But first things first, I tried to book by e-mail and as my native language is not Portuguese I wrote in English and got the response (And very short) was in Portuguese. So I had a Spanish friend write the e-mail in Portuguese/Spanish for the confirmation. 2 Days before we were due to arrive we had someone call to ask if everything was ready and they had no record of our conversation.Sorry but you must have someone who controls the booking and they should speak more than there own language! Also thou-out our wonderful stay the staff (with one Male exception) were very rude, unhelpful and NOT customer Service friendly. this was very disappointing as the hotel it self was absolutely wonderful and in such a fantastic location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gosearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 624 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was our favourite stop in Brazil – the beaches here are far nicer than Buzios, the town (although geared up for both local and foreign tourists) nice and the people friendly.

The hotel is walking distance (along the beach) from town and is in a lovely spot. The food at the hotel was really nice and mojitos strong! Our rooms – although pretty basic – had such a lovely position looking out over the gardens to the sea that you forget that they are not more luxurious. This is a great little spot for a quiet retreat after the hussle of Rio/Salvador.

We arranged all the transfers/hotels ourselves for our trip around Brazil and it saved us a small fortune – so we booked a flight across to the island and then through the hotel arranged the boat return.

Travel tip for the boat transfer– take sea sick tablets and sit outside if you can in the fresh air!!

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SY2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

As others have written before me, this must be the best hotel on Morro de Sao Paulo.
The location is perfect just on the 3rd and 4rd beach which is more quiet and less-turisty that 1st and 2nd beach.
Nice, relaxing swimming-pool area overlooking the sea. Good breakfast and the restaurant at the hotel servs really good food for a nice lunch.
Rooms are very big and very comfortable.
It's a bit pricy, but if you prefer tranquility and luxury over crammed beaches and loud music all day and night, this is definetly the place to stay on the beautifull Morro de Sao Paulo.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Certainly the best hotel in Morro de Sao Paulo!! By far! Its quiet and relaxed and, for me, in the best beach of Morro. And yet, not too far to walk to the 2nd beach for the evening drinks or to the villa for dinner. Breakfast is delicious (try to tapioca) and service is outstading. Everyone is super nice and courteous. And believe the pictures, it is as beautiful as shown. Not one bad thing to say about this place! Also, as a restaurant tip, only good place we found on the island was at the pousada Minha Louca Paixao at the beginning of the 3rd beach. Surprisingly great! Thanks Villa dos Corais, hope to be back very soon!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabiL13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

After travelling by boat, minibus, speedboat, by foot and then 4x4 we arrived st Villas Dos Corais. We were welcomed by friendly reception staff who quickly checked us in and took us to our beautiful superir room, which was big , simple but elegant and stylish.
The hotel is between the 3rd & 4th beach and is right on the beach with stunning views.
The restaurant served good evening meals of a good European standard with West End London prices to Match, although you can eat a lt cheaper in the small tourist area which is a short 10 minute walk along the beach, where you will find a good selection of places to eat to sort all tastes and budgets. The breakfast at the hotel was a very good buffet.

This hotel s great to relax weather on the beach or in the hammock on your veranda, We had a great stay and will be going back and highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Really nice hotel with fabulous location right on the best part of the beach. The hotel is located between the 3rd and the 4th beach. The children (aged 8, 4 and 1) loved it there. The restaurant was pretty good (by Brazilian standards), and the breakfast was great. The only con was that the crowd staying here were a bit on the pretentious side. A great stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sildre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here just before Christmas 2011 and loved it. Our 2 yr old son adored the gardens, pool and room, and we found the staff really friendly, especially the guy who drives the jeep into town every evening. The room was lovely. It's situated within walking distance of the air strip if you fly to the island. Only recommendation is more variation needed on the evening menu, especially for families / children, and lunchtime sandwiches/burgers were disappointing at the hotel itself although the beachside restaurant was great and we ate there most days (unfortunately it was closed at night). We visited after a trip in July 2011 was cancelled due to sudden illness, both the hotel and air company let us re-book without any fuss, so we can't thank them enough for that. Expensive but a real treat.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyinRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro de Sao Paulo hotels
3.5 mi away
Hotel Vila dos Orixas
Hotel Vila dos Orixas
#1 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
560 reviews
1 mi away
Portalo Boutique Hotel
Portalo Boutique Hotel
#6 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
333 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pousada Ilha da Saudade
Hotel Pousada Ilha da Saudade
#5 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Karapitangui Praia Hotel
Karapitangui Praia Hotel
#8 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
442 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Village Paraiso Tropical
Hotel Village Paraiso Tropical
#11 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
340 reviews
3.4 mi away
Anima Hotel
Anima Hotel
#3 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Dos Corais Pousada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Dos Corais Pousada

Address: Rua Terceira Praia S/N, Morro de Sao Paulo, Ilha de Tinhare, State of Bahia 45428-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Ilha de Tinhare > Morro de Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Morro de Sao Paulo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Morro de Sao Paulo
Price Range: $141 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Dos Corais Pousada 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Dos Corais Pousada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Dos Corais Hotel Morro De Sao Paulo
Hotel Dos Corais
Dos Corais Hotel
Villa Dos Corais Pousada Morro De Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing